Shelby - up and down

Status
Not open for further replies.
The last couple of weeks have been nuts on my end due to my being back to work (I'm a teacher). So it's been AMPS and PMPS at regular times, usually 545am and right around 6pm. Her BG has gone up every so often, so I've updated her spreadsheet to show the increase in insulin. She's now been on 2u for the last 2 days.

Food is still 1 1/2 bricks of Primal Pet foods Feline Beef & Salmon formula in the AM. It's what we'd started with back the beginning of August when her numbers were lower. She LOATHES FF, but will eat Sheba or Nutro Pate, so that's what we've been doing for a PM meal - both are usually the "perfect portion" sections or about 3/4 of a can if that's what I have in the cupboard.

Ketones - those will be checked starting this week. Need to run to Walgreens or WalMart to get test supplies.

Any reason why her numbers are all over the board? Should I be feeding her more in the AM/PM to balance her BG? Put out a 'snack' for when we leave for work? Increase the insulin?

Here's numbers from last night and so far from today's curve
PMPS (9/4) - 413 gave 2U
AMPS (9/5) - 584 gave 2U
+2 - 335
+4 - 224
+6.5 - 329
 
Honestly, Nikki, she had a pretty nice drop at +4 today. Interesting that she had gone back up at +6. Looks like an early nadir.

I don't know anything about the food you use....do you happen to know the carb percentage?

She may be bouncing. That yellow at +4 wasn't really that low, but it was a pretty big drop from her preshot which could cause that. I don't think I would raise the dose until I could monitor...I'm guessing that won't be til Saturday?

Could you try to grab some more tests? I know you're probably out the door after your morning shot, but if you could get a test before bed most nights, that would help. Just like a +2 or 3 to see where she is going. A little more data might help us see what's up. :)
 
I can do a +2/3 in the evenings to see where she's at. Shouldn't be too much of a problem.

Hubby also said he thinks he's seen her sneaking some of the civvie's food before we pick up dishes in the morning. So I'm going to start picking up food right after both cats eat.

Attached are 2 pictures of the back of the package for the Primal nuggets. I'm honestly not sure about the carb count.
image.jpgimage.jpg
 
Ahhhh...yeah sneaking some food can cause those higher numbers! Hopefully getting that out of the picture will bring the numbers down.
 
Looks like the Chicken and Turkey are too high but the others are okay.

Tonight's cycle looks good. Can you try to get a number 5-7 hours after the shot? She should stay in nice levels but they can always surprise. Wonder if the earlier higher numbers were the high carb food?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top