Should I give insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pumpkins mom

Member Since 2012
Pumpkin actually tested at 186 preshot tonight. He has only been on Lantus since 1/13. We switched from Humulin N. (I actually figured out to post his spreadsheet). I think I read somewhere on this site that you should not give insulin if the BG is under 200. Is that what everyone follows? Pumpkin is getting 1 1/2 units. Should I give maybe less or none tonight? I'd really appreciate some help. Thanks!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

For those Lantus users who are new and posting on the Health board, the recommendation is to not shoot numbers under 200 and to post and ask for help. On the Lantus board, we use 150 as our "post and ask for help" number.

I'm glad to see you're now shooting the same dose at AM and PM. Are your able to get at least one test during both the AM and PM cycles in addition to your pre-shot tests? Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on pre-shot numbers so getting spot checks is important.

If you are going to shoot this evening, in case you need them, do you have strips and high carb food and can you monitor?
 
Thanks for your reply. Unfortunately I am at work all day and don't get home til 7pm, so I cannot spot check during the AM cycle. I can spot test at night and on weekends though. I will test him in a bit and see how he is and I can give him some high carb food if necessary. Thanks for your info. I am learning a lot here.
 
Here is our sticky on Dealing with Low Preshots.

I wouldn't skip the shot completely if you can avoid it. Better choices would be to either go ahead and shoot and get some tests tonight to get data on how he does with lower preshots, or wait 1/2 hour (without feeding) and test again and see if he is rising. As Sienne said, we don't tend to worry too much with preshots in this range, but since this is lower than you usually shoot you do want to be able to get some tests, starting with +2.
 
Welcome Pumpkin's Mom!

I'm a relative newbie myself, and one of the things I've learned is (typically) not to feed kitty in an effort to get their preshot numbers up. You can read about why not to do this in the "How to Handle Low Pre-Shot Numbers" sticky in this forum.

While you're not exactly at a low number by the tight regulation standards, it's a helpful thing to read before you're in the situation!

Good luck and way to go on the blue preshot, Pumpkin!
 
Thanks for the warm welcome everyone! It is great to know you guys are out there! I gave Pumpkin the shot and I will check him at +2. I am really hoping that the Lantus will do the trick, since the Humulin was such a rollercoaster.
 
Give the Lantus time to do it's work. It's a very different insulin than Humulin and you will have to re-think how you approach dosing. I'd encourage you to read the starred sticky notes at the top of the Board to help you get oriented to Lantus.

Please let us know if you have questions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top