?? Should I switch to tight regulation tomorrow? Phoenix

Scdal

Member Since 2020
On Monday, I increased Phoenix's insulin to 9 units. I know the insulin can't act that quickly, but his AMPS was 160, +1 179, +2 198, +3 143, +4 191. I did not give him a snack during the night before because his +8 was 263. Phoenix's BG always drops without a midnight snack. I know I am supposed to give him a snack to regulate his numbers but he is very food sensitive.

Anyway, since the low numbers on Monday, he is back to the same old thing and I gave him his evening snack. His BG is back to the mid 200 - 300 range. I have always used the SLGS. Do you think I should give the TR method a try or just stop giving him a snack in the evening. Advice please, I am very frustrated and trying my best to get Phoenix regulated.
 
Do you think I should give the TR method a try or just stop giving him a snack in the evening.
I think it may be a better method for Phoenix, it will allow you to adjust the dose more regularly. If there's an element of insulin resistance holding on to a dose too long could be working against him.

Remind me has anyone mentioned about getting him tested for high dose conditions?
Where are you in the world? US?
 
I think it may be a better method for Phoenix, it will allow you to adjust the dose more regularly. If there's an element of insulin resistance holding on to a dose too long could be working against him.

Remind me has anyone mentioned about getting him tested for high dose conditions?
Where are you in the world? US?
Yes, it has been suggested that I get him checked for acromalagy. The problem is he has to be sedated to get blood work. When Phoenix was diagnosed it March, he had to be sedated twice. His breathing got irregular and they had to wake him up before getting a sonogram done.

He has been coughing on and off for the last couple of weeks. I have a call in to his vet. He can go days and not cough and then have a few days where he coughs on and off. He is on amoxicillin as a precaution because he had pneumonia in March. I am having a special squeeze cage made that may allow the vet to get blood work done without knocking him out. It won't be ready for another week.

Phoenix is eating great and walks around and grooms himself. He just is not going out as much as he used to. It is confusing because I walked him on his leash on Monday. Phoenix walked around half an acre four times and stayed out for 2 hours. I had to bring him in then because it was time for his lunch.

It can be so worrying. Cats can hide illnesses very well. Right now, he is sleeping after eating lunch.
Like so many people, I keep going over to see if he is breathing. I can't wait for the vet to call me back. I wish Phoenix could be handled without knocking him out. He would be at the vet today. I am in a rural area of Texas and live on acreage. Any help or suggestions you can give me would be appreciated. It is hard to be alone and living in a rural area right now. I have no one to talk to when I am worried.
 
Tight regulation will allow you to increase more quickly if his blood sugar isn't where you want it to be, I generally recommend it for cats on higher doses. If there is an underlying condition causing insulin resistance, the amount of insulin needed can change often.

He has been coughing on and off for the last couple of weeks
That raises a concern to me. If he has acromegaly, then an enlarged heart is one of the possible side effects. Heart issues can cause coughing. When Phoenix is resting, can you count the complete number of in and out breaths he does in a minute? It is call the RR or resting respiratory rate. I just used the timer on my phone to count. Normal is between 20 and 30.

For taking him into the vet, have you ever tried gabapentin?
 
Tight regulation will allow you to increase more quickly if his blood sugar isn't where you want it to be, I generally recommend it for cats on higher doses. If there is an underlying condition causing insulin resistance, the amount of insulin needed can change often.


That raises a concern to me. If he has acromegaly, then an enlarged heart is one of the possible side effects. Heart issues can cause coughing. When Phoenix is resting, can you count the complete number of in and out breaths he does in a minute? It is call the RR or resting respiratory rate. I just used the timer on my phone to count. Normal is between 20 and 30.

For taking him into the vet, have you ever tried gabapentin?
Yes, we have tried gabapentin. It barely effects him. I talked to his vet yesterday. He thinks it might be an allergy since he goes days without coughing and then it starts up again.
If you have time, could you look at Phoenix's spreadsheet. I am planning on increasing .25 units in the morning. I really want to see more blues.
 
Back
Top