Should I feed yet?

Status
Not open for further replies.

LBlue54

Member Since 2014
Today the second day Ms. Sanut is on Lantus. She started out at 225 yesterday and ended the day with 239. After spending a week or so of fluctuating 300-500 on Novolin, I considered it a big success. I feed her normally at the amps/pmps with another meal in between. This morning her number was 54 and about 30 minutes later 48. Should I feed her or keep waiting or skip? She was previously on Humulin N/Novolin N and went into remission, but almost 2 weeks ago came out. I'm currently feeding her Fancy Feast (the lowest (3) in carbs/highest in protein). I'm about to test her again in about 15 minutes (1 hr mark). What should I do if it is in the same range and can I feed her?

Also, i'm giving her .75U.

+1 i at 57/60

I fed her but did not give her a shot. Is that Ok? I read something about waiting takes away from the deposit build up. Should I give her a smaller dose? Her first day she lowered to 200, but then I fed her and she steadily increased so I gave her the .75u again at +12.
 
I think you should skip this shot. You don't have enough data yet to shoot this low and we don't know how fast she was dropping. If you fed her and she came up to 57/60, then you could be shooting a food spike and she could come back down on you.

I'd like to look at more of her info; we might need to have you drop the dose back a bit.
 
She was at the 57/60 at the +1 mark and I fed her at the same time (+1). At +2 she is at 79. It worries me that she will be rising throughout the day. Her previous numbers (since she came out of remission) before Lantus were mostly in the 300-400 range, except for every other day being in the 100+. That was on Novolin, so I guess i'm still trying to feel out Lantus.

What if she goes to say 200+ by the +6 mark? Do I just let her keep rising until the +12 and then shoot her starting dose? I'm trying to test her every hour to collect data (2nd day).
 
I see you found your way here. You are in good hands. Disregard the post I wrote to you on the main forum.
 
Sorry...I had to deal with my own kitty who is dropping this morning :-D

Ok...so she was on insulin before?

Here's the thing....you can shoot now if you want (but I still need to check her info to see when she was originally dx, etc so we know if she is a long-term diabetic). So hold on just one more minute and let me check that and look again at her SS.

Also...can you be two hours behind on the shot and make it up no more than 30 mins a day? Unless she goes way up, then you can shoot early by an hour. But will stalling two hours put you way behind?

Please don't feed any more and I'll BRB.
 
Ok so she is not a long-term diabetic. Can you tell me who determined the starting dose for lantus? How much does she weigh and is she underweight? If she is not underweight, what is her ideal weight? Sorry to ask so many questions but I want to see if that 0.75u dose was the correct starting dose for lantus.

With the TR protocol we use in this forum, a 48 would earn a reduction.

Here's the biggest issue: when I went and checked your signature block, I see she is a newly dx diabetic and was only on Novolin a short amount of time. She hasn't been on lantus but two cycles and she's already dropping significantly. I'm assuming if she went into remission on Novolin, you have experience handling low numbers but I don't know. And Novolin and Lantus are very different. If a kitty has really low numbers on lantus, it can last for hours and hours even with feeding a higher carb food.

The other issue is that if we help you shoot a low number, we commit to staying with you until the kitty is safe and I'm very sorry but I'm not able to do that today. I know you don't want her to go up, and she likely will, but I still think the best option is to skip the shot and start again tonight. I can let you know what I think the dose should be after you send me the weight info. Again, my apologies that I can't stay with you and I don't see any of our other experienced members around to do so.
 
She was 8 lbs before i noticed she was losing weight two weeks ago (and drinking like crazy) and she is now 7 lbs. I used 7lbs and rounded down to .75 to be safe.
 
I would reduce her dose to 0.5u because she got a pretty big response to the Lantus after only two cycles. For newly diagnosed diabetics, a drop below 50 is where we reduce the dose.

Next time you need help quickly, it's best to put a more eye-catching subject line like "stalling need help" or if she's below 50 at shot time, you could even put the 911 button on and you will get quick attention. The next time,you might have enough data to shoot.

You were thinking very clearly today and did a good job. Stalling means no food unless kitty gets into the 40s. If that is the case, retest in 15 mins and if she is still in the 40s, feed one tsp of LC food.

So you were on top of it! :-D
 
Just want to add my welcome to Lantus/Lev Land! Looks like Ms. Sanut is having a great response to the Lantus.

Ask whatever questions you have - there are no dumb questions here, and we've all been in your shoes just learning and starting out. Sounds like you've already been reading the yellow- starred stickies. That super - there is lots of good information in there and you'll probably go back to them many times to reread.

Glad you found us!
 
Today is the 3rd day and at amps she was at 82. I was going to have to leave for a few hours so I didn't want to give her anything without being around her. I just tested her (now at her +3) and she is 115. Should I wait till this evening to shoot her? Taking your advice, I bumped her down to .5u. Yesterday, she climbed to 297 without an am shot. I read somewhere that the normal is 40-120 so I don't feel comfortable at the moment to give her anything if she is in that range. I'm getting confused because so far either amps or pmps she is doing ok, but the opposite at the +12 mark.
 
Welcome to FDMB - I've been keeping track of your posts and I want to reiterate what the others are saying - you're doing a great job responding to your kitty's needs. Great work!

You will want to start a new post each day, indicating date, cat's name, and blood glucose levels in the subject line. Within the body of your post, you can link your current post with your last day's post in case anyone wants to look back.

With regards to today's question about shooting, I can't really give advice as I'm too new to the board but I can tell you that if you shoot 3 hours later than your next shot must also be approximately 3 hours later, depending on the numbers. There is more flexibility if the cat's numbers are high at PMPS but this probably only allows you to shoot 1 hour earlier. Someone with more experience will hopefully come by and correct me if I'm wrong.

P.S. If you do start a new post for today with your shooting question, you'll want to tick the question mark box which alerts everyone that you have a question. You can also add shooting question in your subject line. I hope this is helpful.

Sincerely,
Anne
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top