Silver AMPS 23.8 PMPS 20.3

Status
Not open for further replies.

KittyMom777

Member Since 2014
Posted this in TR by mistake. Oops. Reposting it in right place.


Getting frustrated seeing little results from the insulin. So confusing with the numbers - yesterday's AMPS was 19.8. (Sorry, not in USA so you'd have to look at the SS for the conversion :-(

Silver now used to ear testing. He's mewing at me to come do it as he wants his treat!
 
They catch on quick don't they?

Actually at this point you really don't know what he's doing on this dose yet because you haven't had a chance to test him near his nadir. If you go back and look at the vet run curve. If you didn't see those blues mid-cycles and only looked at the preshot numbers, he'd look like he got worse towards the end. Right?

Once you can get a curve run we can help you decide what to do next. Yes he'll probably need to go up but at least the diet change will be out of the way.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
They catch on quick don't they?

Actually at this point you really don't know what he's doing on this dose yet because you haven't had a chance to test him near his nadir. If you go back and look at the vet run curve. If you didn't see those blues mid-cycles and only looked at the preshot numbers, he'd look like he got worse towards the end. Right?

Once you can get a curve run we can help you decide what to do next. Yes he'll probably need to go up but at least the diet change will be out of the way.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Diet is good. He's happy on two cans of FF a day.

I'm still not convinced my vet got those numbers right. I've done a + 3 and a +7 in the evenings and also a + 2. Never seen in blue numbers. Do different glucometers measure different numbers? Getting impatient to do the curve to really find out what is going on. I am off on Monday too so can get more tests in.
 
Great news on the food change, Juliet, and also about Monday. Those tests will be really, really helpful.

Smart boy, your Silver. Sussed out the 'tests = treats' correlation already! :-D How is Silver doing overall?
 
Critter Mom said:
Great news on the food change, Juliet, and also about Monday. Those tests will be really, really helpful.

Smart boy, your Silver. Sussed out the 'tests = treats' correlation already! :-D How is Silver doing overall?

Overall he seems fine. Purring happily beside me in bed as I type. But he just peed in the floor which is a pain. Thank goodness for puppy training pads but both litter boxes are clean so beats me. He's training my other cat that it's ok to use the floor :-( :-( I'm finding this very stressful as I rent the apartment.

Funnily enough I have to give him the treat first so he'll settle down for the test. He's too excited for the treat to sit still.
 
Know what you mean about the rented accommodation. We're the same.

How high is the ledge of the litter box?
 
Critter Mom said:
Know what you mean about the rented accommodation. We're the same.

How high is the ledge of the litter box?

It is a little high sided as my other cat sticks her butt out over the edge. I put out a low one for him but she's been using it so therefore having the same effect. Cat pee on the floor. I moved the smaller tray to stop her messing then he messed. Grrrr
 
Oh, deep and excellent joy! :roll:

Saoirse sometimes stands up to pee, so I've high-sided, covered litter boxes for my little ones. Helps with the litter scatter as well as the hi-rise winky-tinkies.

I know they're not pretty, but black plastic bin liners can help reduce the mess from litter box misses.

Is there anything you might make a little step from for Silver (e.g. a couple of old paberbacks)?
 
Hmmm will think about that one re the step. I also have high sided covered boxes which I do think it harder for him to get into. Wish I could mark them his and hers! He lies down in the box as he cant sit long due to the bad neuropathy.
 
Move the box. If there is no where else to put it, as stupid as this sounds, turn it 90 degrees so the cat enters from the side instead of the front, so to speak. A change is as good as a rest, sometimes.

There is also cat litter that is available with an additive that is an attractant for cats. Or you can buy something to sprinkle on it. You need to change the enviroment somehow to change the behaivoir. You already know he responds quick to treats... how about putting him in the box, and if he digs or stays for even a few seconds, give a treat?
 
LindaMS said:
Move the box. If there is no where else to put it, as stupid as this sounds, turn it 90 degrees so the cat enters from the side instead of the front, so to speak. A change is as good as a rest, sometimes.

There is also cat litter that is available with an additive that is an attractant for cats. Or you can buy something to sprinkle on it. You need to change the enviroment somehow to change the behaivoir. You already know he responds quick to treats... how about putting him in the box, and if he digs or stays for even a few seconds, give a treat?

There is only one way into the box. I think Aine has it right - the side is too high. I'll have to get lower sides for him.
 
They make a box for kitties that have a hard time getting in and out of a standard box. I have one for Autumn as she has back problems thanks to some a-hole shooting her at some point before I adopted her.

It has 3 high sides and a low step in front.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Critter Mom said:
MommaOfMuse said:
Autumn ... has back problems thanks to some a-hole shooting her at some point before I adopted her.

:evil:

Autumn ... :cry:

Far too charitable an epithet, Mel.

Oooh that's horrible! I cant understand cruelty to cats, really. How does he manage with getting into the litter tray? Silver's constant messing on the floor is hard going. Pooped on the floor this morning. And I put down the lower tray for him last night. I think he has just got into the routine now as the floor is where I go. He did this for several months last year too, then all of a sudden, reverted back to using the tray. I wish I could get inside his thinking!
Juliet
 
MommaOfMuse said:
They make a box for kitties that have a hard time getting in and out of a standard box. I have one for Autumn as she has back problems thanks to some a-hole shooting her at some point before I adopted her.

It has 3 high sides and a low step in front.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Ok, I want to find a box like that. Needs to be high sided at three places for Miss Sasha who always goes over the side. No such thing as a "one sized fits all" litter box in my household!
 
Aine,

I have much stronger words that I would use, but this is an open public board. And in reality I don't even know since it happened long before she came to me if it was deliberate. Autumn was back then a barn cat on a farm and she is the coloring of a raccoon. And because of someone also before our time together butchering her front feet when she was declawed she also moves very much like a raccoon as well. So it is possible that she was mistaken for a raccoon and where she comes from and where we live it is very common practice to shoot at raccoons as they are extremely destructive to farms as they will steal chicken eggs and destroy cattle and horse feed stores. Raccoons and Foxes don't stand much of a chance in farm country.

Juliet,

Has Silver been checked for UTI? Often when they are not going in the box it's because they associate the box with pain. So if he has a urinary tract infection which is common in a diabetic cat, it hurts to pee, then so he associates the box with pain. Out here in farm country we see that kind of thing a lot with first time momma horses and cows. They associate the pain of labor with their brand new baby and will kick the babe away when it tries to nurse. With first time mommy it's easy to fix, we just have to hold them and get the baby up and nursing. Once she realizes it's her child and not the source of the pain, most times she turns into a dynamite mom. With a cat that possibly has an infection it can be a little harder to get them back to using the box. But the place to start is making sure it doesn't hurt to go potty.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
KittyMom777 said:
Silver's constant messing on the floor is hard going. ... He did this for several months last year too, then all of a sudden, reverted back to using the tray. I wish I could get inside his thinking!

This is an example of where secondary monitoring can prove invaluable. Keeping a little diary of behaviours, and trials and errors as well as numbers can provide a goldmine of information. It's great for giving early warning signals, as a diagnostic tool, and for detective work. I've only been keeping a diary for Saoirse since diagnosis and it has already proved incredibly helpful to nip back in time to see what things did or didn't work for her in the past. (Huge props to BJ! :thumbup)
 
Critter Mom said:
This is an example of where secondary monitoring can prove invaluable. Keeping a little diary of behaviours, and trials and errors as well as numbers can provide a goldmine of information. It's great for giving early warning signals, as a diagnostic tool, and for detective work. I've only been keeping a diary for Saoirse since diagnosis and it has already proved incredibly helpful to nip back in time to see what things did or didn't work for her in the past. (Huge props to BJ! )

I'm actually a little data junkie, I have 3-ring binders on all the animals, that have everything in them from their shot records, copies of blood work, charts with weights (yes I weigh everyone monthly and check their BGs, even the civies) to hand written pages with changes in markings as they get older, scar placements, behavior changes, and notes taken at various vet appointments. Not only can I look back in time to spot problems, but when one of our babies went missing it proved invaluable in getting him back home, because I was able to prove that he was in fact ours by scars that were hidden under his fur and an allergy to dry food. In my world there is no such thing as too much data.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Aine,

Has Silver been checked for UTI? Often when they are not going in the box it's because they associate the box with pain. So if he has a urinary tract infection which is common in a diabetic cat, it hurts to pee, then so he associates the box with pain. Out here in farm country we see that kind of thing a lot with first time momma horses and cows. They associate the pain of labor with their brand new baby and will kick the babe away when it tries to nurse. With first time mommy it's easy to fix, we just have to hold them and get the baby up and nursing. Once she realizes it's her child and not the source of the pain, most times she turns into a dynamite mom. With a cat that possibly has an infection it can be a little harder to get them back to using the box. But the place to start is making sure it doesn't hurt to go potty.

Mel and The Fur Gang

Hi, yes he has....as that's what I thought at first. The vet gave me antibiotics for him and also sent away his urine to be cultured. Came back negative and she told me to continue antibiotics which I did for 8 days but it was giving him terrible diarrhea so I stopped them. Getting diastix at the weekend.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top