Should I decrease dosage?

AriesCat

Member Since 2020
Hi everyone.

I’m still so new to this and just started home testing the other day. I have a spreadsheet started and the last two morning Aries BG was under 200 so I did not give insulin. Should I still give her the 1 unit tonight? Do I need to wait and get more BG tests to collect more data? Or should I reduce her dose?

Thanks in advance
 
Have you take a look at the Sticky Notes at the top of this forum, specifically the one on dosing methods? We choose one of two dosing methods to follow here. The answers to your question depends on the dosing method. However, as you are new, it might be easier to reduce to 0.75 units for tonight. Don't forget to try to get some tests in the night time cycle. The one just before you go to bed is a good one. Many cats go lower at night. We determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat. I suspect she might have gone lower than 60 last night.
 
Have you take a look at the Sticky Notes at the top of this forum, specifically the one on dosing methods? We choose one of two dosing methods to follow here. The answers to your question depends on the dosing method. However, as you are new, it might be easier to reduce to 0.75 units for tonight. Don't forget to try to get some tests in the night time cycle. The one just before you go to bed is a good one. Many cats go lower at night. We determine how to change the dose based on how low the dose takes the cat. I suspect she might have gone lower than 60 last night.

Thank you so much for the help and info!! I was confused on the dosing method and wasn't sure where to find the info. It was right in front of me this whole time.I'll have to read over both method and decide what type is best for me and Aries. I will try to get some testing done in the night cycle as well, totally makes sense.
 
Back
Top