For your question about how TR is more effective than SLGS, I'll try and highlight some of the differences, although I suspect I won't do it as well as Marje would. I don't know if I would say TR is more effective, there are people here who have had equal success, in many ways it just depends on the cat. TR is considered more aggressive. The major difference is the reduction number. With TR the reduction number for newly diagnosed kitties is 50 on a human meter, while for SLGS that reduction number is 90. Also, with TR you can increase the dose in a shorter time period (3-5 days) and assess based on nadirs, increasing if over 200, while with SLGS you hold the dose for at least a week and perform a curve to see how low the dose is taking the kittty, and if nadirs are between 90-150 you hold the dose. And of course, if your kitty has any dry food in the mix, you need to follow SLGS.
With either, you most definitely are encouraged to learn how your own cat responds to insulin, how carb sensitive they are, and understanding onset, nadir, duration, etc., with your own cat. I hope this helps, it has been a long day and my brain is a bit fuzzy
Unless Marje has a crystal ball, while she's great at reading patterns in SS having looked at likely thousands, I don't think she can predict with certainty, let the next numbers in tonight's cycle play out
