? should I switch to "tight regulation"? see Post #13

Status
Not open for further replies.

ppp

Member Since 2017
1 hr prior to AMPS reading is 154. This is after skipping a shot yesterday am, due to readings in the 90s. Went back to (old routine) 1.5 last night. I am familiar with the SLGS recommendations, that is open to interpretation (do I have enough [consistent?] data)?
 
I don't know SLGS. Here's my feedback for you, you've shot similarly low numbers, but they all resulted in a bounce, so you really don't know what Tut will do on an active cycle. You seem to be able to monitor, that's a good thing. Do you have higher carb food and lots of test strips on hand? I hope others more familiar weigh in.
 
I think if he stays close to that number for AMPS, and you can monitor and have supplies, you can shoot the 1.5 units. It would give you good data if you shoot. If he goes lower, you may want to skip to stay safe.
 
If you have 154 at +11 and get a PS test that is higher, then you will be safe to shoot. With SLGS, you do not shoot below 90. If you see a number below 90 during this cycle, then you will take a 0.25u reduction tonight.
 
I think you've 'hit it on the head' Stacy ... how much of the higher numbers are bouncing (what's going on underneath that)?

I did hear from one SLGS person previously that she just started over at .25 (from her vet's recommendation to start at 2.0); in case she had skipped over the correct dose. But so many things to weigh ... and while I note the warnings to not mix protocols, I see that tight regulation recommends a start per weight right at the 1.5 for Tut, which I settled on. The diabetes having just started this summer (after steriods), it seems there's a fair chance at remission -- if I'm brave enough to try for that. But delay would hurt that chance.

I'm just worrying on paper,.. most of the people I know just don't sympathize with this kind of attention to a cat (a dear friend, who is generally very generous with money as well as time for all kinds of causes, mentions how many children are going hungry, etc. [but she spends more on shoes than I spend on my cats!]) Hubby is helpful, but just not into discussing the details.

Seeing vet today -- who I expect will be talking me toward remission maybe talking to someone in person to go over the options will help me get my head straight.
 
He is responding nicely the insulin and I sure hope that you'll have him OTJ soon since he got FD after being on steroids. Glad you can monitor and all the info you get today will be helpful.
 
I think you've 'hit it on the head' Stacy ... how much of the higher numbers are bouncing (what's going on underneath that)?

Well you're maybe about to find out! :p

I did hear from one SLGS person previously that she just started over at .25 (from her vet's recommendation to start at 2.0); in case she had skipped over the correct dose. But so many things to weigh ... and while I note the warnings to not mix protocols, I see that tight regulation recommends a start per weight right at the 1.5 for Tut, which I settled on. The diabetes having just started this summer (after steriods), it seems there's a fair chance at remission -- if I'm brave enough to try for that. But delay would hurt that chance.

I'm far from a seasoned expert on here, so take that in to consideration, but the numbers Tut is throwing out don't say "you passed over a good dose" to me, so I think it was a good call not to start over at .25. I believe Wendy is the one that told you to stick with the 1.6, and she is a seasoned expert around here, so she probably made a similar observation.

I would feel the exact same way about going for remission. You can always change to the TR protocol at some point in the future if you feel you need to be more aggressive to try for remission. You test enough and you're not feeding dry anymore, right? And yes, it seems the data supports that the optimal window for remission is the sooner the better and you have better chances in the first two months. I was terrified to do TR as it was described as aggressive, but at the same time, I was pretty perplexed and really mad that Asia got diabetes while on a raw food diet for a long time, an optimal weight and no history of steroids, so I wanted to give her the best shot I could for remission. Don't have high hopes for it at her age, but she's a lot better than where she started and it would have taken that much longer with SLGS.

In spite of the other health issues Tut has going on, his response to insulin seems to be really good, and why not check one health issue off the list, either by remission or by regulation? It will only help him to have his full body resources to deal with the other things, right?

I'm just worrying on paper,.. most of the people I know just don't sympathize with this kind of attention to a cat (a dear friend, who is generally very generous with money as well as time for all kinds of causes, mentions how many children are going hungry, etc. [but she spends more on shoes than I spend on my cats!]) Hubby is helpful, but just not into discussing the details.

Seeing vet today -- who I expect will be talking me toward remission maybe talking to someone in person to go over the options will help me get my head straight.

Exactly, this is such a good place to express those feelings. I'm sure a good number of us are in the same boat with people saying "what the heck? It's just a cat!" o_O My kids and husband have been very supportive. My friends have too. They all know Asia is a special cat, and even if she were not my once in a lifetime kitty, they all know how I feel about animals and if they think I'm crazy to do this, they kindly keep that to themselves! :p But everyone else, acquaintances, extended family, friends but not close friends, I know they think this is ridiculous, but I'm just not bothered! ;)

You're doing a great job, Pat! Tut is so lucky to have you in his corner! :bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: ppp
never mind what I want ... he wants to go down. 76 at +2. 2 tsp gravy + 1 oz F pate. (he'd take more but want to be able to get him again soon). I'll be watching closely.

Winter storm prevents trip to vet today; just as well.
 
I've been so frightened of hypos (person friend with tough to control diabetes almost died so many times).

But, seems like this cat wants to go down. (Has been theorized by many that higher numbers lately may be bounces.)

Diagnosed in September, after a long-acting steroid shot this summer; vet thinks that pushed him over the edge.

Retired, and can be here as much as needed. (Except I will be away 12/21-27; trust husband who will be here as much as I would trust anybody -- that is, don't really trust even him with my cats!)
 
He is looking really good right now. I think it depends on how comfortable you are dealing with "low" numbers. With TR, you don't reduce the dose unless he goes under 50. Also you usually make dose changes every 3 days. Although sometimes you hold the dose longer. One thing you can consider it staying with SLGS but lowering the number to earn a reduction. If you think he won't hold the reduction when he goes below 90, you can change it to 75 or another number that works for Tut. You test enough he would be safe if you choose to do this.
 
Thank you.

I am feeling reassured that he had such a normal curve today (for a change). And, then it seemed like I was able to manipulate the #s a bit with gravy (I know some will think I am too conservative by doing this).

But, waiting to reduce until I hit 50! I think I'll take the advice that I 'can go to TR anytime' (not today).

A middle course seems to be to go with the .25 reduction (leaving behind the idea that I don't have enough data to shoot at all, or only minimally under 150). Mainstream SLGS.

Hopefully his PMPS will not confounds this pretty picture!

Hope everybody else well; and all get enough sleep (if some -- like me -- may be interrupted).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top