should I be worried Robbie at 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Active Member
First time in the greens and of course I'm not home, can't get home and my husband has to keep working - how panicked should I be? +7 is about his lowest point and he's at 95 - he's been acting a bit odd about how fast his numbers go down - doesn't seem to feel great in the mornings. My husband is with him now and giving him his noon snack - 1/2 can of his regular FF food - is that OK?
I have to run to a meeting in like 20 minutes hoping someone sees this - my husband is staying with him while he eats and will re-check at 12:30 in 30 minutes
 
The 95 is at +7 right? Then you should be fine.

Great that he's getting his regular food, that will bring him up a little bit.

Don't panic unless he gets down to 50 or below.
 
Yes, amps was 5:30am it is now roughly 12:30 here (12:15) so we are at +6.5 - he normally gets a snack at noon - he is eating it now. Gonna re-test him in 30 minutes. My main concern is I am nowhere nearby and can't get to him so I really want to make sure he's climbing back up.
 
His regular food should help bring him up. Post his next number when you get it.

So far that is an almost 70% drop so you might see a bounce from panicky liver. Don't shoot the bounce number, no matter how high it goes, it will not be a true number.

I would reduce the dose again.
 
OK thanks Robin - I'll see where he goes - I hate that I'm not going to be home. My husband is good about this but he's the dog guy...
should have his true +7 number any moment now.
 
Your DH is a keeper even if he is the dog guy. :-D

At least he is there with Robbie and is testing and can stay on top of it for you.
 
I know this is his busiest day too - he wasn't happy about it but he heard the sound of my voice and said "oh, OK"

Ate 1/2 a can and he's climbed to 115 - think we are in a safe spot.
 
Super happy you got a green!

Agree that you seem to have broken through the insulin resistance, no idea how much you should decrease from here, but I'm sure someone will be along before pmps to help.

Amazing, what a difference!
 
Sadly DH had to leave- he's got a bit more food and I am going to have to hope he's OK.
Nobody will be back till about 4:30/5pm -
 
I think he'll be fine with a 95 at +6.5 he should be reaching his nadir soon after that. Thats kind of a steep drop, but a very nice number. He should be fine with some food onboard until someone gets home. He may bounce later from the steep drop to green.
 
Hi Ellen

I saw what Robin said in yesterday's thread, and I'm in agreement... I think you may have cracked Robbie's insulin resistance! No, it wasn't a huge drop in insulin, but only because the dose was high to begin with. Cutting back a half unit is still 10% less (don't get to say that very often, it sounds like a lot...half a unit). But those are the type of adjustments I was making with Bob when he was coming down off of his 4u doses.
What's great is that you still got terrific numbers on the lowered dose. I agree, you may see a "bounce" number at PMPS, and you should ignore it if it happens. I'm thinking 5.0 or if the number isn't high, less than that. I don't know how fast you went down from 8u to remission the last time you dealt with this, but I'm thinking you might have peaked on dose and could be on the way down the ladder going forward, which is awesome to see.
I should be online for an hour or two to catch his next numbers...

Carl
 
I'm freaking out missed the message from my husband earlier in a no cell zone just finished work and message sounds like Robbie was 170 something at Pmps we are now an hour off pmps and I'm not home yet trying to get a hold of my husband to find out what's going on I guess I don't shoot tonight. Thoughts? Should I give him a very small dose 2 hours late?
 
I would give a small token dose depending on what his bg is.

Although I'm not sure what that dose should be.

This is uncharted territory since it looks like you broke through the insulin resistence.
 
OK I'm double posting which is a pain I know but I'm thinking a token dose of 2 units maybe - he's at 306 and hungry so I'm gonna have to feed him - I can adjust his dose the next few days cause I'm off work. Thoughts?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top