She's HI before food, 3 units PZ, 20 min after still HI

Status
Not open for further replies.

SultanaRana

Member Since 2022
OK, I don't know what to do. Squishy tested HI before her PZ shot. I increased the dose from 2 to 3 units. 20 minutes after her shot, she's still HI.
I have an appointment with the vet tomorrow, but frankly I don't have faith in them. They want me to bring her to the clinic 2x/week for testing, and discouraged me from testing her at home.
I'm discouraged. I've only been testing her for 2 days and it's around 500 every time.
 
OK, I don't know what to do. Squishy tested HI before her PZ shot. I increased the dose from 2 to 3 units. 20 minutes after her shot, she's still HI.
I have an appointment with the vet tomorrow, but frankly I don't have faith in them. They want me to bring her to the clinic 2x/week for testing, and discouraged me from testing her at home.
I'm discouraged. I've only been testing her for 2 days and it's around 500 every time.
I can tag Melissa
@FrostD for you but I'm bsure she's sleeping , probably will be on in the morning.
Melissa is a prozinc user

First off you never increase by whole units .
You don't base the dose by going by the pre shot numbers
Doses are adjusted by how low thy are dropping

I can tag a few members now for you but they are not prozinc users just to see what they think
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

@tiffmaxee

@Bandit's Mom

@FrostD

Renee I linked your intro post above I did tell you
Don't listen to your vet, home testing is the only way to keep Squishy safe
Is the vet going to be around if your cat went hypo . She's your cat and you need to be sure she's safe and to see how the insulin is working and how low she's dropping
You just tell your vet that you are home testing and there is no need for you to bring her in 2xweek for testing. Then just taking her BG once is not going to tell them how the insulin is
working. What do they want you to leave her there all day and text every 2 hours?

Tell the vet you can't afford to take her in twice a week, that you are testing yourself.
 
Last edited:
Hi Renee,
Squishy is most likely bouncing. I’ll explain bouncing below.
We have no previous data on her to see what she may have been doing but if it is bouncing , and I think it is, then she could stay high for up to 6 cycles and there is nothing you can do but wait it out.
As Diane said we don’t suggest increasing the dose in1 unit increments. 1/4 unit increments is much better for the cat and you won’t go past your best dose. And Prozinc dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle, not the pre shot. We do the preshot to see that it is safe to give the dose. So please go back to 2 units next dose.
When she does come off the bounce she might drop down faster than normal so just be on the look out for that.

  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
@SultanaRana
Do you read the blue links that I posted on your intro post about prozinc
I would try to get more tests in if possible for both cycles
Also can you please hit the word like that is to the right when someone replies back to you so we know that you read it
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-the-prozinc-basics-please-start-here.164995/


https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/

Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
 
Last edited:
Thanks for the input, I appreciate it.

I am not going to listen to my vet about not testing at home, for sure. I'm appalled that is the advice they're giving.

Ok, I won't increase doses by a full unit any more. I did read the ProZinc link here. Learning daily.

I guess I thought that once I started getting Squishy insulin, things would calm down right away. Obviously not.

Thanks again.

Oh, and is the etiquette here to "like" each post so each responder knows I've seen it?
Will do.
 
Is it the DM pate or is it the savory selects?

Just want to double check - any history of ketones or DKA?

Is she on any other medications?
 
@FrostD
How do I quote your post/questions in my response?

DM Pate, and once this last can is gone (by Wed?) I'll be moving to FF pate.

No ketones since 2 weeks ago. I read the Ketones test page, but how often should I test for that? Weekly?

Thank you.
 
Thanks for the input, I appreciate it.

I am not going to listen to my vet about not testing at home, for sure. I'm appalled that is the advice they're giving.

Ok, I won't increase doses by a full unit any more. I did read the ProZinc link here. Learning daily.

I guess I thought that once I started getting Squishy insulin, things would calm down right away. Obviously not.

Thanks again.

Oh, and is the etiquette here to "like" each post so each responder knows I've seen it?
Will do.
If you don't have the U-40 syringes with half unit marking you can get either one of these they make it easier when adjusting doses by 0.25 units at a time

You will probably need to have your vet fax over a script for them ask for refills, call either place and they will take some information from you

https://shoppettest.com/advocate-pettest-u-40-insulin-syringes-31g-3cc-5-16-100-box/

https://www.adwdiabetes.com/product/18553/ulticare-u40-pet-29g-3-10cc-1-2in-half-unit

I saw on the site for the pet test syringes they said

PET TEST SYRINGES

NOTE: We will be doing extensive inventory from July 21, 2022 - July 22, 2022, and our warehouse will closed during that time.

Please order ahead as no shipments will go out during those two days. Thank you for your understanding! I see they are in Florida
3361 FAIRLANE FARMS ROAD WELLINGTON, FL 33414(888) 469-3579



Pet test syringes are shorter than the ulit care about nes


Even though they don't say half unit markings on the box they are
I copied off one of the reviews that was given saying they are half unit syringes
  • 4
    What a difference these needles make!
    Posted by Trish M on Jul 23rd 2021

    My dog was diagnosed less than a month ago and I was given 29g 1/2 syringes. She is a small toy poodle with Cushing's disease and her skin is very thin and delicate. I'm new to injections so I know I was causing her more discomfort than necessary. These make SUCH a difference. She no longer squirms and the ordeal is over much faster. The 1/2 unit markings are great as well.
    The only reason I didn't give 5 starts is because the syringes come in packs of 10 and are not individually wrapped. I'm very paranoid about contamination and keep the open bag in an airtight container. Please PetTest, wrap them individually.
    But my little girl and I are VERY grateful!
  • Found this on their Facebook site
  • .
 
Last edited:
When you hit the reply button it should automatically quote it.

To clarify - she had ketones and has been negative? Or no ketones since ketone tests have been performed?

We recommend at least 2-3x a week while they're unregulated, the more the better

My concern about dose is that the dose is too high and she's currently bouncing from going too low. So, what I would recommend is dropping down to 1U, and give that about 4 days. If numbers stay high, we can fast track her back up.

Now reducing insulin - if she does need a higher dose - does come with a risk of ketones forming, which is why I'm asking about history. That said, hypo is the more immediate and potentially fatal risk.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top