Should I or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.
@Jenna Josie

Can you share where you found the U-40 syringes (a website, business name or link) so I can check them out? I'm trying to get my supplies from as few vendors as possible so I can more easily keep track and then reorder quickly when needed.

Hi. Sorry, I just saw this. We got them online through adwdiabetes.com. I think they were around $15 for a box of 100. Ulticare vetRx. 3/10cc. 29 gauge. 12.7 mm length.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Esi
Hi. Sorry, I just saw this. We got them online through adwdiabetes.com. I think they were around $15 for a box of 100. Ulticare vetRx. 3/10cc. 29 gauge. 12.7 mm length.

Thank you! Question: someone wrote in the reviews that the needles are huge. "Like sticking my cat with a harpoon!" Do you think they're huge? Any issues using them?
 
Thank you! Question: someone wrote in the reviews that the needles are huge. "Like sticking my cat with a harpoon!" Do you think they're huge? Any issues using them?

No, though I don’t really have anything to compare them to. These needles are the same capacity, gauge, and length as the full-unit-markings syringes the vet gave us when Josie was first diagnosed.

We shoot while she’s eating, and nine times out of ten, she doesn’t even notice. I think the two tricks are inserting the syringe at a 45 degree angle and, most importantly, making sure that the bevel is facing up so that the sharp point is what’s penetrating the skin first. (Also, now that her weight is back up, we use the “roll” vs the “tent” method for pulling her skin up.)

Someone else with more knowledge and experience may have other thoughts, but this gauge doesn’t feel like a harpoon to us!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Esi
I use syringes of this gauge and needle length and have no problem. Yes to making sure the bevel is facing up and make your poke quick and sure. Occasionally you might feel a little skin resistance but push past it. :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Esi
Thank you. The syringes I am currently using have a very thin needle. I never even noticed a bevel/sharp point but Hemi has flinched a bit, a few times, while getting stuck. I went and used a magnifying glass and sure enough, there is a bevel! lol

I'll have to look up this "roll" technique. Never heard of it.

I'll be ordering them. Thanks again.
 
Thank you. The syringes I am currently using have a very thin needle. I never even noticed a bevel/sharp point but Hemi has flinched a bit, a few times, while getting stuck. I went and used a magnifying glass and sure enough, there is a bevel! lol

I'll have to look up this "roll" technique. Never heard of it.

I'll be ordering them. Thanks again.
Here's a tip I learned online a long time ago: hold the syringe needle under a bright light and rotate it until you see the light reflecting off that flat bevel. Take a Sharpie marker and make a little mark on the barrel below that flat side near the needle (but not ON it of course, on the barrel plastic) so you have a visual guide when you're injecting. That makes keeping the bevel side up easy peasy.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Esi
Here's a tip I learned online a long time ago: hold the syringe needle under a bright light and rotate it until you see the light reflecting off that flat bevel. Take a Sharpie marker and make a little mark on the barrel below that flat side near the needle (but not ON it of course, on the barrel plastic) so you have a visual guide when you're injecting. That makes keeping the bevel side up easy peasy.

GREAT IDEA!!! I already use readers and fill under light but never noticed the beveled edge before. I will definately do this. Thank you! :cat:
 
Not sure if I should post this here but figured since some of the info shared here pertaining to Hemi might be useful, I'd go ahead.

I increased Hemi's insulin by .25 this AM, after 6 cycles @ .50. I have been feeding him FF 3 times per day and Friskys once, in the evening.

Last night and now again this morning, he has vomited but in addition this AM, he also has diarrhea. I noticed a dark (blackish/gray) spot on the carpet and it smelled kind of irony (sp?) or like a tin can. I always take the wet food out of the can and never store it in the can but there have been some food changes he may not be used to.

I have been feeding all three of cats essentially the same wet food but what is new to them, is liver. I have been splitting one can of FF classic chicken and liver between the three of them every day at lunch time, along with a can of regular FF classic chicken. They all gobble it up! Other than that, though, nothing else has changed.

Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions for what I can do or give him that might help?
 
Has he had bouts of diarrhea before? Or is this new? Of the four feedings/day, you just changed the food for one of them? I'm wondering what proportion of their food has changed recently: 1/4? 1/2? more? less?
 
Has he had bouts of diarrhea before? Or is this new? Of the four feedings/day, you just changed the food for one of them? I'm wondering what proportion of their food has changed recently: 1/4? 1/2? more? less?

No, no diarrhea before. Loose, yes. But nothing like this. He's leaking this blackish/gray, metallic smelling liquid. I believe It's feces because I cleaned him up and there was definately diarrhea occurring.

Well, I went from a mostly dry diet to 100% wet. I have never fed liver before so thought I'd try the FF chic/liver and they all love it so I started feeding it once per day, over the past few days. The metallic smell is what makes me wonder if the problem is the change in diet+liver?
 
It could be the liver. You transitioned away from dry food long enough ago that that seems unlikely as the culprit. My concern is that it's Friday and you're going into the weekend when it's harder to see a vet. Any chance you can call your vet and get their thoughts?
 
Called and spoke with the vet tech. She said yes, the liver may be the culprit and to just remove that from his diet. They are open til noon tomorrow so thankfully, if he doesn't improve, I can take him in.

Thanks again, @Djamila
 
Hemi's BG has barely changed since yesterday PMPS w/out insulin shot. 172/174.

He was not feeling well (diarrhea/vomiting in the am) and only ate a little bit afterward so I decided to let him rest and forego testing/insulin.

He's feeling a little better this am but still a bit cranky and tired. He went right back to lay down after he ate about 1/2 of what he normally does.

Not sure what to do? Shoot the .75, Shoot a lower unit#? Or let him be until pm shot?
 
I'd be concerned if he's not feeling well, not eating well and not getting insulin. That can be a recipe for ketone development. Are you testing his urine for ketones with human strips from the pharmacy? I strongly recommend you start today. If he's no better by this afternoon I'd call the vet for advice. There's little margin for error with a diabetic kitty.

Re insulin: he needs it so I'd try a small dose of 0.5 u. If he eats even a teaspoon or two of food by insulin onset (+2 to +3) he should be OK.

In case you haven't seen this:

Here are some tips on how to do urine ketone testing (VERY important if BG is high and kitty isn't eating well!):
  • put the end of the test strip right in his urine stream as he's peeing
  • slip a shallow, long handled spoon under his backside to catch a little pee - you don't need much
  • put a double layer of plastic wrap over his favourite part of the litter box and poke some depressions in it too catch pee.
Most test strips have to be dipped and allowed to develop for 15 seconds before viewing the colour change in very good light.
 
I'd be concerned if he's not feeling well, not eating well and not getting insulin. That can be a recipe for ketone development. Are you testing his urine for ketones with human strips from the pharmacy? I strongly recommend you start today. If he's no better by this afternoon I'd call the vet for advice. There's little margin for error with a diabetic kitty.

Re insulin: he needs it so I'd try a small dose of 0.5 u. If he eats even a teaspoon or two of food by insulin onset (+2 to +3) he should be OK.

In case you haven't seen this:

Here are some tips on how to do urine ketone testing (VERY important if BG is high and kitty isn't eating well!):
  • put the end of the test strip right in his urine stream as he's peeing
  • slip a shallow, long handled spoon under his backside to catch a little pee - you don't need much
  • put a double layer of plastic wrap over his favourite part of the litter box and poke some depressions in it too catch pee.
Most test strips have to be dipped and allowed to develop for 15 seconds before viewing the colour change in very good light.

Thank you. Hemi is doing better. Eating. No vomiting or diarrhea today. I only have glucose strips right now but have ketone strips on my list.

I gave him .50 after PMPS of 207. He ate well. Now it seems he may be constipated. :blackeye: I followed him to the litter box after he ate this evening and he couldn't move his bowels.

Can you or anyone else suggest something I can give him? Olive oil maybe? (Works for me but not sure if It's safe for kitties.) I have been adding some water to his wet food but he turns away from it if I add too much so can only add a couple of teaspoons.
 
Oil is not recommended for cats. Miralax is probably your best bet at this point. Some folks give a teaspoon of plain canned pumpkin (make sure pumpkin is the only ingredient)

Add extra water to the food every day to help keep things moving for him.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Esi
Oh wait! wasn't he just having diarrhea? It can take a day or two for them to poop again after a couple rounds of diarrhea. You may just need to keep an eye on him and make sure he poops tomorrow.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Esi
Oh wait! wasn't he just having diarrhea? It can take a day or two for them to poop again after a couple rounds of diarrhea. You may just need to keep an eye on him and make sure he poops tomorrow.

The diarrhea was more "leaking" a wet, dark, metallic substance than actually pooping. There wasn't much of it but it wasn't recognizable as any type of excrement. I really think, after watching him, it may be constipation.
 
That paragraph also cautions that it's akin to giving them Vaseline. It can help, but it's not a great treatment.

felineconstipation.org is a great website if you believe constipation is the issue. They also list oilive oil as a home remedy option:

Olive oil – Technically a cholagogue (see Glossary), not a lubricant laxative, olive oil has mild laxative properties when a larger dose is given. A larger dose for a cat is a small amount! For a mild bout of constipation, a quarter teaspoonful of olive oil can be given for acute treatment but cats require animal fat sources, not plant oils, so olive oil is not suitable for ongoing care. Olive oil contains terpenic acids and phenolic compounds which a cat's liver is not able to properly detoxify.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Esi
Thank you for that explanation, @Djamila. I am currently without transportation and the nearest store is 8 miles away. Was just hoping to find something to use that I have at home. I think I'll try a little bit of olive oil just this one time, to see if it helps him.
 
It doesn't sound like occasional use will hurt. If you're looking at solutions you might already have at home, I believe a very small amount of egg yolk also acts as a laxative. There are tons of threads around here about constipation. If you search in Main or the Lantus/Lev forum, you'll find lots of discussion about home remedies that might be helpful to you. It's a fairly common problem around here!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Esi
AMPS 136. He ate nearly 1/2 can of FF w/ approx. 1 tsp pumpkin. Seems to be feeling okay but still constipated. Wondering if I should give him .50 insulin, .25 (or as close as I can get w/ u40 syringe w/o 1/2 markings) or not shoot?

I am going to be home with him all day to keep an eye on him.
 
I think I’d do 0.25 (as best you can). That should be little enough to keep him in safe numbers but still get a bit in him since you can monitor and he ate something.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top