Shiloh - no preshot test(I know); +4 - 131; +7 - 96

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Rhonda! I don't think we've met yet.

Is your vet advising you on these dose increases?

Both of the dosing guides we use have the starting dose held for an entire first week, unless there are very unusual circumstances.

Would you take a look at the yellow sticky about the insulin depot, please? It's important to understand how Lantus works, and the insulin depot is a concept that's impotent to get.

We increase by 0.25u increments most of the time if an increase is needed. Increasing too quickly or by too large of an increment can cause you to bypass a good dose. Then oddly enough, too much insulin can cause high numbers.

Anyway, welcome to the group! I'd encourage you to read a bit and ask lots of questions.

julie
 
Hi Julie,
The vet did advise the increase from 2.0 to 2.5 units. We were five days in when he recommended the increase. Have been giving the 2.5 for four days. The numbers today were quite a shock, given her numbers yesterday. HOWEVER, we did have a lot of company yesterday, with two 2 y/o children, so I believe that the numbers could have been influenced by the stress from that.

I understand that Lantus is long lasting, and the lowest numbers are normally between 5-7 hours after the shot. Beyond that, I am still learning. I have done soooo much reading in the last week, that I feel a little overwhelmed. I am watching her urine output, which has greatly decreased, and her energy/social level, which has greatly increased.

I feel bad for this morning. I over-indulged yesterday, and I was not prepared to test this morning. I gave her shot without testing, but I also don't know what I would have done differently dose-wise had I tested and it was in the 100s rather than the 200s.
 
What a beautiful day for Shiloh today! With any luck she'll come up just enough for her shot tonight - it would be good if you could get her second shot in today to see if she can keep those numbers going!! :D
 
We usually only suggest increases in .25U increments, and when first starting, it's important to hold the starting dose for at least 5 days to "fill the depot"

Since you're on 2.5 now, I'd stay there for now, but I'd make sure you get the Pre-shot tests in....if you get a PS test less than 150, we suggest you "stall", DON'T feed and post asking for help. Make sure your subject line is edited to say something like "Stalling, need help!" so the people watching the forum will know you're looking for help.

The first time you shoot a number under 150, we like to have someone with experience guiding you.....as you get more data on Shiloh and learn more about how she responds to food and insulin, that "stall" number will gradually come down. Most of us with a lot of data will shoot anything above 50

Having 2 two year old children around would make MY numbers go up too.....LOL
 
Sorry. Didn't mean to confuse. I tried to edit the title for the condo, but couldn't figure out how. Just wanted to make sure I got some advice regarding the difference in numbers. Should I have posted that to the Feline Health board?
 
Hello and welcome from me too.

If you go up to the top of this thread, off to the right you'll the words "Thread Tools" with a little down arrow beside it. If you hover over the arrow, you'll get an option to Edit Title. You can post here if you are using Lantus, but due to the number of kitties here, we like to stick to one post a day. Just change the title if you have a new question.

Shiloh is probably bouncing tonight. Read the second post here for a description of bouncing. Shiloh isn't used to green numbers yet. Since she's seen a green now, I'd hold this dose for a while to see if she can do it again.
 
You asked in your other condo what to do about a bounce. I am an expert on surviving the frustration of a bounce, since my cat bounces so much he's earned the nickname of RB (Rubber Ball). I've found that since there's nothing you can do for a bouncing cat but wait it out, your best bet is to indulge in copious amounts of chocolate and go to bed. I've tried lecturing, photographing Mikey with some rubber balls so he can see the difference, and making Venn diagrams. Nothing works. Maybe I could try a compare and contrast paragraph... :)
 
No, you haven't done or said anything wrong, Rhonda. No worries! I know the reading on this site can be a bit overwhelming! You might want to bookmark this post - some of us put it together to help people find information on the Lantus/Lev support group: Where Can I Find?

Can I ask you some questions so we can figure out how to help you move ahead?

Is Shiloh usually home alone for hours at a time, or is there often someone home with her?

How much does she weigh?

You're doing fine - I'm just concerned about the dose being increased by 0.5u increments with only a couple of days in between. The older insulins would've likely been adjusted like Shiloh's been adjusted, but that's not how Lantus usually is. A little more information will help us help you.

And yes, you're in the right place with all of your questions. You can always post here with any questions.
 
Julie,
Shiloh is usually home for several hours during the day. I try to come home at lunch and test her, but it doesn't happen frequently.

At the vet last Saturday, she weighed 12.4 pounds, according to their scale. Last year in June, she weighed 16.5.

I emailed the vet yesterday with her numbers. He said that he doesn't want her going lower than she was yesterday during the day, and recommended that I alternate between 2 units and 2.5 units.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top