Simba hypo on only 1 U of Lantus today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Scatcats

Very Active Member
Simba went hypo today at 2pm +4 on only 1 U Lantus and only m/d wet food. He was down at 1.0 - 18 - when I caught him. He ate some dry m/d food and I gave him 20 ml dextrose, and after 30 minutes he was up at 3.2 - 58.

I know we usually say here they are not likely to go hypo on only 1 U of Lantus, but it is possible as I learnt today.


It's Simba second hypo in 4 weeks.
 
Ann, if this is the second hypo in 4 weeks you need to reduce Simba's insulin. My Maggie was on Lev, and she hypo'd on 1 unit, too. You might try .5 unit and see what happens with his numbers. If they are too high, then try .75 unit.
 
Oh! Bless you Ann! Lucky of you to catch that on time! Was that a normal testing time or did you notice anything different with Simba?
 
I don't think anyone has ever said a cat cannot have hypo/low BGs on 1U or even less of insulin. What we see for the most part with Lantus and Levemir is that on lower doses they have hypo BGs with few or no symptoms of a hypo, that's why when we catch these lows it's kind of a surprise.

What symptoms did you see that lead you to test him? Also, if he has BGs in the 200s or 300s after a low on 1U, why not give .5U tonight rather than allow him to skyrocket with no insulin on a probable rebound?
 
Vicky,

He hasn't eaten his wet food so that is why he stays off the insulin, so I'll get a curve on him starting tonight.
 
Tortie,

+4 wasn't normal testing time unless it is a curve day, which yesterday wasn't. Previously he has hypod around +5 to +6, but never as early as +4. It was the first time.

The kitchen is next to the bedroom and while I changed cloths I saw he was laying on the kitchen threshold - something he only does if there is something wrong. Then I saw his face was twitching, as cramping, and his head and front legs too - and that is a sign with Simba that he is very low and hypo. From there I am very fast in making the dextrose solution, give him that and testing him.
 
Simba's curve on no insulin:

pm 12.1 - 218
12 hr
am 17.0 - 306
+3 16.6 - 290
+6 overslept
+9 15.9 - 286
+12 13.5 - 243
12hr
am 15,3 - 270

gave him o.5 U this am
 
Simba has definitely earned a reduction! With a number that low, I'd go to .5U and do a full curve after 3-5 days to see what the numbers are looking like, unless Simba drops too low again, and then you'd want to reduce again immediately.

ECID. My cat has hit low 40's on just 0.1U, others never touch 50 or lower on a much higher dose.
 
How very scary! You probably want to keep a closer eye on him restarting the insulin. Those higher number could be a bounce off the lows, the dry food and other stuff used to bring him up.

1 u usually feels safe, but every cat is different and cats can be more sensitive to insulin after they've experienced a hypo, so that first one might have contributed and having had two definitely earns a reduction and a close eye.
 
This is truly an enigma - he hasn't eaten today and his numbers have been

Yesterday at 10am - 15.5 - 279

Today
10am - 6.6 - 119
+6 6.2 - 112
+12 6,9 - 124

Unless he starts to eat his full day amount of food, I won't give him insulin on those low numbers.

And I HIGHLY doubt he is in remisson after 6 long years :roll:
 
Ann & Scatcats said:
And I HIGHLY doubt he is in remisson after 6 long years :roll:

I'm sure stranger things have happened!

Good to see you posting again, sorry it's with news of hypos. You guys have had many changes over the past few weeks. Maybe it's not unthinkable that he could be wanting to go OTJ.

On ProZinc, Eukonobu was at death's door a few weeks ago. He'd stopped eating, and was having other issues. Then he started eating again, and came back much stronger... only to have his numbers drop to healthy cat numbers. His person went away and boarded him for a weekend, then came back to a high number, but has since seen the numbers coming back down. Remission is actually in sight for him... so, I guess it's safe to say that ANYTHING IS POSSIBLE. Seems funny that some kitties go through something really bad, then come back and fight Mr. P. w/ a vengeance - and get him to straighten up! Maybe Simba has done just that!

Good for you for being on top of his situation! ...and so quickly as well! Great job!

Take care,
Lu-Ann
 
There is really no rhyme and reason to this.

Last night he hadn't touched his food, yet did he have 10.6 - 214 at 10am this morning.


This is really an enigma and never happened before.
 
Are you able to get Simba to the vet? I'm not sure what bits and pieces mean...if he is getting enough food or not to ward off complications?

Your signature says he has had pancreatitis before. I wonder if he is having a flare?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top