Simmie AMPS 324, +5 51 !!

Status
Not open for further replies.

LydetteSimmie (Iceman)

Member Since 2014
Hi Everyone,

Sorry I didn't get back in touch with you guys to give you status on Simmie last week. A day after that panic I had to go to the hospital, not from the panic but for other reasons. I'm ok now but my testing has been minimal (amps and pmps). I just started up again and found that he went from today from AMPS 324 and now, at +5 he is really low, 51. I am having a heck of a time regulating him. Once I have more data I can see what is going on. I hate to think that the reason he seems so high at amps and pmps is because he is dropping very low in between causing him to bounce using his 'internal protective juices'!

My question is do you think I might be right about why his am and pm pss' are so high? Also, he had the runs about an hour ago and his stools have been a little loose the past few days. Could low numbers cause the runs? I don't remember seeing that anywhere though.

He hasn't had any of the expected visual signs of going hypo. I am just really glad I tested at +5. Any response would be greatly appreciated and I promise not to leave you fabulous folks hanging next time. It's not right. I also hope everybodys' furfamilies are fine.

Luv
Lydette and Simmie
 
Re: Simmie AMPS 324, +5 51, +6 88

Hi all,

I gave Simmie a teaspoon of high carb food since his nadir is between 5 and 7. He seems really good and his BG is 88. Did I just jump the gun by giving him the high carb food?

Hugs,
Lydette and Simmie
 
Hi Lydette, good catch on that 51! :mrgreen: That's why mid cycle tests are so important. Normally we wait until under 50 before giving the high carb food. But that's OK, he was pretty close. When kitties are in the 50's, I still like test every half hour, in case they are still on a downward trend. Since the high carb may wear off at some point, I'd get a +7 test as well, in case he drops again.

As for the high preshots, kitties can bounce when they get to numbers that are lower than they are used to. It doesn't necessarily mean it's a hypo number. For a kitty that's been high a lot, they can even bounce from blues. And even in lower numbers, cat's don't always show signs of hypo, other than their numbers. I see that back on September 10th, Simmie got to a 42 but you kept the same dose. For safety's sake, you might think about reducing his dose down to 2.75U, especially if you aren't going to be able to regularly get those mid cycle tests.
 
Re: Simmie AMPS 324, +5 51, +6 88, +7 132

Hi Wendy, it's so nice to hear from you again!

Oh, I know normally it's got to be 50 or under, but like you said, he was close and his nadir wasn't there yet. I guess I got afraid.


I just finished testing Simmie again (today his Nickname is Stinky as he had the run on the rug to the SIDE of his litter box). I am concerned about the loose stools he has been having but actually I have been switching foods with him occasionally until I find the food and treats that he will stay with, and are good for me, for a long period of time. This could be the reason for the runs/loose stools over the past couple of weeks but it was really bad a few hours ago.

This advice is priceless and it's not just hyperbole. I want to get him regulated as much as possible and to make sure he feels really good. He is a crazily happy furball. It makes me feel so good to watch him with his ice or just dozing next to me. He does want to be close to my side almost all the time, even though I keep poking his little ears.

OH, my little photo gallery of him with and without his ice should be done tomorrow! I wanted it to be simple, just a few links through our signature, but then my lo-tech skills seemed to be in conflict with what I wanted to accomplish. So, I am putting his photos in a word doc that I can transfer up to google docs...just one link. You guys should love it.

One last question Wendy...what do you think I should do for his PMPS? Should I stay at 3 or drop to 2.75? Just a recommendation if you don't mind. I will try to stay up and test or set the alarm for his +5 tonight. I am almost out of strips but I should have enough for a bunch of testing tonight and tomorrow morning. Normally I have a couple extra bottles in our kitty medicine cabinet but because it has been so insane the past week and 1/2 I am low on lots of stuff....I can go to Walmarts tomorrow.

Hugs
Lydette and Stinky :lol:

ps - thanks for noticing that I caught Simmie at 51...just one of those things that can tell others that we, our furbabies family and we, are in tune with each other!
 
Different types of foods can definitely cause loose stools. Common allergens are beef and fish. You might want to stick to one type of protein for a week or so and see if it gets better. If not, then try another one. My Neko gets the runs if she gets too much wheat, so we've had to switch to a high carb food without wheat based gravy.

Julie answered the question about dose tonight. Looks like he's off another bounce now. :roll:
 
Re: Simmie AMPS 324, +5 51, +6 88, +7 132, +9 318

Hi Ladies!

Julie! Great to hear from you! Wendy, thanks for the info.

Simmie is stable but of course, riding the rails into the high numbers yet again. Might because I gave him the high carb food earlier (but it was such a small amount, hard to believe it would have had this long a result, but what do I know!?) or because he is doing the Simmie Two Step! One step low, one step high! :roll:

Hope your ladies are having wonderful evening. It is pretty nice here tonight. In South west Ohio, Lots of bullfrogs calling out, plenty of night sounds. A cool 65 degrees. Light breeze.

Thank you Wendy and Julie. Have a great night and sleep well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top