Should we increase sooner than 5 days?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Becky & Morlei

Member Since 2012
Morlei has been on Lantus for five cycles now.
Here are her numbers, the first day she had a pretty flat cycle but yesterday and today she actually dipped into the low 200s. Because her numbers have actually dipped and we only had the flat cycle for the first day...this means we will continue to hold the 2u for another 2-4 days right? Then after that if her nadir is still above 200 we will increase to 2.25u? Just making sure we're doing this right! Thanks!

3/3
AMPS 296
+2 305
+3 293
+6 249
+7 282
+9 279
PMPS 308
+3 272

3/4
AMPS 292
+3 271
+6 205
+9 272
PMPS 287
+3 282

3/5
AMPS 312
+3 254
+6 209
+7.5 244
+9 284

Edited: from subject line 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244, PMPS 320 to Should we increase sooner than five days?
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244

Morlei looks good. yes, you want to hold this dose for 5-7 days. the lantus is doing its thing just as it should. if you keep posting every day people will be keeping an eye out for you and help you know when you should change her dose. if you think you want to, put it in your subject line so someone can come and help you decide if it's the right time. just want to avoid a bounce and all.

how are you feeling about the change, becky?

here's the part of the protocol you want right now:

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244

How's it going with the change?
I know I still have my moments of freaking out!
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244

Thanks Julie!
I was hoping Morlei would have some awesome numbers like Amy & Ruby but it's ok, we'll get there. I'm very happy her numbers didn't go up too much during the switch. The only stressful part is making sure I don't inject any air into the pen...but luckily at my internship today they were having an inservice on aseptic technique so they gave me some pointers on how to draw the insulin.
I can only catch her nadir on the weekends when I'm home so should I only do a dose increase on the weekends rather than every three days? The earliest I can catch her on a weekday after her AMPS is about +7.5/+8.
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244

arozeboom said:
How's it going with the change?
I know I still have my moments of freaking out!

Going good! You're getting some great numbers, I'm so happy for you and Ruby! I can't wait until I see a green number for Morlei, I'll probably pee my pants! :lol:
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244

i'm gonna have to remember that so we can post a PEE ALERT when we see a green in Morlei's condo! :lol:

what about the evening cycle during the week, becky? is there a possibility of seeing a +5 or so in the evening? sometimes people adjust their shot time so they (hopefully) get a nadir (or at least an idea of where it's going) before going to bed. would that work for you?

eta - by the way, morlei's good numbers are coming! they might not be as amazingly fast as ruby's were, but you'll be able to get her into much better numbers than she's been in. you're just starting out!
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244

julie & punkin said:
i'm gonna have to remember that so we can post a PEE ALERT when we see a green in Morlei's condo! :lol:

what about the evening cycle during the week, becky? is there a possibility of seeing a +5 or so in the evening? sometimes people adjust their shot time so they (hopefully) get a nadir (or at least an idea of where it's going) before going to bed. would that work for you?

eta - by the way, morlei's good numbers are coming! they might not be as amazingly fast as ruby's were, but you'll be able to get her into much better numbers than she's been in. you're just starting out!

I can try, our schedules are kind of weird so that's why we do our shots around 10-10:30 am/pm...I'm one of those people that if I set an alarm there is no way I'm going back to sleep...but right now I have two short days during the week so I can try to set my alarm on those days...if I can't get back to sleep I'll just come home and take a nap after work.
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244

we're just thinking it might be good for morlei to get on the fast track plan because of her numbers. that would mean increasing sooner than 5 days.

i've been that way too, but now i take things to knock me out. no problem now to wake up, test, then crash til the next test.

trying to remember who it is - there i someone on here that gets up a couple of hours early to test/feed/shoot and then goes back to bed for that couple of hours. it makes their schedule right for the rest of the day.
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244

Ugh her PMPS is 320...I think her and one of the other cats got into a fight because I heard her hissing upstairs about 15 minutes ago. That's one of the highest numbers we've seen from her.
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244, PMPS 320

if she was all stressed that could inflate it. it'll go down, although we hate to see those high numbers.

punkin was 371 an hour ago when i tested him. even though i know he's bouncing from his 70's earlier today, wow you hate to see them so high.
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244

Let's not jinx her amazingly fast numbers! ;-)

julie & punkin said:
i'm gonna have to remember that so we can post a PEE ALERT when we see a green in Morlei's condo! :lol:

what about the evening cycle during the week, becky? is there a possibility of seeing a +5 or so in the evening? sometimes people adjust their shot time so they (hopefully) get a nadir (or at least an idea of where it's going) before going to bed. would that work for you?

eta - by the way, morlei's good numbers are coming! they might not be as amazingly fast as ruby's were, but you'll be able to get her into much better numbers than she's been in. you're just starting out!
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244, PMPS 320

julie & punkin said:
we're just thinking it might be good for morlei to get on the fast track plan because of her numbers. that would mean increasing sooner than 5 days.

i've been that way too, but now i take things to knock me out. no problem now to wake up, test, then crash til the next test.

trying to remember who it is - there i someone on here that gets up a couple of hours early to test/feed/shoot and then goes back to bed for that couple of hours. it makes their schedule right for the rest of the day.

Do you think I have enough data to do an increase after 3 days? I wouldn't be able to get a nadir tonight, I probably would tomorrow night (Wednesday morning) but that'll put us at 4 days, Wednesday AMPS starting the 5th day. What do you think?
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244, PMPS 320

I was able to get a +6 last night because I'm getting sick and was up every few hours. It was 247...should we wait another day or so before the increase? I might be able to get a +6.5 today because my work schedule is slightly different. If I end up staying home or coming home early I'll be able to test her.
 
Hi Becky,

Could you update your SS when you get a minute please?

The concensus is that Morlei is still pretty flat after 6 cycles, and you can increase by 0.25u if you want to. I would still try to catch mid cycle tests as often as you can....those tests will enable you to assess the dose and get her to a good dose as soon as possible, while still keeping her safe. (I understand your schedule limits you, just letting you know.) Good luck with the dosecrease!

Sorry you are sick, a lot of that going around, me too....hope you feel better soon!
 
Laurie and Mr Tinkles said:
Hi Becky,

Could you update your SS when you get a minute please?

The concensus is that Morlei is still pretty flat after 6 cycles, and you can increase by 0.25u if you want to. I would still try to catch mid cycle tests as often as you can....those tests will enable you to assess the dose and get her to a good dose as soon as possible, while still keeping her safe. (I understand your schedule limits you, just letting you know.) Good luck with the dosecrease!

Sorry you are sick, a lot of that going around, me too....hope you feel better soon!

Thanks Laurie, her SS is updated.
I think we'll do the increase tonight, I know I can get a +4, my fiance may be able to get a +5 so we can at least see where she's heading. He knows to wake me up if she's acting strangely or her numbers are low. Hope you feel better as well!
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244

Becky & Morlei said:
I can try, our schedules are kind of weird so that's why we do our shots around 10-10:30 am/pm...I'm one of those people that if I set an alarm there is no way I'm going back to sleep...but right now I have two short days during the week so I can try to set my alarm on those days...if I can't get back to sleep I'll just come home and take a nap after work.

I used to be one those people too, until I got tired enough :lol: now I roll out of bed, barely open my eyes for the test roll back in and am back to sleep within 10 or 15 minutes of getting up - maybe you're just not tired enough yet!
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244

julie & punkin said:
i'm gonna have to remember that so we can post a PEE ALERT when we see a green in Morlei's condo! :lol:

LOLOL :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
mtoiletfront.jpg
 
Haha love the pic Kim!

I was lucky enough to get home for a +6 today, if my schedule ends up staying this way I'll be very happy. But unfortunately her number was 250, and this was before I fed her...I think she definitely earned an increase tonight.
 
sounds like a good plan. hopefully that will get her down a little bit.

you can go ahead and update your subject line whenever you have new information (and have a chance, of course!) - it just lets people see at a glance how morlei is doing.

i just want to report than i'm saying her name correctly when it's inside my head. :-D :lol: i have to correct myself sometimes, but i'm at 90%!
 
Re: 3/5 Morlei AMPS 312, +3 254, +6 209, +9 244

Vyktors Mum said:
Becky & Morlei said:
I can try, our schedules are kind of weird so that's why we do our shots around 10-10:30 am/pm...I'm one of those people that if I set an alarm there is no way I'm going back to sleep...but right now I have two short days during the week so I can try to set my alarm on those days...if I can't get back to sleep I'll just come home and take a nap after work.

I used to be one those people too, until I got tired enough :lol: now I roll out of bed, barely open my eyes for the test roll back in and am back to sleep within 10 or 15 minutes of getting up - maybe you're just not tired enough yet!

LOL...I agree with ya, Serryn!! Before Trix's diagnosis, sleeping till 7:30 was late, and I never hit "snooze". Now the Snooze bar is my BFF, I can fall asleep at the drop of a hat, and I'm lucky if I can drag myself out of bed for good by 10:30 on my days off!

You guys are doing a great job!!
 
julie & punkin said:
sounds like a good plan. hopefully that will get her down a little bit.

you can go ahead and update your subject line whenever you have new information (and have a chance, of course!) - it just lets people see at a glance how morlei is doing.

i just want to report than i'm saying her name correctly when it's inside my head. :-D :lol: i have to correct myself sometimes, but i'm at 90%!

At least you try to pronounce her name right, the vet's office can't get it right to save their life! I've seen like 4 different spellings and a million different pronunications from them. Thanks for all your help Julie, I really appreciate it! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top