Should I increase or decrease insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.
hello everyone. i recently switched to all wet food (no more dry!). initially i saw a significant change and was in the blue for a couple of days. then the darn battery in the meter died and wasn't able to test. finally got new batteries and the numbers are very different. fluffy's her BG PS was in 200s then at +4 it was in low 300s. that held pretty steady until this mornings PS. i gave her 1u this morning and will continue to test (get more in-between numbers), just not quite sure what i should be doing. any suggestions?
 
I would encourage you to post on the PZI forum also. It is busiest in the am and pm. People generally post their numbers for that day and get advice.

Her numbers are a little confusing. Some of her cycles on one unit look flat or inverse, which might suggest too much insulin. She got a lower am preshot on 1.5 this am which might suggest she went low overnight.

I hope you can test some today. Normally we suggest that a new diabetic not give insulin under 200, but wait to make sure the number is going up and then shoot a reduced dose. I would get a test mid cycle today just to be sure her numbers are in a safe range.

The more data you can get, the clearer the picture will become and the more we can help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top