Simke AMS 268 +1.15 268 +3 272 +7 360 +11 491

Status
Not open for further replies.

Simke

Member Since 2013
Simke is low again this morning, good right? When should we test him today? Worried about him going hypo, but want to have him in low numbers.
 
Re: AMS 268

Simone --

Your AMPS is really not a low number, at least not by Lantus standards. A number below 100 is low(ish). I know this makes you nervous. You can always get a +1 and a +2 test.

There are a couple of housekeeping details:
  • Please link today's thread to your thread from yesterday. Copy the location from the top of your browser from yesterday's thread and then paste it between the brackets in your first post in this thread. It will look like location of yesterday's condo here.
  • Please use the convention we all use to identify your thread in your subject line. The format is DATE CAT'S NAME AMPS-#, +TIME-#. Using this format allows us to see how Simke is doing at a glance.
 
Re: AMS 268

As you continue with the Tight Regulation Protocol, you'll see Simke's #s start to lower over time. Dose adjustments, and food amounts have a big factor on his #s. You may need to set up a mini meal feeding schedule to keep him from dropping too quickly in the beginning (just a thought on this one). Providing low carb food also helps with #s. Another thing to remember is that his appetite will get better, and he'll start to feel more like his old self as you follow the protocol. I have to say that those yellow #s are much nicer to see than the red ones, that's for sure. Keep up the excellent work!
 
Re: AMS 268

That's a good start for Simke!

Have you looked at the spreadsheets linked in other people's signatures? That will give you an idea of what numbers others see in their cats.

Have a great day!
 
Re: AMS 268

Hi guys .. sunny yellows for simke this morning! I know these seem like low numbers but in no time you'll be shooting much lower then this without batting an eye ;-) hang in there, you guys are doing great! Have a great weekend!
 
Re: Simke AMS 268 +1.15 268 +3 272

Good Morning,

So thinking of feeding him, 7 (8am if he doesn't well at 7am) 10am, 1pm, 4pm, 7pm and 10pm. But sometimes he eats well sometimes he doesn't

Enjoying my surf now :)
 
Re: Simke AMS 268 +1.15 268 +3 272

What time does he get his shot? It is better to show the +x numbers than the actual times because we all live in different time zones and shoot at different times.

I just got an auto feeder and have been trying different mini-meal spacing. Currently I'm liking this schedule:
Mini meal #1: at shot time
#2: at +1
#3: at +3
#4: at +5

then nothing until the next shot (except for the treats at BG tests). I'm also giving him the same amount at each meal, and the same amount during each cycle. Some beans give different amounts at the meals. We just have to see what works for our sugarcat and for us!
 
Re: Simke AMS 268 +1.15 268 +3 272 +7 360

Unfortunately my dog is waiting for him to leave his food, so she can clean the dishes ;)


So currently feeding at AMS +2 (if he doesn't eat well at AMS)
+3
+6
+9
pms
+4 in new cycle
 
Re: Simke AMS 268 +1.15 268 +3 272 +7 360

I would probably hold off on the +9 meal unless Simke is driving you crazy for food. We typically suggest that you not feed after nadir. Once your insulin's peak level of activity (i.e., the lowest point in the cycle) has passed, if you feed, there's less insulin available to offset the effect of food. If you then feed after nadir, the pre-shot numbers could be higher.
 
Re: Simke AMS 268 +1.15 268 +3 272 +7 360

I could not feed him (he doesn't ask), it is just that he is under weight?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top