Shorty - AMPS of 142

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok. He has eaten, and it has been almost an hour since his previous test. 118. He ate friskies classic pate poultry platter.
 
This is lovely! When food lowers levels instead of raising them, it is likely you have some pancreatic activity. Can make things a little more complicated as you never know when it will "wake up". It isn't an on/ remain on thing. Usually it will work for while, then"rest", then work again. The complication is that you don't know when it will help out and lower the numbers, after you have given a shot. So dosing can become a little nerve wracking. And monitoring becomes very important. But it usually is a short period.

This is great news and what you want!
 
Hi, how are you doing?
I just looked at Shorty's ss and see that the numbers are pink and red most of the times. I hope you don't mind me giving some advice? Just based on what I see, I think he's bouncing due to a little bit off too much insulin.
@Sue and Oliver (GA) @Rachel what do you think?
I think it's wise to give Shorty a little bit less insulin?
 
Well, we discovered yesterday evening that he had managed to find a way to sneak some of the Dry DM straight out of the bag without us noticing. He'd managed to get a little hiding spot behind the bag, up on it's shelf, and he could reach his head in and eat directly out of the bag. So, we put a bag clip on the bag, and put it up and away, since he haven't been using it except the occasional treat for Nunu (who is still refusing to take more than a couple of bites of wet). I updated his spreadsheet, and since then it's been all blue, yellow, and green.
 
Not a bad cycle considering the dry food.

Yeah, we think he'd been getting at it for at least a day or two. I know I had seen him near it Saturday afternoon, but never heard him getting into it. We have other plastic bags on that shelf, and Shorty has ALWAYS been a plastic eater, I just figured he was after those. SMH. Three crazy unique cats. One is a diabetic plastic eater. One has separation anxiety and a flea allergy (he'll lick you 200 times in a row if you let him). And the third is a little prima donna who won't touch wet food, and she won't let me go to sleep without laying on my chest for at least 20 minutes of serious passion paws.
 
@Ruby&Baco
@Sue and Oliver (GA)
We dropped him a little, after Kelly and I talked about it. He still hit several lows, including some low greens at +4 and +5, after dropping him to 1.25 units. So now, we are keeping on the lower dose for a couple days, trying to see if he is still bouncing. I just updated the spreadsheet.

But this last.... 36 to 48 hours, he's been ravenous about food. Including having to physically restrain him from getting into the other kitty's food.
 
The reduction sounds like a good idea.

Not sure about his wanting food so much. Usually they are ravenous at the beginning when their bodies are not using the insulin efficiently, or when they feel themselves drop too low and want to bring themselves up.
 
We've been trying to keep it consistent, but it doesn't always happen. We're trying to aim at about 80 calories for his two major meals, with two smaller 20-30 calorie snacks. We've been trying to nail down which foods that they ALL like from the 3 oz cans, so we can just give each 1 can each at feeding, of the same thing. None of them like rabbit flavor, but we had a venison, I think it was the Max Cats one, that they all absolutely devoured and destroyed. I mean, licking the bowls clean and wanting more. I'd like to get Shorty back up to 10 lbs, Nunu down to 10 lbs, and well, Stretch might need a little supplemental feeding. He's, like literally 1 size larger.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top