Silver AMPS 23.8; PMPS 20.3

Status
Not open for further replies.

KittyMom777

Member Since 2014
Getting frustrated seeing little results from the insulin. So confusing with the numbers - yesterday's AMPS was 19.8. (Sorry, not in USA so you'd have to look at the SS for the conversion :-(
 
Hi, Juliet and welcome!

How long had Silver been on insulin before the vet did a curve?

One explanation for the numbers may have been your initial switch from 2.0 to 1.0u and then back to 2.0u. Lantus likes consistency. Quick switches in dose amounts can result in weird numbers.

With Lantus, dose changes are typically made in increments of 0.25 - 0.5u. A dose change, either up or down, of 1.0u is big and it's no surprise that you're seeing high numbers. Generally, kitties are started out at a dose that is based on the cat's weight (initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms). The doses are then increased by 0.25u unless numbers are routinely quite high.

The other factor that is an unknown is where Silver's nadir is falling. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest point in the cycle. I'm assuming you're at work during the day, hence the lack of spot checks during the AM cycle. It's possible that the numbers are in a better range and Silver is bouncing back up. It will help if you can get some additional AM tests on days when you're home.
 
Hello.
Welcome to TR forum.
I haven't seen you over here and tried to find a last condo for Silver by searching your posts....
and this seems to be it...
Nov 12


The folks here will love it if you will get at least one other test during the cycle besides the pre-shot test.
Data collecting is so helpful for learning Silver's unique pattern and response.
 
rhiannon and shadow said:
Hello.
Welcome to TR forum.
I haven't seen you over here and tried to find a last condo for Silver by searching your posts....
and this seems to be it...
Nov 12


The folks here will love it if you will get at least one other test during the cycle besides the pre-shot test.
Data collecting is so helpful for learning Silver's unique pattern and response.

Thx for the welcome tho. I can't get mid cycle tests until the weekends. What's a condo?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Hi, Juliet and welcome!

How long had Silver been on insulin before the vet did a curve?

One explanation for the numbers may have been your initial switch from 2.0 to 1.0u and then back to 2.0u. Lantus likes consistency. Quick switches in dose amounts can result in weird numbers.

With Lantus, dose changes are typically made in increments of 0.25 - 0.5u. A dose change, either up or down, of 1.0u is big and it's no surprise that you're seeing high numbers. Generally, kitties are started out at a dose that is based on the cat's weight (initial dose = 0.25 x ideal weight in kilograms). The doses are then increased by 0.25u unless numbers are routinely quite high.

The other factor that is an unknown is where Silver's nadir is falling. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir -- the lowest point in the cycle. I'm assuming you're at work during the day, hence the lack of spot checks during the AM cycle. It's possible that the numbers are in a better range and Silver is bouncing back up. It will help if you can get some additional AM tests on days when you're home.

Posted in wrong place but to answer your question Silver was on 1 unit am only as per instructed by the vet, started on Oct 11th. I noticed no difference at all after a week so I incrased it to 2 units am only (this was before I found this forum and did not know it's needed every 12 hrs. After the curve (he'd been at 2u am only for two weeks), vet said to give two at night too. I gave one the first night as I knew it wouldn't be quite 12 hrs to the morning shot. Since found this site, Mel encouraged me to drop back to 1u am and pm to this weekend and do another curve.
Frustrated kitty mom (Juliet)
 
A condo is where you are posting right now. Welcome to LL. You can still post here even if you can't get as many tests in as most of us do. The more you can get in on weekends the better, like +6 or +7. You can also check at different times each weekend day which will give you an idea of how things are going. Maybe, get a test before out the door for work and another before bed during the week.
 
tiffmaxee said:
A condo is where you are posting right now. Welcome to LL. You can still post here even if you can't get as many tests in as most of us do. The more you can get in on weekends the better, like +6 or +7. You can also check at different times each weekend day which will give you an idea of how things are going. Maybe, get a test before out the door for work and another before bed during the week.

Been trying that. I test feed and shoot at 6:30am and am out the door by 7am. I can't get up earlier to test/shoot as I don't get home til 6:30pm.

This weekend I'm doing a curve and will probably do one every Saturday until he's more regulated. Nervous the vet may ask why I'm not giving 2 and 2 as she instructed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top