Should I lower insulin dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MonicaT

Active Member
Usually give our kitty 2 units caninsulin morning and evening. Last night her BG was 14.3 when we gave 2 units and 2,5 hours later it had gone down to 1.3.

Should we reduce the dose this morning?? Her BG is coming in at 15.1.
 
Usually give our kitty 2 units caninsulin morning and evening. Last night her BG was 14.3 when we gave 2 units and 2,5 hours later it had gone down to 1.3.

Should we reduce the dose this morning?? Her BG is coming in at 15.1.
Yes I would lower the dose to 1.5 units.
Monica, we really need you to keep the SS updated if we are going to be able to help you with dosing. :)
 
Will try to get her tested for ketones again today as we haven't managed the last couple of days.

I just tested again 15min ago and it's 20.5, still 4,5 hours to go til her next insulin dose so I expect the number will continue to increase. Already worried about if it's the right decision to give 1.5 units like I did last night or go for 2 units again like we have been giving.
 
Mia is most likely bouncing from the low numbers yesterday so don’t rush back to a higher dose. Give it time for the bounce to settle. This can take up to three days. And you would not go back to 2 units as we have seen it drops the BG too low.
 
@MonicaT
I noticed on your spreadsheet you have
History of DKA/Ketones: Yes/On Diagnosis
And
Date of DKA: OCT 1, 2024
Please add this to your signature, it's important members are aware of this
 
Mia is most likely bouncing from the low numbers yesterday so don’t rush back to a higher dose. Give it time for the bounce to settle. This can take up to three days. And you would not go back to 2 units as we have seen it drops the BG too low.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) After learning about bouncing I have stuck to the 1.5 U after reducing the dose yesterday morning, and seems to be working perfectly. Will make sure not to adjust the dose again until 3-4 days have passed ☺️
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA Yes, she had ketones on diagnosis. I just tried adding the information you requested on my signature, but I am getting an error saying that it is too long?
@MonicaT
I see you fit on your signature

Ketones at diagnosis, but was she in DKA or just ketones ?
If it was just ketones then I see you were able to fit it
I'm only asking because on your spreadsheet you said up top
Date of DKA: OCT 1, 2024

If Mia wasn't in DKA remove that from your spreadsheet and just leave about the ketones
@MonicaT
 
Last edited:
@MonicaT
I see you fit on your signature

Ketones at diagnosis, but was she in DKA or just ketones ?
If it was just ketones then I see you were able to fit it
I'm only asking because on your spreadsheet you said up top
Date of DKA: OCT 1, 2024

If Mia wasn't in DKA remove that from your spreadsheet and just leave about the ketones
@MonicaT

@Diane Tyler's Mom GA Yes, the Ketones at diagnosis was already in my signature. I am not 100% sure if she was in DKA, but considering the ketone levels were so high for several days in a row and her potassium levels went very low and she has had to have potassium supplements through IV, I have assumed this was caused by DKA.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top