Should I Be Worried or Happy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blamethecats and Hannah

Member Since 2014
Did Hannah's AMPS at 7:40 this morning, and it was at 120. Couldn't believe it, as her last dose was at 9:00 last evening. This is so out of character for her, if you look at her spreadsheet. Took it again at 8:30 AM, and it was still dropping -- 116. Obviously, no insulin for right now. My initial response is to be happy for her, and I am! Or, should I be concerned that if it continues to drop, as I won't be home today to monitor. Can she hypo at this point in the cycle? So, just how long does ProZinc last in Hannie's system? She was somewhat hungry (well, as hungry as she ever gets), so I finally fed her and she has been nibbling at her FF ever since. Now I don't dare to give insulin until this evening, as don't know what to expect throughout the day while I am away. Guess I am just looking for a few thoughts on this unpredictable little kitty of mine. Thank you.
 
I see in her chart that when she gets down to a blue number..... she bounces up to a red. But she does recover quickly. So that's good.

Looks to me like the insulin is doing it's job. So I say it's good.
 
Thank you for replying so quickly, Rhiannon! Was hoping to hear from someone before leaving the house in a few minutes. Now I will be breathing a little easier throughout this day, at least until this evening when we return home. Just took her numbers, again, and they are at 117. I am one happy momma bean!!! Again, thank you so much for your reply. I absolutely love this message board, the wealth of knowledge and experience it brings, and the people you contribute, here.
 
I think you should be happy. :mrgreen: Yes, the dose last night was likely too much and she is having a long cycle, or her pancreas is helping out, or both. But the insulin should be gone from her system and she shouldn't hypo. I assume her pancreas is helping out now. We don't know how long it will join in, but it is a good sign.

Tonight, if she is above 200, I think I'd try .2 or .4 (depending on how she is). You want to support the pancreas as needed, even if the dose has to be just a drop. It would be best to check the nadir then at night, to make sure she doesn't drop low. But to me, her pattern seems to be that the insulin helps awhile and then the pancreas joins in, resulting in a long slow cycle that gradually drops. This is a good pattern. It'll just be tricky to figure out how much insulin supports that pattern.
 
I had a feeling those blue numbers were just too good to be true. Got home at 6:20 PM to find her hiding under our bed, so knew there wouldn't be good news. Tested, and sure enough... 441. Now we start all over, once again. She ate most of the food I left out for her, but I don't know exactly when. Am thinking her dose this evening will be 0.4, as Sue suggested. Would like to do the 0.6, like last evening, but wonder if that might be too much?? At 441, maybe not?? Would like to get back to the original 8:30 AM/PM schedule, so will test again in 1 hour and decide, then. Sigh!
 
It's the weekend. You could try "chasing" the numbers and see whether you can get her on a even keel. For example, with your numbers today, if you had been home, you would have tested until she was at 200 and given a little dose, keeping her below 200+ for an extended time. It throws off your schedule, but it would be good for her to stay in the lower ranges.

I don't know about tonight. If you give .6 you could have the same scenerio in the am: low amps and having to skip or chasing. I think I'd be tempted to give .4 and see if you have a shootable amps.

I know this is frustrating. There is no way to know when the pancreas will show up (assuming that is the reason for the long cycle today) and mess around with the numbers. But truly, if it is working, this is great news..
 
Hi! I am going thru something similar with Coleman right now...if he's low and I don't dose, his next number is waaaay up. I don't know how Hannah deals with it, but Coleman is pretty puny if he gets above about 410. Coleman and I send you and Hannah both kitty hugs :YMHUG:

After consulting with the Voices of Experience here, I recently lowered his dose by .25 to see if it makes any difference. I did this when I knew that someone would be home to keep an eye on him. So far, so good, but this is only day 2.

Of course, the people here are wonderful and what I call 'hand holding' while we try to navigate all of this!

I am glad that you are getting some low numbers and I hope that you and Hannah see more!
 
Sue, I think I will take your advice for 0.4U. Oh, how I wish I had stayed home, today. But it's our wedding anniversary on Sunday and we treated ourselves to dinner and the day out. No sense beating myself up about this, I know. Life has to go on around this diabetes thing. Poor Hannie. Anyway, I think I need to convince my DH that we aren't going to be able to always be "on schedule" when dealing with this. I can handle that but am not so sure about him. But I really can't complain. To this point, he has been very supportive and understanding. We are lucky for that. Once in a while, he even gives her shots. As a matter of fact, he's the one who taught me.

Yes, this is soooooo frustrating. But I am indeed hoping that her little pancreas is trying to help out. That would be the answer to my prayers. So, 0.4U will be the dose, tonight, and we will then see what the AM brings. We should be home for most of the day, tomorrow, as well as Sunday. I am very glad you and Rhiannon, as well as others, are here for support and to help us decide what to do next. You cannot imagine how much that means to me.
 
Kathy, just found your post... and thank you for the kitty hugs, as well. It's always good to hear from others that have similar situations with their kitties. Yes, Hannah isn't herself when her numbers get nuts. Like I mentioned, she was hiding under our bed this afternoon when we got home, and on a good day, she doesn't do that. Must head off, now, to get Hannah's numbers, one more time. Then it will be a challenge to get her to eat so we can do her insulin at 8:30 PM. Here is hoping that Coleman's numbers "get pretty", too. Best of luck.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top