Should I change his dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kim and simon

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone,
I think that by reading the protocol it might be time to slightly raise Simon's dose. Thoughts?

One more piece of information: He will be staying with my mom Tuesday-Sunday of next week. He will get his shots, but home testing may or may not be done regularly. She said she will try to at least get pre-shots.
Some of you told me that in this situation with a caregiver, we would lower the dose. For Simon's current situation, would just leaving him at 1 unit through the trip, until Monday 1/23, be the best option? Would I need to lower it below 1 unit or just leave it the same since it might actually be time to raise the dose?

Final question: how many readings make a full curve? It doesn't have to be every hour, or does it?

Thanks for all of your help while we are getting our feet wet.
 
Kim
I think a full curve is a test every two hours over a 12 hour period. Some people do what is called a mini-curve and I think that is once every three hours.

I thought I saw on another thread (in health maybe?) where the advice was to hold off on raising the dose until after you come back, and let Mom stay with the 1u, or perhaps a little less than that if there won't be any testing going on. But wait till you get some input from lantus dosers before making a decision on that.
 
If I was in your shoes, unless his numbers are dangerously high before an increase, I would wait until I got back before making any changes, unless the caregiver was comfortable monitoring through the day/night if necessary.
 
Kim

We do one condo/day. If you have dose questions...then you would just put it on that condo so we can see everything that has transpired in a day. I'm going to go to your previous condo for today, reference this condo, and answer there.

When you have a dose question, just put it in the subject line for that day. So, for instance, if today's condo subject line is "1/12 Kim's Simon AMPS 338" then just add "Dose ?" after that and click the "?" button above the subject box and then "submit".

See you in the other condo.
 
I would just hold his dose steady until you came back, I wouldn't reduce it. You don't want to be bouncing him all over the place and I don't seen any numbers in his chart indicated he's went close to dangerously low.

It does look like he probably needs a dose increase when you get back.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top