?Should I increase 2/25 Thomas AMPS 385

Hi, I tried to do a curve today. I missed a couple. Is this enough info to change insulin amount?
I'm no expert but it does look like Thomas needs an increase.
You are holding that dose too long
Anyway you can get more tests in during the day and night cycles?
From the SLGS sticky
SLGS you hold a dose for a week, then evaluate by running a curve, although getting random spot checks when you can during that week really helps to fill in the missing pieces.

From the SLGS dosing method sticky:

After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
@Jenn ~ Thomas
 
In order to use SLGS effectively, you need to be getting at least 4 tests per day. You need the AMPS and PMPS which you are doing well with getting. You also need one additional test during both the AM and PM cycles. Lantuds dosing is based on the nadir, not on the pre-shot values. I would strongly encourage you to get a "before bed" test every, single day. You have no idea if Thomas is in safe numbers during the PM cycle and there are many days when there's no way to know if he's in low numbers during the AM cycle. Testing is the only way to know how insulin is effecting your cat.

I'm hesitant to suggest that you increase Thomas' dose unless you are able to get additional tests on a routine basis.
 
I just did a +4 and it was 325. Is it best to get a +10 or 11 to get a better picture?

My before bed test would be a +3. I have to get good sleep and relax my body to be able to function the next day.

Im just very confused. If his number went down to say 100 at some point during the night, but still has the high numbers at the amps and amps how can the dose be doing any good? I thought the goal is to have him 50 and below at all times.
 
I just did a +4 and it was 325. Is it best to get a +10 or 11 to get a better picture?

My before bed test would be a +3. I have to get good sleep and relax my body to be able to function the next day.

Im just very confused. If his number went down to say 100 at some point during the night, but still has the high numbers at the amps and amps how can the dose be doing any good? I thought the goal is to have him 50 and below at all times.

@Bandit's Mom can explain it better than me
 
Back
Top