Shoot throught the bounce? 3/13 Rocky PMPS +11 ☛591☚

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning, ~O)

Ok.. so after talking with Chris back and forth last night Rocky got a dosecrease up to 1.75u based on his continuing high nadirs. I have also begun feeding him 2 cans of food per day rather than one can + 1/2 can of food per day. He has NOT been losing weight. I just want him to be about 15 pounds rather than 13 pounds based on his bone structure.

With the increase in food I began feeding him 4x near the beginning of each cycle, but this morning I am changing that to 3x per cycle starting this morning.

Oh yes, and VERY important-- I was able to get a KETONE test this morning. When I came into his room with his shot he was peeing in his litter box. Rocky is negative for ketones... YEAH!! :RAHCAT

But, as you can see from his chart, Rocky has pretty much remained in the pink, red, and black since the afternoon of 3/9.

Rocky recap for yesterday:
AMPS 241 +2 320 +4 360 +7 409 +9 440
PMPS 398 +2 311 +6 360
 
Re: (neg) ketones 3/13 Rocky AMPS 289 +2 310 +4 255+9 316

I know it's frustrating to see those stinky pinkies, but Rocky did spend at least a little time in sunny yellow today!

Sometimes we take our little victories any way we get them!

GREAT that you got the ketone test in too, and that Rocky was so cooperative about "providing a sample"....LOL

Let's see what kind of numbers he gets with the dosecrease and the change in feeding. You just never know what combination of things will help the most until you try them.
 
Re: 3/13 Rocky PMPS 353 +2 169 +4 41

Feeding Rocky (2) TBS of his own food, the 0% carb right now. Will recheck him in 15 minutes.

Gosh darn it!!!! angry(2)_cat

The 1.50u IS NOT enough insulin for Rocky. He stays in the pinks and reds for too long!!! I would rather keep him on this 1.75u dose and just deal with hypos when they happen. Now he's going to freakin' bounce until Kingdom Come, again.
WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY can I not get Rocky regulated???​

I think the reduction tonight WAS NOT EARNED!!!
His shot was overlapped tonight because I am trying to work his shot time back to the 9am-9pm schedule. He received his 3/13 am shot today at 10am.. He received his 3/13 pm shot at 9:30PM tonight.

I do not want to reduce his dose again.

In fact, I am going to move his evening PM shot back to 9pm tomorrow night, which will be another overlap.

So, I think one thing I've learned from this is if I am moving his shot time BACK, that I had better do that in the morning so that i am not up all night monitoring him. nailbite_smile I-)
 
So... I need to give Rocky his insulin shot in one hour. His BG is SUPER HIGH right now. I want to know if I should shoot through the bounce? That means that i would keep his dose at 1.75u, and then take Rocky's reducie (even though I don't think it is earned), at 9PM tonight?

I could wait, and give him his shot at 9:30pm tonight instead of at 9pm tonight. That way, the shots would not be overlapping.

Either way, I need to know how much insulin to give him this morning. A part of me does not want to give him a reducie this morning.. but--

I cannot remember the last time I was this tired. I can barely keep my eyes open. I might even sleep through an alarm clock.. I-)

Thanks guys!
 
Re: 3/13 Rocky PMPS 353 +4 41 +4.15 51 +5 59 +6 82 +7.30 220

Wow Tina!! Another long night for you and Rocky!! Sorry I didn't see the 911, but remember, for us to be able to see it when scanning the forum, it needs to be "attached" to the first post of the day.

You did good and now Rocky's bouncing, so hopefully you'll have a quiet day.

It sure looks like 1.75 is too much, but 1.5 sure isn't enough! Makes it hard on us beans when they do things like that! Might try practicing with an old syringe and some colored water and see how many drops you can get out of a unit and then give a "skinny" 1.75 or a "fat" 1.5

For example...you pull up 1 unit of colored water. Slowly "screw" the plunger while pressing very gently to form a "drop" on the end of the needle. Drops should all be the same size. Count how many drops you can get out of that 1 unit. (usually around 10-12). Then it's a matter of math.

If you got 12 drops from a unit, and wanted to give 1.5, you could pull up 2 units and then "screw" out (or "waste") 6 drops. (since you got 12 drops from 1 unit, half a unit would be 6 drops). If you wanted to make it a "fat" 1.5, you'd pull up 2 units, and then waste 4 or 5 drops (which would give 1 or 2 drops more than 1.5)

If you wanted to give 1.75, that'd be 2 units minus 3 drops for exact 1.75, so if you wanted to give a "skinny" 1.75, you'd "waste" 1 or 2 drops which would leave just a tiny bit more in the syringe than a normal 1.75.

Sometimes just a drop or two can make a big difference, but I know it takes practice to learn how many drops YOU get from 1 unit.

Best wishes for a better Friday!

Edited to add...Yeah, I'd give the 1.75 and "shoot through the bounce" and then see how he does during the day
 
Thank you Chris!

Yes, I did have the 911 on the subject line of the very first post last night at 1:30am until 2am. I then took it off once his BG went up to 59. I felt I could manage it by myself but you never know.. nailbite_smile

Actually, I don't think it would have done any good to have left it on until 4:30am PST. According to the FDMB bottom of the page, there was no one online but me for several hours.

All right. I'm going to go ahead and 'shoot through the bounce' the 1.75u. I am too tired to practice with the syringe for fine tuning the dose today. WAY too tired. My house is a mess too and I thought I was going to get to do some serious cleaning today but I've desperate need to go BTB as soon as I give Rocky his PMPS. But then I must get up every hour after that to feed him his min-meals. ohmygod_smile I wonder what type of dreams this weird sleep pattern is going to bring today. @-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top