Should I shoot?

Sweet Tango

Member Since 2019
Hi everyone. I am new to this board and just started giving insulin less than a week ago. (l will be filling out the profile today). My cat is due for his shot in about 5 minutes. I pre-tested him before he ate, and his number is 210. Super happy, as that's the lowest I've seen it, but I'm nervous to shoot. I'm only giving him .5 units of Lantus, but I don't want to shoot if it's too low? Can anyone advise? Thank you.
 
Hi there and welcome to the forum!

That is a nice safe number to shoot. We usually say for newbies not to shoot anything under 150. Can you get a test 1 hour after you shoot and then again 2 hours after you shoot since this is the lowest number you have shot.

If the 2 hours later test ( we call that the +2) is lower than the pre shot number then the cycle could be active and you might need to test again.

Please post if you need more guidance.

We would like to see you set up a Spread Sheet and a signature like the rest of us have so we can help you with dosing.
 
Thank you for your response. I am going to set up my signature, spreadsheet etc. today. I literally just started giving him his injections this past week, and I think it messed up the first few. Yesterday was the first actual day that I actually was able to give him his injections twice daily (every 12 hours). I will shoot, but I am extremely nervous, as I cannot monitor him throughout the day. Are you sure?
 
Normally, that would be a safe number to shoot but since you are saying that yesterday was the first time he got 2 injections, one each 12 cycle and you can't monitor at all, safety first.
 
If you are uncomfortable shooting, then skipping the shot is fine as long as there is no history of ketones or DKA. Since this is the lowest pre-shot you've had, better to be safe than sorry if you cannot monitor.
 
For the remainder of the day. Won't be back for several hours. His shot was suposed to be at 12:30 eastern. It's now 1:00. I could still give him a drop. Not sure.
 
MrWorf, no history of keytones or DKA and would like it to stay that way - lol :) It's now half hour past his shot time.
 
If your gut tells you not to shoot, don't....but .5 with a AMPS of 200+ is usually safe to do. If you leave lots of extra food down, will she eat it? (some cats don't eat unless their hoomin is home)

Next time you get a PS you're not sure about shooting, stall, DON'T feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the number comes up without the influence of food
 
Have you been getting mid cycle tests to know how low BG has dropped in the past? Without knowing how low a dose is taking BG, I'd opt to skip today when you cannot monitor.
 
I haven't been doing mid cycle tests. I only do a pre-shot test to see if I should shoot. I guess I need to start doing mid cycle tests. My poor baby isn't going to have any ears left.
 
I haven't been doing mid cycle tests. I only do a pre-shot test to see if I should shoot. I guess I need to start doing mid cycle tests. My poor baby isn't going to have any ears left.
Oh, he will. Without getting some mid cycle test, you won't know how low the insulin is taking him and whether he needs a reduction or an increase. Plus it helps to keep Tango safe. :cat:
 
Back
Top