Shoes - Requesting Advice. Just changed to Lantus from Novolin N

Status
Not open for further replies.
Many of us record our BG reading and other info in a spreadsheet. See:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...te-a-ss-and-link-it-in-your-signature.130337/
This allows others to more easily see what is going on.
From her post in the welcom forum:
his AMPS was 434

based on the preshot of 434 and the +5 of 122 the one unit may be a very goo dose. However, it may be too much since the Lantus may further build up and lower the BGs.
 
Thank you Larry. Am planning another test at +6.5. Hopefully it is the same or slightly higher. I am definitely hoping that this is the right dose!
 
70 at +6.5. Gave a half can FF w/gravy. Will test again in 1/2 hr. Was this the right thing to do?

Shoes also had a large poop about 1.5 hrs. earlier. Would that affect the numbers?
 
We generally wait for them to drop below 68 on the AlphaTrak before we break out the high carb, but since we don't have any data on Shoes, better to be safe!!

Usually we suggest popping the top of the Gravy Lovers, putting it back down and "squeezing" the gravy part into another bowl and then giving the cat a couple of teaspoons of just the gravy (that's where all the carbs are anyway) and we don't want them to eat so much that they get full in case we really need them to eat later

Yes, get another test in 30 minutes....the poop shouldn't effect the numbers unless he had been really constipated and "getting it out" made him more comfortable
 
Thanks Chris! I use the Alpha Trak 2 and I probably panicked after 2 hypo's in one month, one almost fatal. It was actually just 2 rounded teaspoons which he lapped up as quick as I could drop it! I guess that 1 unit is too high as well.
 
They ALL seem to really love that gravy!!

He hasn't really earned a reduction yet since he didn't actually drop below 68 but let's see how the rest of the cycle goes before deciding on a dose

How much does Shoes weigh? Is he overweight, underweight or about ideal? I know you have also spent some time reading the stickys on the Lantus forum....have you decided whether you're going to use Tight Regulation or Start Low, Go Slow?

Getting that spreadsheet set up and adding the info to your signature will really help, so it's worth the time to get them done. It'll also keep you from having to answer the same questions over and over again. If you have any trouble with the spreadsheet, just holler! We can set it up for you and then transfer ownership back to you if you need us to
 
Whew! Just tested again. Up to 105! I can breathe deep again. Chris, Shoes weighs at around 8 lbs. He's underweight slightly in my opinion. But he is quite old, at least 15 - 17. I don't know for sure because he used to be a barn cat for my best friends that train TB race horses. He was dropped off at their barn around March 1, 2001. I just don't like how bony he feels since he was diagnosed. I prefer Start Lo, Go Slow. I don't think I can do TR as strict as necessary because of my job, so I just want to get him at a stable point. I would appreciate help with the SS, but can't do it at this moment.

Thanks so much!
 
Jeez that's quite a drop for Mr Shoes! Had a feeling he was on the move.:)
Nice save!
Hope he comes up easily.:D:D
Thanks! He wasn't acting funny but was sound asleep in my lap but I just felt the need to test him! We are both tired. I need about an hour nap. I think he will be safe for an hour, hopefully.
 
OK....if we're doing SLGS, he has earned a reduction because he dropped below 90, so we'd want to decrease his dose

I'll send you a private message and help you with your spreadsheet if you like

I think you can take that nap but make sure you have an alarm set. He could drop back down again
 
The fact that he was on Novolin N for 4 months probably complicates things with getting his dosage right.

Not really....Novolin is an "in and out" insulin, so as soon as it's worn off, it's out of his body completely. Lantus is a depot insulin that works in an entirely different way. It "builds up" and then acts kind of like a timed release so you get some benefit from the earlier dose on the subsequent cycle
 
OK....if we're doing SLGS, he has earned a reduction because he dropped below 90, so we'd want to decrease his dose

I'll send you a private message and help you with your spreadsheet if you like

I think you can take that nap but make sure you have an alarm set. He could drop back down again
Thank you. Will catch a nap and would appreciate the help!
 
I just don't like how bony he feels since he was diagnosed.

His body tone may improve with better numbers, that has been true for George, he was a rescue so he is anything between 14 and 17 (he's been ruling the roost for ten years with us) he was/is 'fluffy' but he had become bony along his back and chest and seemed to have lost tone, 4 months on lantus and he seems to be back to his more chunky stocky self:)

enjoy your nap
 
I totally understand the "bony" reference too....When China was first diagnosed, she felt like a walking skeleton, but as you can see, these kitties can come back a long way!! I think pictures are worth 1000 words!

China before diagnosis.jpg China at diagnosis (click on picture to expand)

China after 4 months insulin therapy_zpsf9fd87af.jpg China after about 4 months of Lantus and help from the FDMB
 
His body tone may improve with better numbers, that has been true for George, he was a rescue so he is anything between 14 and 17 (he's been ruling the roost for ten years with us) he was/is 'fluffy' but he had become bony along his back and chest and seemed to have lost tone, 4 months on lantus and he seems to be back to his more chunky stocky self:)

enjoy your nap
Oh I so do hope so!
 
I totally understand the "bony" reference too....When China was first diagnosed, she felt like a walking skeleton, but as you can see, these kitties can come back a long way!! I think pictures are worth 1000 words!

View attachment 18904 China at diagnosis (click on picture to expand)

View attachment 18905 China after about 4 months of Lantus and help from the FDMB
Oh wow! What a difference! She's a beautiful kitty!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top