Should I increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fievel

Member Since 2013
I understand the basics of bounce and know from what I have read here that I should probably not increase him but at just one unit his numbers last night broke 400 and I just tested him at +7, which according to my understanding should be when he should be at his lowest, and he is higher than his preshot number. So I was wondering if I should give him an extra half unit and bring it up to 1.5 if he breaks or gets near 400 again tonight preshot? I still have hours to go before it is time and he is already almost at 300. Also am I correct in assuming that his morning numbers are going to be fairly low because of not eating for most of the night? And if so should I try 1.5 in the morning and only do 1 unit at night until he stabilizes at under 350 preshot?
 
1) Increases are in 0.25 unit amounts unless you have a high dose cat AND data to support bigger jumps.

2) You have to ride out the bounce. It takes up to 3 days. Just be patient! (Deb will get you some patience pants - what color do you like?)
 
Oh yes, the lending closet is open and well stocked with patience pants.

Rainbow ones?

I'll take a wild guess and try to choose your favorite color.

How about green patience pants? :lol: :lol: :lol:



Yes, it's hard to be patience and give the Lantus insulin depot time to build up and see the full effects of the dose. Patience grasshopper.
 

Attachments

  • rainbow jeans.png
    rainbow jeans.png
    46.4 KB · Views: 297
  • Green denim patience pants.jpg
    Green denim patience pants.jpg
    6.7 KB · Views: 292
Looking at your preshot numbers from 12/3, it looks like patience did pay off. With preshots in the 100s, its especially a good idea to try to get a mid-cycle number to see how low Cuddles is going. It's the mid-cycle measure that is you best info about the appropriateness of the dose.
 
Nice blue pre shots. I second what Venita says though - you need to see how low he is going. Even a before bed test would be useful if you aren't home.
 
Hello, I am a new subscriber and not familiar with how this site works. I took my cat to the vet because he was looking & feeling listless. I knew he wasn't feeling well. He is diabetic for a few years and I have been giving him 5 units of insulin. They did a blood test & his glucose test results was 39 which I learned is very very low. They gave him an I.V. of fluids because he was dehydraded and wasn't eating. I was instructed to give him Nutri-Cal Oral Gel which is a High-Calorie Nutritional Supplement in order to increase his glucose level.For a few days now I have been getting very High readings of glucose (375,273) which I was told over 200 I should go back to giving him the 5 units, which I do. I am still getting high glucose testing. My question is SHOULD I INCREASE THE DOSEAGE AND BY HOW MUCH, to get him to a more normal level ? What is a nornal glucose level for a cat? When I call my Vet, all I get is a recording and they never return my calls. Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you in advance. Sincerely, Rocco
 
Rocco, your post will get lost at the end of this thread. I'll start a new topic with your name so you can get responses just for you and your cat. Look for one with your name and a star next to it.
 
You shoud start a new topic. On the Health Forum Index page there is a button in the ner upper left the says New Topic. Click on that at start a new topic. You can copy the post from here.
Now to your case, I would start with 1 unit twice daily, not go up to 5 right away.
Normal blood glucose is about 70 to 150

rocco8 said:
Hello, I am a new subscriber and not familiar with how this site works. I took my cat to the vet because he was looking & feeling listless. I knew he wasn't feeling well. He is diabetic for a few years and I have been giving him 5 units of insulin. They did a blood test & his glucose test results was 39 which I learned is very very low. They gave him an I.V. of fluids because he was dehydraded and wasn't eating. I was instructed to give him Nutri-Cal Oral Gel which is a High-Calorie Nutritional Supplement in order to increase his glucose level.For a few days now I have been getting very High readings of glucose (375,273) which I was told over 200 I should go back to giving him the 5 units, which I do. I am still getting high glucose testing. My question is SHOULD I INCREASE THE DOSEAGE AND BY HOW MUCH, to get him to a more normal level ? What is a nornal glucose level for a cat? When I call my Vet, all I get is a recording and they never return my calls. Any help would be much appreciated. Thank you in advance. Sincerely, Rocco
 
Fievel - what kind of treats are you giving? If its freeze dried chicken like many of us feed here, it shouldn't spike the blood sugar.

Great numbers yesterday.

Wendy
 
Those Pounce Moist Treats have Wheat Flour as the first ingredient and also contain soybean flour. Both those ingredients have carbs so they may be spiking your cats BG (blood glucose) levels.

Here is a list of low carb healthy treats to try. It's from a post over in the Health Links forum.

Basically, anything that is pure protein would be better than the treats you are feeding, and pure protein would not spike the BG's.
 
I would stop those. My cats BG spike when they get as little as 1 teaspoon of dry a day and stay high for a good 24 hours afterward. So instead i feed freeze dried chicken and they love it!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top