Simba 19.1. AMBG 67 +2 67 +5 54 PMBG 63 +2 43

Good morning. You are correct. No shot this morning. It’s the third cycle without insulin so he should not drop low. I’d feed lc and check in an hour. He won’t go into a symptomatic hypo at this point.
Okay, perfect! I was very anxious to measure his BG this morning, absolutely not knowing what to expect. His nan can do the +1 measuring, I am exhausted this morning!
 
A little furry one was whining for food a while back. I fed him and checked his BG - 54. I think I’ll give him some more food soon!
 
Definitely looks like the right call not to give any insulin to the King of Funny Business this morning:eek:!
Self-care sounds like a wonderful plan today...and hopefully that includes a nap. :)
 
The king of funny business is becoming the most unusual cat I’ve ever seen on the FDMB. Go Simba. This is a perfect day to take care of you Lina. I would not test until PMBG (not pmps). :D
 
Thank you everyone for the lovely messages! :bighug:

I just woke up from a dangerously timed nap. :D I only did the bare minimum today!

PMBG: 63. Simba, you are a miracle. No insulin for my boy.
 
He’s not going to go hypo. You aren’t going to shoot at +2 no matter what the bg is. It will be well under 100. Don’t test any more. Have a nice evening and a full night’s sleep. Don’t you dare set an alarm to test. You need rest and Simbais great Next test will be the ambg. :):):):):D:D:D:D:D
 
He’s not going to go hypo. You aren’t going to shoot at +2 no matter what the bg is. It will be well under 100. Don’t test any more. Have a nice evening and a full night’s sleep. Don’t you dare set an alarm to test. You need rest and Simbais great Next test will be the ambg. :):):):):D:D:D:D:D

how do we catch all these OTJ-ers if they are under-reporting? :mad:;)
 
him or you? ;)
The King himself ;)


He’s not going to go hypo. You aren’t going to shoot at +2 no matter what the bg is. It will be well under 100. Don’t test any more. Have a nice evening and a full night’s sleep. Don’t you dare set an alarm to test. You need rest and Simbais great Next test will be the ambg. :):):):):D:D:D:D:D

I am a testaholic. Is that a thing around here? :D I promise not to set an alarm for in the middle of the night but can I just sneak one itty bitty test at +2? :joyful: Hahahah!
 
I was a testaholic too. It scares some when they look at my ss. The hardest part of the OTJ trial for you will be not testing. Hahahahaha. :bighug:
Do you think Simba’s Lantus depot is entirely empty or could it take a few more days? I’m still wondering if this could be a fluke and he’d skyrocket one day again...
 
To be totally honest with you I don’t know. I have never seen this happen so dramatically. We have one other that has gone from 4.5 to ns and watching but that one has had BG between 100-190 at times. Mostly under100 though. In your case I think it’s a combo of prednisolone out of the picture and the diet change. I’m almost certain we will be starting an OTJ trial very soon. For now we do it unofficially. It’s ok. We can ween you off testing. :D
 
I am very tempted to give Simba some MC after seeing that 43. Or should I stick to a higher LC? HC?! Why does he do this to me o_O:nailbiting:
 
The depot should be drained by now since he hasn't had insulin for so long. LC should be fine. I think he's done with insulin. Get some sleep.
 
It can be nerve wracking to see numbers that low, but without insulin he can't go hypo. You see numbers like that during an OTJ trial.
I am a bit on edge about this no insulin business still, thanks for reassuring me! If I could hold down my mum's cat I would test him for comparison, but he's usually been in the lime greens too...
 
I've got Simba's nan in charge of tomorrow's morning test + food. If all goes well, I will be marathon napping/sleeping for as long as I’m capable of. That being said I most likely won’t be on the FDMB first thing in the morning.

Goodnight from us! :cat::bighug:
 
I have never seen this happen so dramatically.
My favourite one was Scooter. Check out his SS on Feb 19th. Linda removed dry food from the house the day before - that she thought he couldn't reach, but clearly was. 5.5 to nothing and a lot of karo needed. Thankfully the Socchi Olympics were on over night so we both had something to do in the middle of the night. (Neko dove in sympathy that night).
 
My favourite one was Scooter. Check out his SS on Feb 19th. Linda removed dry food from the house the day before - that she thought he couldn't reach, but clearly was. 5.5 to nothing and a lot of karo needed. Thankfully the Socchi Olympics were on over night so we both had something to do in the middle of the night. (Neko dove in sympathy that night).

So do you think Simba should go to an OTJ trial now?
 
Here are the instructions:

Instructions for starting the OTJ trial
Start the trial on the next green pre shot.
If he/she is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time; just feed small meals and go about your day. If he/she is blue at your normal "PS", feed a small meal and test again after about 3 or 4 hours. If his/her number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then the pancreas is working!
Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. He/she may have a sporadic blue number. Don't panic but post before you decide whether to shoot so we can have a discussion.
After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens; we just give him/her the support needed. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
Good luck with the trial!!!
Once he/she is through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low carb food in the manner successful for your kitty. If you decide to change his/her feeding schedule, let your meter be your guide to the best times to feed. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood glucose weekly for the first month and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him/her monthly. Weight should remain stable. If he/she seems "off" or sick, or is showing signs of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss), test his/her blood glucose right away. Keep the teeth and gums clean and healthy; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission. If you see rising blood glucose numbers, it's time for a visit to the vet!
 
My favourite one was Scooter. Check out his SS on Feb 19th. Linda removed dry food from the house the day before - that she thought he couldn't reach, but clearly was. 5.5 to nothing and a lot of karo needed. Thankfully the Socchi Olympics were on over night so we both had something to do in the middle of the night. (Neko dove in sympathy that night).
Scooter looked like quite the character! I bet he could sniff out the carbs :D :D :D

OTJ trial for Simba it is! I am so happy I might explode :cat:
 
Back
Top