Simmie AMPS 335 +283 +5 369 PMPS 371 dosecrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

LydetteSimmie (Iceman)

Member Since 2014
Hi friends,

After considering all the comments and help I've received following yesterday condo I ultimately decided to increase Simmie's dose to 3.0 from between 2.5-2.75. I had to balance the fact that I would have to be out a lot today and tomorrow and then have to leave my furbabies starting Thursday a.m., since we are going on vacation from Friday a.m, until the following Tuesday a.m.

I assumed Simmie would take a dive in his numbers at some point today but instead, he seems to be going up. I figured that I will have to stay up with him regardless of how high his numbers are right now. I had my own appt. with my doc today and he said "you need to sleep at least 7 hours tonight" and I started to explain to him that I have a diabetic cat in transition and he grabbed my head in his hands, stared at me directly in the eyes and said "you must focus on the positive and tell yourself 'my kitty will be ok'". @-)

He is truly a great physician but hey, if all it took was to think positively all our babies would be healthy and happy!

So, I will be up on and off all night. I guess I just want to know if this is making sense...the fact that Simmie seems to be increasing and not decreasing at all. I know about the bounces and some other newbie concepts but I am not very sophisticated in my understanding as of yet.

Any words of comfort or advice tonight? I know it is already late for the East Coast but I trust all of you so much and you are the kindest of all the people I have ever met on the net.

Thanks for whatever you can tell me.
Hug, Lydette

:smile:
 
Although I have been doing this dance for over 2 years now, I am terrible at giving advice. And so...all I can do is cheer you on and hope you see some more blues soon. Looks like Simmie is headed in the right direction tonight. Hope you find a balance between your own health and caring for Simmie. We all do so much for our sweet furbabies. Personally, I think it's worth it!
 
Evening Lydette - there is a concept we call New Dose Wonkiness or NDW where kitties numbers can temporarily go up after an increase. While annoying, it can allow you to get a much needed catch up on sleep. Good luck with the increase.
 
There is a phenomenon we call New Dose Wonkiness that happens when you increase the dose and the numbers go up for another day or so after the dose increase.

With Simmie, tonight, when I see a pmps of 371 and a +2 of 243, that's a drop of about 140 points in 2 hrs. That's a giant HEADS UP that this cycle is likely to be more active than normal. I can appreciate your need to sleep, and he's no where near dangerous territory (less than 50), but I would definitely check him again at +3 and see if he's going to continue to drop quickly or if that was an anomaly.

I see he did the same thing this morning with a big drop from preshot to +2, and I've seen him do that before on his ss.

You may want to change feeding patterns to prevent him from fast drops. fast drops (more than maybe 40 points in one hour) can trigger a bounce. What are you doing now for feeding him - ie, what + times does he eat and how many ounces at each feeding time?
 
Hi Wendy and Tara,

First, thank you so much for being here for me. It makes all the difference in the world.

Simmie has been doing just great. What a wonderful attitude he has. He has just finished 3 ice cubes and is now cleaning himself. I have to be honest, if I didn't know what his real numbers have been over the past couple of weeks one would think he was simply a normal civie! He is pooping just perfect (though a lot less since he went on 0 carb food), his urine output seems normal, he is really happy, has a great appetite (never has been an issue), and he has started to play again. Compared to 3 months ago, when I had just found all of you, it's like he is almost the kitty we brought into our home so many years ago! It's a true joy.

I think we happen to be very lucky and I do not want to flaunt our luck in the face of folks who have other challenges.

I am getting a bit tired so I am going to set the alarm for 2 hour periods so I can test my Iceman! I will look at the sticky though about wonkiness. I know I have read it before but it is different when we read something prior to really needing the info and when we actually need it.

Hugs to you two. Thank you!
 
Dearest Julie,

Thank you for being here with me, yet again.

Feeding Patterns;

Simmie gets 1 can of Tiki 0 carb 2.8 oz at 8:30 am and again 12 hours later. I also give him 1/3 of a can (total 1 additional can) during the day because he is always starving!

During the day, if I am doing a lot of testing , he gets 2-3 bits of freeze dried chix or turkey 0 carb snacks.

I will test in another hour but then do you guys think I can sleep for 4-5 hours?

Hugs,
Lyd
 
Simmie is now dropping fast. He is now at 142 while previously at 243 just a couple of hour before.

So can I nap for a bit or should I just watch and test him?

Hug
L
 
He's gone from 243 at +2 to 142 at +6 so that's a drop of 100 points in 4 hours. He must be getting close to his nadir. He'd have to go below 50 to be low so that's another 90 points away. I think he's good for the night. If you are concerned, you can leave a little food for him to snack on. If you are really worried, you could test in an hour and as long as he's about the same and especially if he's going up, I think you could sleep the rest of the night.

Regarding the food, we've found that the majority of cats do better with some carbs (3-6%) instead of zero carb food. Simmie did do a pretty fast drop between his PMPS and +2. Fast drops (over 50 points an hour and he did 130 in two hours) can also cause bounces. What can help ease those fast drops is to spread out the meals so they get a portion at preshot, a bit more at +1 and some more at +2. More smaller meals is also easier on a healing pancreas. Increasing the carb level to some carbs will also help slow the fast drops.

It's great to hear how much improvement you are seeing in Simmie. Cats are so much more than their numbers. :-D
 
Thank you Wendy for being there for me.

I actually fell asleep and Simmie woke me up to an old edition of Frasier, which is one of my favorite old tv shows! But, I am kind of loopy right now; He s at approximately at +8 BG133 right now. I have a terrible headache but the Simmie is storming around the kitchje thnn

Whoops sleep again and Simmies is now asking for a snack. Everyone is waking up in the house and I better send this before I pass out! Hugs all!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top