Shooting at 200

Status
Not open for further replies.

Terri&Kit

Member
Whats a recommended dose to shoot when BG is say 190-210? Assuming all wet diet, normal eating. Kit's numbers have been fairly low the last 2 days. Which is good, yay! But...now I'm unsure of how much to give him. Newbies shouldn't shoot under 200...but it seems as if this newbie needs to...
 
Terri,
which insulin?
and can you give us any record of her numbers lately...i did'nt notice if you have a spread sheet up.
 
just found you ss.
looks like you can reduce your dose and shoot as she is obviously on her way up...but would like to know what insulin.
 
I would shoot .5u
The previous time you shot 1/2 u I think you got a bounce number...that's why it was so high.
stick with .5 for awhile unless you go lower than 150.
your starting to have data now.
 
That's what I was thinking, I just wanted someone to confirm lol. Hopefully the stress from the thunder doesn't drive his bg up too far. Poor guy is hiding under the table :(

Oh and the last .5U was when he wasn't eating and I gave him kibble, so I'm sure that was a big part of it too.
 
Terri you'll find the more data you collect the more confident you'll feel shooting under 200.
For example...if you can clearly see she is on the rise. You might get 180 for your amps...but if you test 1/2 hour later...even after you feed, and she is up ...well you know the direction she is heading.
You might consider shooting 160 if you are in a hurry...but take the dose down to like 1/4 unit, which granted is hard to do....but I'm currently shooting .1u if you can imagine that!
 
Lol soon you will be shooting insulin vapors!

I bought some U100s so I'll be able to use the conversion chart and lessen his dose more accurately. Now if I can get him out from under the table....lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top