Should I feed early, BG climbing

Status
Not open for further replies.

mary hornbeck

Active Member
hi everyone,
Please see SS for marmalade. His BG was great this morning so I skipped the insulin. He is consistently climbing to over 400bg, I am sure by 6 he will be in the black. To my surprise his BG went down before the 6p mark, see SS.
Update:
Per SS BG going down. Should I feed early so BG won’t spike between now, 5 p, and 6? Any feedback would be appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Didnt @JanetNJ give you a sliding dosing scale? I’ve never used vetsulin and so I would hesitate to tell you to shoot a 113. One thing to do when you get a low preshot number is to stall for 20 min with no food and retest. If the number is going up, you can shoot. With vetsulin, maybe a reduced dose, Janet will know more about that. My insulin is levemir and it’s a totally different dosing strategy!
 
Didnt @JanetNJ give you a sliding dosing scale? I’ve never used vetsulin and so I would hesitate to tell you to shoot a 113. One thing to do when you get a low preshot number is to stall for 20 min with no food and retest. If the number is going up, you can shoot. With vetsulin, maybe a reduced dose, Janet will know more about that. My insulin is levemir and it’s a totally different dosing strategy!
Yes, she did give me a sliding scale but marmalade seems to do better with the 1.5 u
 
I know I’ve heard prozinc users say some cats do better with a steady dose, while others need the sliding scale. With my insulin, it’s steady dose only. Marmalade looks like he’s responding well to the insulin. How is he feeling? That’s what is the most important.
 
I know I’ve heard prozinc users say some cats do better with a steady dose, while others need the sliding scale. With my insulin, it’s steady dose only. Marmalade looks like he’s responding well to the insulin. How is he feeling? That’s what is the most important.
It’s funny because when his numbers are high I can tell because he looks sleepy and squints his eyes. As soon as his numbers started dropping tonight his eyes were wide open
 
Didnt @JanetNJ give you a sliding dosing scale? I’ve never used vetsulin and so I would hesitate to tell you to shoot a 113. One thing to do when you get a low preshot number is to stall for 20 min with no food and retest. If the number is going up, you can shoot. With vetsulin, maybe a reduced dose, Janet will know more about that. My insulin is levemir and it’s a totally different dosing strategy!
She's trying something else.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top