Simmie AMPS 288, +6 79, +7 78, +10 170 PMPS 389 HELP

Status
Not open for further replies.

LydetteSimmie (Iceman)

Member Since 2014
Hi all,

If you were with me last night you would have noticed my call for help because Simmie had gone from a fairly moderate level of BG to running high all day, so I stayed up most of the night with him to whine and try to figure out what was going on. All of a sudden, this morning PS he had dropped to 288 and now, +6 he is at an all time low to 79! Could I be having problems with his dosing at .5 units since I have to eyeball it? Any ideas?

We have a contractor coming here in about 25 minutes and I won't be able to test him again for about an hour or so. Any thoughts? Should I panic? He seems fine, just napping next to me, done with his ice licking for the time being, and being all things Simmie!

Love to all, especially those who care for me and Simmie last night and this morning. Your advice has not gone unheeded.

Love Lydette and Simmie
 
Re: Simmie AMPS 288, +6 79 HELP

no, you shouldn't panic, but you should get another test in 1/2 hr from the last one to see if he's continuing to drop.

if he goes below 50, you'll want to intervene with a teaspoon of gravy from the high carb cat food, or a drop of karo syrup, honey, maple syrup, and then post here and get some help.
 
Re: Simmie AMPS 288, +6 79 HELP

ok, i wanted to post that to you immediately, but now i've had a chance to look at Simmie's spreadsheet.

You got great advice from some of our most experienced members last night. They were encouraging you to increase her dose by 0.25u to try to reduce some of those high numbers, however, with the spot of green you caught today, that changes things. I would hold the dose for 10 cycles from now. Look at the page on Tight Regulation Protocol and notice where it says that when green numbers first appear on the spreadsheet, hold the dose for 10 cycles.

With that 79 today, i'm wondering where it came from, when it looks like overall his numbers have been high. Looks to me like he's clearing a bounce. So when i count back 3 days, that's 7/29, where he was over 300 at both amps and pmps, but no mid cycle tests were done. My guess is that you've got a cat that's barely touching his toe down into normal numbers and immediately lifting off.

Sienne posted to you last night. Go back to that post and click on Gabby's spreadsheet. Take a look not at the current spreadsheet, but at one from several years ago. Gabby was a cat that could go from 400 to 40 to 400 all in one cycle, then stay high for several days and repeat that process.

Take a look at this post on bouncing. I think you're going to want to bookmark it so you can go back to it - it looks like Simmie is likely a bouncy cat.
 
Re: Simmie AMPS 288, +6 79 HELP

Hi Julie and Punkin!


I tested Simmie again and he is just about the same - 1 point down to 78. I'll test him again in an hour. I gave him some no carb treats and no carb food (Tiki chicken) - I'll watch him closely and be ready. I have Karo syrup and MD wet here in the house if I need to do something immediate. At what point should I give him some Karo? I can look back in posts and docs but if you are still online could you just let me know? If I don't hear from you or someone else in the next 15 minutes Ill just go and find the hypo info myself.

He might be a bouncy kitty, as you have mentioned. That sounds like a nightmare though. I will take a look at the other sss in a few minutes.

everyone has been simply fantastic.
love Lydette and Simmie
 
Re: Simmie AMPS 288, +6 79 HELP

Sorry - I should have seen it in your note...if he goes below 50. Ok, that's the threshold. Sorry for not seeing that earlier. sheesh.

thank you so much!
LandS
 
Re: Simmie AMPS 288, +6 79 HELP

Hi Lydette, surfing those 70's is good. It's all good pancreatic healing time. When kitty hits numbers below 100, serving 1-2 tsp of low carb food can help then surf safely. I'd save the high carb food for if he goes under 50.
 
Re: Simmie AMPS 288, +6 79 HELP

Hi All!

Ok, so Simmie is now at 170 - considerably higher from a couple of hours ago. I want to try and get ahead of this so he is due for his t/f/s at 8:30 edt. I know that normally we don't shoot if less than 200 (we're still newbies) so what if it is 195? My vet mentioned that she would never have recommended a no shoot philosophy for Simmie when he had his blue numbers a couple of weeks ago, she said she would have probably recommended a .5 unit.

I hate treating everything like an emergency so I'd like to know what I should do since his next test and shot is coming up shortly rather than having to send out yet another HELP ME message in 2 hours.

Am I making sense or do I still sound like a lunatic? :-) You are all my angels!
 
Re: Simmie AMPS 288, +6 79 HELP

Lydette - could you go to your first post of the day, select the Edit button, and edit the subject line of your first post with the up to date BG readings so far? That'll help those of us scanning the board to know where Simmie is.

First off, the "don't shoot without posting and asking for help" number on this forum is 150. The 200 number is used for brand new people on Health. I think that 170 is your +10? I'm on the west coast so it's easier to talk in terms of + times for me. So, there's a good chance Simmie will be around or above 150 at PS time. I'd just continue with the 2.5U dose. When you shoot at lower number PS, then generally the entire cycle goes flatter.

If you do get a number below 150, then change your first subject line to something like Simmie +12 xxx or Simmie PMBG xxx, where xxx is the BG value you get. The PMBG means you haven't given insulin yet so it's the PM blood glucose number. Again, changing the subject line of your first post of the day is what shows on the index and alerts people that you might need help. DO NOT FEED SIMMIE if below 150 at preshot time.

If you check out the sticky on Shooting and Handling Low Preshots the first part has a section on how to deal with a low preshot number. There are several options described in that document. The first time people walk you through shooting a low preshot number, they will stick with you so you can get answers. So deep breath, let's see where Simmie is at PS time.
 
Re: Simmie AMPS 288, +6 79 HELP

Hi Wendy,

We just finished dindin and I am taking into consideration everything you said. I will be back shortly as Simmie is due for his pre shot test!

Thank you so very very much for all this guidance. It is incredibly kind and valuable.

Lydette
 
Re: Simmie AMPS 288, +6 79 HELP

I hope you meant you finished dindin and are about to prepare Simmie's after test meal. I'll be here waiting the BG test results.
 
Hi Wendy,

Oh yes I should have mentioned that the dinner was for me and my DH.

Ok, I have edited the subject line and you can imagine how I feel right now. He went from 170 at +10 to just 2 hours later to 389. I obviously do not know what I am doing. I don't want to be too hard on myself but really, what the heck am I doing that I should or should not be doing? It's not about me but about Simmie...how do you think he is feeling during all of this. Not from the poking..I don't think he cares unless I am overly clumsy, but how do you think he is feeling physically from these giant jumps?

I know you are on the West coast so I need to go back to your email to see what you wanted me to do as an adjustment to my postings but I am in a churn right now and I wanted to get the info out sooner than later.

Thank you for hanging in there with me.

I did give Simmie his dinner and 2.5 shot.
 
Don't worry, you are doing all you can. :YMHUG: Simmie saw some beautiful lower numbers today, perhaps lower than Mr. Liver is used to seeing and the bounce has started. In the early days, Neko used to do those kind of skyrockets up at the end of the cycle. :roll: There isn't much you can do at this point but sigh, get a test before bed and possibly get a good night's sleep tonight. I found it helpful at this point to look at condo's of other people and their cats and soon realized that what I was seeing was not unusual. It's especially informative to look at posting from new members.
 
Welcome to LantusLand, Lydette and Simmie, the greatest place you never wanted to be. :lol: Take several deep breaths and give yourself a huge pat on the back for the awesome job you are doing with Simmie. FD is a tough disease, so give yourself a ton of credit.

Simmie is bouncing, his liver has gone into a total panic over those nice greens today and dumped a bunch of chemicals in his bloodstream to avoid anything close to hypoglycemia. That's my non-technical description (I am not a medical person). It can take up to 3 days for those chemicals to clear out, meaning Simmie may stay high for that time. You just keep doing exactly what you're doing (same dose and testing) and wait it out. We wear patience pants around here while bounces are happening. Hopefully, Mr. Liver will calm down and Simmie will stay in nice numbers all of the time.
Liz
 
Welcome Lydette and Simmie! I'm fairly new to the board and don't consider myself qualified to offer advice, but I wanted to say hi and offer some moral support. My girl, Scully, is also a bouncy cat. Her numbers were quite similar to Simmie's today: AMPS 203, down into the 70s and 80s from +3 to +8, then she bounced way up to 365 for her PMPS. It's very frustrating, but Liz and Wendy are right. Eventually Simmie's liver will stop panicking and get used to the lower numbers, which will reduce the bounces. For now, take advantage of getting a good night's sleep. Hopefully in the near future you may be staying up a bit later to monitor those beautiful low, green numbers. You're doing a great job so far, and you're going to start to recognize patterns in Simmie's numbers, which will help you learn how he reacts to his insulin. With knowledge comes power, and soon you will start to gain confidence in treating Simmie. And as you have seen, anytime you have a question, the people on this board are fantastic! Hope you have a great night!

Tara & Scully
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top