? Should I skip a dose?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Nick & Binx, Sep 9, 2023.

1. Nick & Binx

Nick & Binx Member

Hey everyone, new here but have been trying to read up as much as possible.

Binx just started Prozinc a few days ago. I've been trying to do regular glucose tests, but I am still learning (thank you to everyone who gave me advice on my other post). Because of all the changes lately (addition of inhaler, insulin, slight changes in food, vet visit, BG testing) my cat is very stressed. For the last few hours he has been hiding under the bed, and won't come out even for treats. He will eat a treat if I bring it to him. Tested him when he started hiding a few hours ago, and his BG levels were far from Hypo, so I don't think I'm concerned about that.

With how stressed he is right now, do you think it would be better to just skip his PMPS test and insulin? I don't want to drag him out from under the bed in an hour and a half just to scare him even more. He usually isn't like this at all. I was very concerned earlier that he was hypo due to me giving him an extra .25u in his shot this morning (I realize I shouldn't have done that).

I was planning on starting a transition to wet food tonight, maybe I should give him some wet food so he gets some water? He has been drinking a lot lately due to the FD, but I'm concerned that he hasn't come out for water in a few hours. I put a bowl under the bed with him but he doesn't seem interested.

I'm heavily leaning towards skipping the dose, but I would really like the insight of some people before I do anything, his behavior is making me nervous, but I think he is just scared. I know more about how to help him be less scared in the future from the helpful people in my other post, but I really need advice on how to help him right now.

Thank you

Shelley & Jess likes this.
  2. Nick & Binx

Nick & Binx Member