Should i give Duke a full reduction, it will be his 3rd reduction in 1 week?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teetee (UK)

Member Since 2019
Hi everybody,
It's been a strange week with Duke's numbers and could really do with some help on this one.
A week ago he dropped very low AM so i brought him back up to normal numbers and dropped his dose from a 1.0F to 1.0S (roughly 0.25) and that went fine until a couple of days later when he dropped low again AM, so again i brought him back up into normal numbers and dropped his dose again to 0.75u.
Today his AM numbers have gone low again so i fed him 3g HC at AM+4.5, in hindsight i should have fed low or med carb food as he was nearing his nadir and he came up too quickly.
What i am asking is should i drop his dose again by 0.25u PM or should i just drop it slightly to say 0.75S or even leave it as it is? I just don't know what to do.
The dose dropping is a good thing i know that and i know he has earned another reduction but his preshots are still quite high even going into the yellows a lot and i'm concerned that by dropping his dose even more his preshots will rise even more due to running out of insulin in his body.
Oh, the reason that he's a lot higher PM is because the Clearlax (Miralax) raises his BG, as that's the only difference between AM and PM meals.
We have taken him of all supplements since early September on the vets advice (milk thistle, taurine and krill oil) because his Vit B12 blood tests have been of the scale since he was tested in early September and late October, (see Lab results on my spreadsheet) She does not want anything in his body that could influence the test results.
He had his quarterly bloods taken on Friday so hopefully his B12 will have come down.
Thanks,
Tee.
 
Yes I would reduce again. 50 is a pretty low number on an AlphaTrak, and we'll below the reduction point of 68. Also the fact you have to intervene with MC and HC means he needs a reduction. I would go to 0.5U.

I really don't think Miralax affects BG, why do you think that?

What are your feeding times?
 
Thanks Melissa @FrostD
I have already given Duke his PM dose and opted for a fat 0.5U or 0.75 skinny which ever way you look at it and i will definitely drop it to 0.5U for his AM dose.
I can always increase the dose again if he starts to go up.
The reason i think that the Miralax affects his BG is because it's the only thing he has different, he has his breakfast of Sheba fine flakes and his supper is Sheba fine flakes with Miralax added and his BG is mostly always higher PM.
For his snacks he has about 5 grams of Sheba fine flakes at AM/PM +3,4,5 unless he's low and then it's all hand to the pump, treats are a piece of roast chicken each time i take his BG which total about 30 grams throughout the day and night. That's everything nothing else at all, so i'm assuming it's got to be the Miralax keeping him higher PM cycle.
 
I agree. 0.5. So nice to see him in these good numbers
Thanks Janet, @JanetNJ
I know great numbers apart from those horrible yellows that keep cropping up. :( :banghead:
We are resigned now to the fact that he will probably not go into remission but we keep going, he's such a calm gentle lad and never fusses unless he sees/smells his breakfast or supper then he's a little sod when i try to get a reading, ducking and diving all over wanting his meal lol.
 
Lol after all that i must have given him a fur shot as he's at 11.3 mmol (203 mg/dl) PM+3.
He was 10.7 mmol (193 mg/dl) PMPS.
:arghh:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top