Should I give T his shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & T

Member Since 2013
I am new to reading the blood sugars... I DON'T want him to drop to 37 like he did a couple of weeks ago. You can look at his SS, but, basically: I fed him 1/2 can of Fancy Feast about an hour ago and just tested his BG (I was going to give him another 1/2 can and a shot). His BG is 165.

Should I go ahead and give him his shot or hold it?

THANKS!
 
We usually tell new diabetics not to shoot under 200. Because you have fed him, that will raise his bg levels so the 165 may be food influenced - another reason to skip.

You do need to test, then feed and shoot. If you feed him an hour before you test and then shoot, the number isn't a "true" number but is influenced by the food he has eaten. You can give a tiny bit if he is anxious in the am, then test right away and be assured your number is accurate.
 
Thank you, Sue!

This was the first morning I fed him before testing... things were chaotic here this morning and I wanted to give him some food. I was surprised to see the number so low after eating.
 
Thats a nice number. Can you get a mid cycle test today to see what he does next without the insulin?

We usually recommend you don't feed for 2 hours before the shot. That way the pre shot number isn't influenced by food. Then if you do see a lowish number you can wait 30 minutes (don't feed , don't shoot) and test again. If the number is rising naturally then you are good to shoot. This is called stalling.

Maybe read this too: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Wendy
 
Hi Wendy,

Thanks, and thanks for the link to that info. His BG is at 256 22 hours after his last shot (at 9PM last night). I am going to test him again in 3-4 hours to see where it is at before giving him a PM shot.

Now this is where I get confused: if it is still around 256 in 3-4 hours, do I go ahead and give him the 1.5 units I've been giving him? (Lantus)
 
yes. You skipped his morning shot so drained the depot a little and may see the impact of that over the next few days. For example tonite he may be high.

If he is over 200 tonite shoot. If he is over 175, consider shooting and testing again in 2-3 hours - shooting low. If under 175, skip.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top