? Shoot or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

fumo

Member Since 2020
Hi,

Been keeping updates in my 'intro thread', but today have hit my first snag.

Fumo has been on 2units/daily since diagnosed last week. We've been moving his injection time ahead each day to give us a later 'evening' injection by this weekend.

Last night his PreShot value was 20.5(369), This was done at 21:45, he was fed and given 2 units at 22:16.

This meant we were going to give insulin around 1030-1045 this morning. Just out of curiosity, and since testing is never a bad idea, I did additional test when we woke this morning.

His +8 reading after yesterdays evening shot was 7.6(136.8).
At +13 after yesterday's shot he was at 10.6(190). He was fed at this time.
45 minutes later(nearly +14 after his last shot) he is at 11.6(208).

Should I
1.) Wait another 30 minutes an retest?
2.) Give normal amounts(2IU)
3.) Reduce and give a dose(1?)
4.) Skip the dose?


We did change his diet the day he was announced, and while i'm very very very very much hoping to get him into remission, I did not expect this quick of a reduction.

His normal 'preshot' readings have been 16, and sometimes around 20-21. So this is the lowest preshot numbers he has seen so far.
 
I echo what Nan & Amber said in your first thread:

"Your graphs are awesome, by the way, but I'm having trouble interpreting the times, lol. Around here, we have a common spreadsheet template that we use-- it color codes the BG numbers to help us visual learners, but allows you to fit a lot more data into the field of vision than graphs do. Here are the instructions and the template:

FDMB SPREADSHEET INSTRUCTIONS

If you put your data into that format, and link to the spreadsheet in your signature, it will greatly help us help you. Most people here are unwilling to give advice without being able to see the data, for safety reasons."
 
If you’re going to stall to see if the numbers are going up, you need to wait to feed too because the food will raise the BG level. I don’t know that much about caninsulin to advice on the dosage other than I know it hits fast. Did you try to post on the Caninsulin/Vetsulin forum? Folks here will only feel safe giving dosage advice if they can see your ss
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top