do I still have window to give insulin at 7 instead of 6
Yes they are very affordable for unfortunately Walmart is the last place I wanted to be tonightI have responded to a lot of threads this week. You can get very inexpensive test strips online. I think the Relion strips are cheap already. Just saying.
Could I do a curve starting at 6a through 6p? It’s a thought. Maybe after the holidays when things calm downThe amount of testing can vary depending on where you are in trying figure out a dose. When you try a new dose it's a good idea to do PS of course but also a mid cycle in the day and a bedtime test at night. If you're seeing some nicer numbers with these you might want to do a curve at that dose on a day off to get a fuller picture.
When you decide to do a curve you test BG at AM as normal and then every 2 hours until the usual PM pre shot. When I do/did them, I'd feed lunch right after one of the curve tests so there would be a gap of two hours with no food before the next curve test.Could I do a curve starting at 6a through 6p? It’s a thought. Maybe after the holidays when things calm down
Jeff, with marmalade insulin being an hour later I just noticed that I,put it in the +1 column of PMPS. Should I change it and put in the regular PMPS column?+1 hour is fine. Go ahead. I do not dose if it is +1.5 or more. And at that point, I dose just a little less. You could do a smaller dose like 1.25 to feel safer.
If you follow the dosing scale that would be a 1.5. But, if you will be around to test you could try 1.75.BG 247 this morning, would it be to give 1.75 units, per dosing scale?
Let's cut the difference and try 1.25? Can you get a test at +4PMPS BG 228, would that be 1 unit or the same at 1.5?
Hi janet, I was thinking 1.25 also. I am also loving,these numbers, maybe we can get marmalade into remission eventually that is. I can defiantly do a +4 tonight. Marmalade is still scratching occasionally so I’ve decided to cut out the fish out and stuck with mainly chicken and beef classics fancy feast.Let's cut the difference and try 1.25? Can you get a test at +4
Try itHi janet, I was thinking 1.25 also. I am also loving,these numbers, maybe we can get marmalade into remission eventually that is. I can defiantly do a +4 tonight. Marmalade is still scratching occasionally so I’ve decided to cut out the fish out and stuck with mainly chicken and beef classics fancy feast.
* I also bought some friskies pates tonight, would I be going backwards if I wanted to try it for a day to see if the scratching stops, I welcome any thoughts
Not bad. Next time its over 200 let's stuck to 1.5. I don't think the 1.25 was quite enough.Just did BG @ 10 was 214
Janet can you please post marmalades sliding scale again, I will get confused. Thank y. You have 250-280 1.5 units. Thank you againNot bad. Next time its over 200 let's stuck to 1.5. I don't think the 1.25 was quite enough.
Yes I know, but I think when it's 200-280 lets keep it at 1.5Janet can you please post marmalades sliding scale again, I will get confused. Thank y. You have 250-280 1.5 units. Thank you again
so the insulin will be four hours late tonight? are you going to adjust it back gradually over the next few days? I would let her feed him at 6 if he's hungry.Hi folks:
I need some direction because my daily routine has changed today and I will be working at marmalades normal meal time which is 6 pm. I know I have asked this before but wanted to what is best for him. I have two main questions:
* so fat today marmalade has had 2 3oz. Cans of fancy feast. One at 6 a and 1 at 3p.
* should I get another reading on him just before I leave at 3?
* should I double up on his food when I get home around 10 and do insulin then per janet’s sliding scale? I’m not sure my daughter who is 13 can get a reading on him.
* should I have my daughter feed him at 6, then when I get home around 10 I can give him another can of food and do his insulin?
* SS just updated
Yes insulin will be 4 hours late. I don’t think that my daughter would be able to get a reading on him at his 6p feeding timeso the insulin will be four hours late tonight? are you going to adjust it back gradually over the next few days? I would let her feed him at 6 if he's hungry.
Four hours is a big change to compensate for time wise. Skipping the evening dose is simplest.How should I adjust it back over the next couple of days? Should I just skip his 6p dose tonight permhis latest number on SS?
kYes I know, but I think when it's 200-280 lets keep it at 1.5
Janet. Ugh to my surprise the missed dose of insulin this past Saturday only affected his BG this morning, Sunday, a little bit. I was almost in the yellow this morning. Oops was in the yellow (AMPS) and purple in the evening at his PMPS. Not badI agree, I'd just skip with it THAT far off.
Occasionally one can see evidence of some carryover of Vetsulin effect into the next cycle. (It can be quite subtle.)Vetsulin does not have a residual effect like the other insulins
Do u think by looking at his SS he could possible go into remissionVetsulin does not have a residual effect like the other insulins (Lantus, Levemir, Prozinc). Maybe the BG will be a bit high.
It might be a good idea to jot down the current sliding dose "chart". When I had Theresa doing dosing, we had written instructions posted next to the insulin supplies.
.