Should I give a kitty with a reading below 100 his insulin shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Elizabeth! So glad you're here, and knew who else to tag on this.

Fyi, spreadsheet link isn't in the signature, but is in post #29 of this thread. Think it's pretty up-to-date...
Oh thank you Nan, I definitely overlooked that! In that case I'm going to edit my previous post to include it so Janet and Deb will see it. :)

Halo did a great job today (as did you!!). I would definitely give him some extra scritches for being such a good sport tonight.
 
Halo is doing a major bounce, from that low of 71 (tree green), and the extra low BG level of 53 (neon green).
That plus the skipped shot last night, is the likely cause of his high BG levels this AM, 10/9/20.
Blacks = bouncing in almost every instance I've seen.
Reds are nearly always bouncing too, but could be something else too.

I see you reduced the dose to 2.5U. Good idea.

Those Temptations and the metabolic treats are high in carbs, and can be contributing to the wild swings in the BG levels.

The most important test of the 12 hour dosing cycle, is the pre-shot test. That is so you know that Halo's BG levels are high enough to give him the full dose, stall without feeding, give a reduced shot, or skip the shot entirely. Dose adjustments are made based on the nadirs or lows during the cycle. So at least a few tests after the pre-shot will help you to narrow down when Halo has his nadir.

So do try to get those pre-shot tests on every cycle. Ok?
 
Halo is doing a major bounce, from that low of 71 (tree green), and the extra low BG level of 53 (neon green).
That plus the skipped shot last night, is the likely cause of his high BG levels this AM, 10/9/20.
Blacks = bouncing in almost every instance I've seen.
Reds are nearly always bouncing too, but could be something else too.

I see you reduced the dose to 2.5U. Good idea.

Those Temptations and the metabolic treats are high in carbs, and can be contributing to the wild swings in the BG levels.

The most important test of the 12 hour dosing cycle, is the pre-shot test. That is so you know that Halo's BG levels are high enough to give him the full dose, stall without feeding, give a reduced shot, or skip the shot entirely. Dose adjustments are made based on the nadirs or lows during the cycle. So at least a few tests after the pre-shot will help you to narrow down when Halo has his nadir.

So do try to get those pre-shot tests on every cycle. Ok?


Thank you! Will do. He is *really* sick of the testing, so tomorrow I will save it for before his shots. I appreciate your advice!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top