Should I give my cat her nightly insulin shot? It is low.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linette

Member Since 2021
My cat's glucose is is 72 before the insulin shot. should I give her the insulin shot? I don't know what to do.
 
I am way too new to give any advice, especially since I use Prozinc, BUT the sticky below states that if the BG is under 150 for preshot you skip the dose. That's a real low preshot.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

You may want to change the title of your post...add "HELP" to the title, write "preshot 72" or something like that. Hopefully someone that knows that insulin can come on to help soon.
 
My cat's glucose is is 72 before the insulin shot. should I give her the insulin shot? I don't know what to do.


Hi, you are new to this, so of course you did the right to skip the p.m insulin at 72.
I saw you gave 1 U in the morning and lowered to 0.5 U the next evening. Safe from hypos comes first.

But what I also see in your SS is that you don't do any +3 hrs, +6 hrs, + 9 hrs spot checks throughout the days. If you do a few, it will help you build up more bg data and experience and help give yourself wiser guidance in the management.
 
Hi Linette, :)
Did you read the information we gave you in your introduction posts? I would print it off so you can have it to look at each day.
We gave you a lot of information about what to do following having a kitty with DKA.
If you get a low preshot you need to stall, dont feed and post and ask for help.
With DKA in the picture it is not a good idea to skip doses.
I understand this is all very new to you, but there are a few things that you need to do to help Danna get back to good health.

I think you should reduce the dose to 0.5 units and give that dose twice a day to see if you can shoot both cycles. It is really important we find a dose that you can give and don’t have to skip the dose. You risk ketones reappearing if you skip doses

Are you giving lots of food during the day and evening as food helps stop the ketones as well. Looking at the SS you look as if you are feeding lots of food which is great!! Well done!
Also give her extra fluids.

Are you able to get some tests in during the cycles? The dose is based on the lowest point in the cycles so it is important to be able to see how low the dose is taking Danna.
If you could get at least 1 test in each morning and even cycle, that will help us a lot in determining what dose is best and safest.

Are you testing daily for ketones? This is also really important as it will tell us if she is getting enough food and enough insulin and preventing the ketones coming back.
Please post each day so we can help you get Danna back to good health!:)
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top