Should i give insulin?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mizuniful

Member Since 2017
Spork is normally in the 200s or 300s all day, pre shot or not. The lowest he has ever tested was 210. This mornings AMPS was 150 (alphatrak 202)!! He hasnt eaten since i gave him his shot last night, which isnt what i usually do. Could that be affecting it?

My vet gave me an alphatrak to do a full curve today so id feel nad changing the numbers but i also dont want to put him in hypo. I will be home monitoring him all day though and i do have syrup.

Full shot? Half shot? No shot?
 
Hey Mizuniful, yes it is possible him not eating usual amount could be the reason for lower AMPS. If you weren't going to be home I probably would have suggested skipping as well since this is your first <200 PS. Since you are home AND doing a curve he should be OK and you're there to steer him :) . Do you have the Hypo information just in case? You should start a thread on Prozinc forum for Spork :cat:
Good luck with the curve!
 
Oh no :( hes at 91 on a human meter at +2. I just gave him 1/2can of leftover WD hoping that will bring him up a bit..

I do have the hypo info, thank you.
 
1/2 can might be too much, if he didn't eat it all, take it up. You don't want him to fill up in case he needs to eat some more later. Get another test in from 20 minutes after +2, figuring he has eaten some more so let's see what it's doing. @Kris & Teasel @Djamila Will either of you be hanging around this morning? Spork may need some steering here. Mizuniful is home all day and monitoring. Gave 0.75U on a PS 150.
 
1/2 can might be too much, if he didn't eat it all, take it up. You don't want him to fill up in case he needs to eat some more later. Get another test in from 20 minutes after +2, figuring he has eaten some more so let's see what it's doing. @Kris & Teasel @Djamila Will either of you be hanging around this morning? Spork may need some steering here. Mizuniful is home all day and monitoring. Gave 0.75U on a PS 150.
I'll be leaving at around at the poster's +4. Let's see what the half can does. Retest in 20 minute intervals and post here. Have some gravy style food ready in case the BG gets to 50-ish. A little honey (1/8 tsp?) added to low carb food works too.
 
Looks like he's at 101 now. Think that's on her human meter, as was the 91. Hope she comes back online if she does need help.

She's put out some dry MD food. Mizuniful, I tagged a couple fellow Prozinc members to keep an eye on your SS today. Just keep in mind dry food takes longer to kick in, and remember don't let him fill up right now :bighug:
 
Oops, jinx! Well, on the bright side, I think if I can get him to solely eat canned food he won't need insulin! He didn't have dry food for 12 hours (since last PMPS to this AMPS) and I think that might be what caused the sudden drop. I didn't realize it at the time, and figured he was just hungry and it would go back up when he ate :(.
 
Oops, jinx! Well, on the bright side, I think if I can get him to solely eat canned food he won't need insulin! He didn't have dry food for 12 hours (since last PMPS to this AMPS) and I think that might be what caused the sudden drop. I didn't realize it at the time, and figured he was just hungry and it would go back up when he ate :(.
That would be great. Find a wet food they he likes as much as the dry and you could test it out. Carefully though. Don't want a repeat of these numbers.
Keep testing to make sure he's still going up. Another test in a half hour. 3 rising or surfing (since he's in the 100s) and he should be safe. Test again around +5 or +6 to see how he's doing.
 
He's up to 171 at +5. Should I expect another drop at nadir? I haven't really noticed a nadir trend previously, so I'm not sure. I also picked up the dry food again.

Also, I'm sure he's going to bounce after this, so do I give him his usual 1U of insulin? Skip? Or just see how it plays out at PMPS?

I did order some Dr. Elseys dry sometime last week and it should be here soon. I'll see if that brings down his number like this. If not, I'll stop dry all together.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top