? Should I drop tonight's dose?

Becki and sox

Member Since 2018
Hey guys first reading in the greens I've had at the AMPS.
When it's at 4.7 (86) will you still administer a shot or pass on this one.
I've been wondering wether to to give a small amount as I know he will probably go higher during the day but not sure if it's safe to?
Thanks every one

So I gave sox a very small 0.2. hubby is home for next 5 hours so will watch test and feed him to make sure he's ok
 
Last edited:
Whoa! Go Sox! Sorry we weren't here...middle of the night for me.

Generally speaking, no I wouldn't give insulin on a green especially since you know he didn't go up from +9 last night. It looks like Sox is doing well, though, which is good! I'd definitely get another reading if you can today and then we can see what happened today at PMPS!
 
Sorry we weren't here...middle of the night for me.
Yeah I did think that. That's why I posted in both forums to be on the safe side. :joyful:

Yeah my partner will get a +5 reading before he goes to work and will then feed him.

Generally speaking, no I wouldn't give insulin on a green
I did think that but then I did look at others spread sheets and saw that they give a low dose and thought I'd possibly try it as I didn't want he going too high then for PM shots.
Maybe in the future don't give one at that low number. (Still learning here)
 
Yeah I did think that. That's why I posted in both forums to be on the safe side. :joyful:

Yeah my partner will get a +5 reading before he goes to work and will then feed him.


I did think that but then I did look at others spread sheets and saw that they give a low dose and thought I'd possibly try it as I didn't want he going too high then for PM shots.
Maybe in the future don't give one at that low number. (Still learning here)
Those people usually give lantus. Totally different insulin.
 
Last edited:
Those people give lantus. Totally different insulin.
Ahh ok then. I know for future then still new to these low numbers so still on the learning curve.
And because I can't really stall with shots I want to try not upset his pattern if it throws him out :confused:

What number do you guys use as a cut off point where you will say your not giving any insulin? Nothing lower than a blue number?
 
Ahh ok then. I know for future then still new to these low numbers so still on the learning curve.
And because I can't really stall with shots I want to try not upset his pattern if it throws him out :confused:

What number do you guys use as a cut off point where you will say your not giving any insulin?
Looks like 0.2 wasn't too much. :) The lowest I've ever given it was around 115 on an Alphatrak.... Just a drop knowing id be home to monitor. I knew what it would do.... This is two years ago when my cats numbers were predictable. Lol not so predictable anymore.
 
He has dropped a little so I got hubby to feed some crunchies mixed in with his lunch time feed just to pic him up abit.
 
There are a couple of us who have kitties that let us shoot on greens, so it's not just Lantus/Levemir. However it's usually kitties that have been diabetic for over six months, or who are on their second (or more) round of diabetes.

I think given that DH was around to test, you made a good choice this morning. You chose a very small amount, and at a time when Sox would be monitored. And it looks like he's staying relatively flat and safe which is exactly what you want at this point in his journey. So well done!
 
However it's usually kitties that have been diabetic for over six months, or who are on their second (or more) roun
Ahh okies I see. Would you advise maybe next time if he's giving me those types of numbers maybe hold off on the shot unless we will be in most of the time to monitor.
Can you get away with no shot at numbers like 4.7 and it not make a huge difference to PM shots?

made a good choice this morning. You chose a very small amount,
Thanks guys. Hubby went out at 1.30 so at the +6 mark and fed food and a few crunchies just to be on the safe side. I finish work in an hour so just hoping he's ok when I get back :rolleyes:
 
So Sox was quiet high just on his PMPS.
Hubby only gave him less than a handful of crunchies at lunch time feed when he was 4.1 (He said about 15 lol)
Do you think the jump to 21.6 could be from how low he has been all night and day?
 
Hubby only gave him less than a handful of crunchies at lunch time feed when he was 4.1 (He said about 15 lol)
Do you think the jump to 21.6 could be from how low he has been all night and day?
Depends what those "crunchies" were, Becki, haha!
If it was high carb food then that can elevate the blood glucose quite a bit and for a prolonged period. What food did hubby actually give Sox?
.
 
He gave him his normal butcher's food and just a few dry crunchies think they were possibly whiskers ones.
I probably made a mistake saying give a few crunchies. (It does show you thought I suppose how bad dry food is for them) But didn't want him dropping too low. I assume that will come out of his system over the next cycle or 2?

Again though suppose it's a good learning curves I feel bad doing that too him after having such a good night and day but will teach me from my mistakes.
 
Last edited:
Yes, that should come out of his system in a cycle or 2 at most. Next time, if you have the same situation, I think I'd suggest giving him a low carb snack. He wasn't too low and was at +5 which is a nice place to be in the cycle...a low carb snack might be enough to prop him without going too high....but today is the first time you've had this situation, so don't stress over it!
 
Yup, that's most likely the crunchies. Those should really only be used if an actual hypo is imminent. For most cats, steering can usually be done with low or at worst medium carb food.
Another factor that may have contributed is that it just wasn't enough insulin today, and ran out too fast. That being said, I wouldn't have wanted to shoot more than you did - especially considering it was your first time shooting on a number that low.


Going back to your earlier question:
Would you advise maybe next time if he's giving me those types of numbers maybe hold off on the shot unless we will be in most of the time to monitor.

While I will dose Sam on a green (although October was the last time I saw one of those :oops:), even at this point I wouldn't do it if I couldn't monitor for the first half of the cycle. Prozinc has enough of an unpredictable/volatile side that it would be too risky. But as long as you or DH can test and keep an eye on things, I think it's great to keep the insulin going and avoid having to skip.
 
Next time, if you have the same situation, I think I'd suggest giving him a low carb snack.
Yeah definitely I agree. He did have his normal low carb snack/meal but I think I sort of panicked and thought if that wasn't enough and he dropped more at +6.

I think it's great to keep the insulin going and avoid having to skip.
And yes that's what I was trying to do not avoid it and hopefully keep his numbers low but then I managed to put them up anyways :oops:

Ahh well I'm learning and getting there slowly with him :)
 
Hey guys. So my hubby has just tested Sox at +5 and he had dropped to 2.9 and he has to go out for work now.
Hubby has fed his normal mid day meal now and he's also ate his brothers left over meat.
Do we think he will be ok for afternoon now on his own? I'm not home now for another 6 hours.
 
Sorry no one was around. Given that Sox just had a good size snack/meal, and it's nearly +6, I would think he'll be okay. However, I also think a little reduction is in order. :)
 
I would think he'll be okay. However, I also think a little reduction is in order. :)
I did think that. He's not been on 1.0u long it did wonder if I might need to drop. I'm surprised he went so low after been in yellows.
Would you say maybe back down to 0.8u maybe?
 
So I did my 0.9u last night but then when I got up this morning we were lower again so back to 0.75u
I'm sure Sox is enjoying keeping me on my toes... Cheeky little devil he is lol
 
Consistency is best, but when cats start to throw new, lower numbers, you have to adjust to that. We find consistency works better when they're not regulated and we're trying to help with that. When they start to head down the dosing scale, you just have to go with the flow! So basically, no don't worry too much about it. You're doing the best you can with consistency but also trying to make sure he stays safe...you're doing great!
 
Yes, there is a lot more wiggling of the dose that happens when you get to the "fine tuning" phase. You don't want to be all over the place, but a little up and down is normal at this point. Hopefully she'll settle in for you soon and you will just be doing "skinny" and "fat" versions of a consistent dose.
 
Hopefully she'll settle in for you soon and you will just be doing "skinny" and "fat" versions of a consistent dose.
Hopefully so bless him. Back with 0.8u for now. So will see how we react on that. Least we seem to be getting in to blue numbers morning and night now at the PS
 
So I tested Sox as usual this morning and fed him. AMPS were not too high. 20 mins after feeding he decided to throw that food back up. I've just given him the rest of his meal now but skipped the insulin shot.
Is that right or should you still give a reduced shot? (For future reference)
 
Yes I'll add that now. I use a freestyle lite human meter.
Was it right for me too not give insulin as he was sick this morning pre shot?
 
Yes I'll add that now. I use a freestyle lite human meter.
Was it right for me too not give insulin as he was sick this morning pre shot?
He's just barely above normal. It's probably ok. Maybe you can stall for an hour and see if the number is going up. If it is you can shoot. Did he throw up? How is he sick today?
 
That's ok good then. I wasn't sure if you should give insulin when they have been sick but I though probably best not to.
 
Had a really good day today. Numbers stayed in the blues all day today with out insulin.
Have given his normal shot tonight.
Quiet happy with him staying in the blues by himself I'm thinking that's really good right?
How would I know if he was or ever started to go into remmision?
 
Had a really good day today. Numbers stayed in the blues all day today with out insulin.
Have given his normal shot tonight.
Quiet happy with him staying in the blues by himself I'm thinking that's really good right?
How would I know if he was or ever started to go into remmision?
If he's under 120 without insulin for two weeks it's remission.
 
Most non-diabetic cats run in the 50-80 range the majority of the time, with just occasional numbers up to 120. When Sox reaches the point that even a micro-dose of insulin is too much, that's when you start an OTJ trial.

You probably didn't need to skip the shot this morning, but I don't think it hurt anything. It can sometimes take a cycle or two to get back on track after a missed shot. Other cats will pick right up where they left off, as if the skipped shot never happened. I hope his tummy is feeling better now!
 
Back
Top