Shorty, still high pre-shots

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shorty

Member
We've already dropped his dose, incrementally, from 2 units down to 1 unit the past couple weeks. But I'm still getting similar preshots, while his mid-cycle numbers stay similar. Should I start thinking about dropping him some more? I already think the next order of needles will be the 100's, rather than 40's, so that the doses can be a little more precise. (We had to compare opinions on what 1.25 was, to make sure we were being consistant with those dosages). But, if he is dropping more than 50% from his preshot, I believe I should feel comfortable adjusting his dose DOWN for a few cycles to see if that helps his preshots, right? Or am I second guessing everything? All of the cats are on wet food, the highest carb we feed them is the Nutro Max Cats Chicken "With Savory Venison", which is 8%. Sometimes they eat as low as Tiki Cat's 0% offerings. But usually it's a 4%-6% offering.

Any advice? Should we drop him some? Maybe a drop in the evening, but maintain his AM, see if that helps his pre-shot numbers?

Spreadsheet is updated for numbers, but not food info or notes.
 
What would you think about trying a sliding scale? Some cats need a consistent dose; some do well with adjustment for lower/higher preshots and nadirs. It looks like 1.25 did fine with the higher yellows. But maybe he needs a little more for the higher pinks - maybe 1.5. And he does drop lower at night. So maybe a little less at night.

It is frustrating to have so many options and not know which will work best. That is the good/bad thing about ProZinc.

I think he bounces quite a bit. But it looks to me like he can drop lower at nadir so a little more may help?
 
Hi there, again :)
I agree with Sue, I would try using a sliding scale, because Shorty seems to be doing better in the PM than AM (just like my Baco did) and I tried to give more in the AM than the PM and that worked for her. It is frustrating though, because you can see that Shorty is giving you some nice midcycles (blue and even some green) but than the pre am nr is not a nice one :banghead:.
 
I like that emoji, Ruby. Head banging against the wall. And it seems like everytime he gives us those greens at his midcycle, were times where we had the day off together, but went out for shopping or something for a few hours, then come home to him being low. And I always worry then, how low did he get while we were gone? Like on 7/28. Came home to find him at 88, then he jumped back up into the 400's a few hours later. And the only snack he got was a partial can of Tiki Cat Ahi Tuna, which is 0 carb.
:banghead:
 
Last edited:
I had already considered a sliding scale. I had thought, between 250 and 300, give him 1 unit, and above that, give him 1.25. But I dropped him to 1 unit overall after it seemed he bounced from that last green, to give him a few days to possibly settle better. With his preshots remaining constant, and getting low nadir numbers, I thought he might still be consistantly bouncing....
 
Haha great emoji, oh boy how many times i've uses that one. Please take a look at Baco's sheet, she was a little like Shorty in the beginning. I was told that she probably was bouncing all the time, having those high preshot numbers and lower nadirs, but the only thing you could 'do' was sit and wait it out you know.. The bounce stops....when it stops. That's the frustrating thing about it.. Baco decided one day to give me nice pre shot numbers all of a sudden, it took her almost 1 and a half month. So what i'm trying to say here is that you can try everything but sometimes it's just a waiting game... And that means :banghead::banghead::banghead: a lot of those emojis hihi
:bighug:
 
Hi, how is the sugar dance going so far?
I just peeked at Shorty's SS and he has done well 8/6! nice nadir 159! How is Shorty feeling mostly? Is he acting like old times or is it still a little bit off?
 
Just updated his sheet up to today's PMPS. He's doing ok. He still seems a little off. Still scooping some pretty big urine balls out of the litter, but he doesn't seem to be hogging the water bowl like he had been. But his pre-shots have been almost consistantly dropping. Work schedules have made it a little more difficult recently for getting mid tests done. But the last 3 AM pre-shots have been yellows, and tonight's was a yellow too. The previous two nights, we both worked late and were late on his test. We've adjusted him back to where tonight his test and shot were back at the normal time.
 
I like the yellow preshots - probably mean he has decided not to bounce so much. He can afford to drop more. Maybe consider an increase to 1.5 on a cycle you can monitor? I hesitate to suggest increasing because he may bounce again but I think he needs to be lower overall. What do you think?
 
I was thinking of taking him up to 1.5 on AM shots when one of us is off to be able to monitor and test. We seem to have gotten feeding a little more under control. That was a problem for a while, and we actually have to put food away for a while, otherwise Shorty will just eat all of what the other cats leave for later.
For feeding, we are only using the foods that all 3 of them like. They each get a 3 oz can at shot time. Fancy Feast Tender, Friskies Special, Nutro's Max Cat Venison, or a Tiki Cat. For their snack, we take a 5 oz can and split it 3 ways among them, usually a 9 lives dinner. They won't touch rabbit or duck, but they love venison. And Nunu won't touch any of the Tiki Cat Sardine options. It's funny, she'll just stare at you and start trying to bury it immediately. We've got a couple cans of the Soulistic lower carb options still to try, and some of the Weruvia grain free options. I'd like to get some of the Hounds & Gatos flavors for them, but I haven't seen anywhere locally with them yet.

But, TL;DR, we've gotten their feeding down to consistent times and amount finally. That was part of our issue at first, was consistent feeding.
 
I'm with Sue. I think an increase might be good...he might bounce, but it would be nice to get him a smidge lower.

You've been doing GREAT getting tests. Missing mid cycles here and there happens...heck, I could only get them on weekends!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top