? Shooting early today. Mimi 11/10 (12 am) +1 280 +3 242 +10 247,

Please remember to update. your spreadsheet.

Just an FYI - your subject line implies that the numbers you listed are from today. I can't comment on whether it's safe to shoot early without a PM +11. Marje's comment about shot time indicates that numbers would need to be high. I interpret "high" as over 300.

Also, you would be shooting no more than 15 min early today given that you shot early yesterday. Remember, an early shot acts like a dose increase.
 
So I know I’ve been concerned with lowering the number but based on her numbers now- do you predict she might be heading towards an increase soon?

how is TR more effective than SLGS?
 
For your question about how TR is more effective than SLGS, I'll try and highlight some of the differences, although I suspect I won't do it as well as Marje would. I don't know if I would say TR is more effective, there are people here who have had equal success, in many ways it just depends on the cat. TR is considered more aggressive. The major difference is the reduction number. With TR the reduction number for newly diagnosed kitties is 50 on a human meter, while for SLGS that reduction number is 90. Also, with TR you can increase the dose in a shorter time period (3-5 days) and assess based on nadirs, increasing if over 200, while with SLGS you hold the dose for at least a week and perform a curve to see how low the dose is taking the kittty, and if nadirs are between 90-150 you hold the dose. And of course, if your kitty has any dry food in the mix, you need to follow SLGS.

With either, you most definitely are encouraged to learn how your own cat responds to insulin, how carb sensitive they are, and understanding onset, nadir, duration, etc., with your own cat. I hope this helps, it has been a long day and my brain is a bit fuzzy :)

Unless Marje has a crystal ball, while she's great at reading patterns in SS having looked at likely thousands, I don't think she can predict with certainty, let the next numbers in tonight's cycle play out ;)
 
Back
Top