Shurshishka PMPS 121, please advise

Lizzee

Member Since 2020
Hi there,

Today I'm reporting the lowest BG pre-shot I've ever seen before. We've stabilized her on .75u for the past 3 days that seems to be working moderately well. Today though her numbers were the lowest I've ever seen them, and I'm hesitant about shooting her with her regular dose as I have no idea how shes going to react while I'm asleep, but I don't want to skip the dose entirely and have her skyrocket into the 400s again.

Apologies for lack of nadirs... Waiting on Thursday to get myself set up with a new meter.
 
If I have to thats probably what I'll end up doing. After finally having her regulated I don't want a massive increase in her numbers again.

Would it be possible to wait an hour past her usual dose time and check her BG then?
 
With DKA in October skipping isn’t really good. Did you feed her? If not you can stall and see if she comes up in about 30 minutes on her own.
 
I did feed her, only about half of what she usually gets. If I do shoot her tonight, I will stay up with her. Should I test every 2 hours or 3? Should I also give her the full dose?
 
Start with a +2. If it’s lower than the PMPS you will need to test more often. With SLGS we don’t usually suggest your shoot a full dose when under 150. Do you have hc food and honey or syrup and can you stay up as long as necessary. The lack of nadirs makes me wonder if she’s dropped lower than 90 already.
 
I do have non-dyed corn syrup. In the past, any time we've performed a curve on her it either stays relatively flat, or increases / decreases towards the end. It never looks like a typical curve. I'm planning to give the second half of her meal at +3, continue monitoring and I have carby treats to give her in case her numbers drop too low. She's done O.K with her number skyrocketing on no shoots before (negative keytones) but I still worry. Can I give her .5 to be on the safe side and split the difference?
 
You might not need to be up all night, especially if there’s a bounce. If the +2 is a lot lower than PMPS it could be a long night. If just a food bump get a +4, if way up likely a bounce.
 
Her +2 is almost always a food bump. From the curves I have done so far most of her changes occur on the last 4 hours of her cycle. If it goes up a significant amount I will pack it in, but if it remains relatively stable I will be in for a long night. It will suck but I am just happy that she is finally, FINALLY regulated and don't want to give that up right now lol.
 
Her +2 is almost always a food bump. From the curves I have done so far most of her changes occur on the last 4 hours of her cycle. If it goes up a significant amount I will pack it in, but if it remains relatively stable I will be in for a long night. It will suck but I am just happy that she is finally, FINALLY regulated and don't want to give that up right now lol.

If she does head lower, it will give you a good idea how low she is going on this dose which is a very important data point.
 
I've shot .5 to be on the safe side, so we will see how it goes.. Will update in about another hour or so.
 
Update: Her +2 was 189. Looks like we're probably in the clear for tonight, but will take a +4 to be absolutely sure, with her second meal at +3. Thanks all.
 
Back
Top