Sheba BG levels

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susan & Sheba

Member Since 2011
Hi Pam and all,

Okay I am posting Sheba's BG levels from Thursday morning until now, first time doing this this way, hope it is right:

Thursday, March 17, 2011

AM pre-shot 28.6 mmol / 514.8 mg

+7.5 16.2 / 291.6

+10.5 22.7 / 408.6

PM pre-shot 21.8 / 392.4

+2 29.2 / 525.6

+4 31.1 / 559.8

+9 HI

Friday, March 18, 2011

AM pre-shot 30.3 / 545.4

+3 29.1 / 523.8

+6 16.8 / 302.4

+8 12.4 / 223.2

PM pre-shot 28.2 / 507.6

+4.5 29.8 / 536.4

+6 29.1 / 523.8

+8 27.6 / 496.8

Saturday, March 19, 2011

AM pre-shot 25.2 / 453.6

+4 15.1 / 271.8

+6 11.2 / 201.6

+7 10.6 / 190.8


Please keep in mind that prior to needing to switch foods we were NOT seeing these kinds of numbers, they were much, much better, we are trying to switch foods as after being hospitalized she doesn't seem to want her old food so we need to mix other food in with it. We have just started (last night) a new food to mix with it), hopefully it will help. Yesterday afternoon I needed her to eat so I could give cerenia, I gave her the new food to try and she almost ate a whole bowl, so I am sure that didn't overly help her BG levels (however other times when feeding during the day it doesn't seem to be affected - maybe she shouldn't have this one between shots, or maybe she just needs less, however we have seen numbers like this other than yesterday, so I don't know).

Thanks,

Susan & Sheba
 
Re: Sheba BG levels Attn: Pam

Susan & Sheba said:
Hi Pam and all,

Okay I am posting Sheba's BG levels from Thursday morning until now, first time doing this this way, hope it is right:

Thursday, March 17, 2011

AM pre-shot 28.6 mmol / 514.8 mg

+7.5 16.2 / 291.6

+10.5 22.7 / 408.6

PM pre-shot 21.8 / 392.4

+2 29.2 / 525.6

+4 31.1 / 559.8

+9 HI

Friday, March 18, 2011

AM pre-shot 30.3 / 545.4

+3 29.1 / 523.8

+6 16.8 / 302.4

+8 12.4 / 223.2

PM pre-shot 28.2 / 507.6

+4.5 29.8 / 536.4

+6 29.1 / 523.8

+8 27.6 / 496.8

Saturday, March 19, 2011

AM pre-shot 25.2 / 453.6

+4 15.1 / 271.8

+6 11.2 / 201.6

+7 10.6 / 190.8


Please keep in mind that prior to needing to switch foods we were NOT seeing these kinds of numbers, they were much, much better, we are trying to switch foods as after being hospitalized she doesn't seem to want her old food so we need to mix other food in with it. We have just started (last night) a new food to mix with it), hopefully it will help. Yesterday afternoon I needed her to eat so I could give cerenia, I gave her the new food to try and she almost ate a whole bowl, so I am sure that didn't overly help her BG levels (however other times when feeding during the day it doesn't seem to be affected - maybe she shouldn't have this one between shots, or maybe she just needs less, however we have seen numbers like this other than yesterday, so I don't know).

Hi Susan, I am not sure you mean me or Pam and Layla since I know she has been helping you too.

But I will jump in with a couple of suggestions.

I know we discussed getting a spreadsheet and profile set up. Have you asked over on the Tech forum for help with this? There are people here that can do it for you (I can't). The way you are doing it here is okay for now but most people are used to looking at a spreadsheet.

And the profile is important because it seems that you have Sheba on a number of different medications. It is not clear if you have stopped giving her some of these. It is really hard to tell. :(

I am so sorry about being such a nag about these things. I just want you to get all the help you can. There are lots of knowledgeable people on this site that could help you, but they just need more information and it is hard to go back over reading a lot of posts. Again, I know we talked about this and I am really sorry. I know you have your hands full right now with all of your girl's problems. :(

You might want to change your post to take away the Attn: Pam since others will not be inclined to help if you are searching out just one person.

Those numbers are high. It looks like .5 unit is not enough. There are Stickies on how to raise the dose on the lantus forum at the top. I personally would increase it now by .25 units but be sure to get spot checks in. Also, after you get your spreadsheet set up the Lantus people will be glad to help you as well with the dose.

I am wondering now about why you are giving the Cerenia. Is that for her nausea?

Can you list exactly what foods you are giving her now? I am glad to hear that she is at least eating. :)

One more thing...you seem to not be that happy with your vets. Again, if you could start a new post and title it, "need a vet referral in (insert your area)". We have lots of Canadian members.

You said earlier that she is constipated. Is that still a problem? Have you thought about trying a raw food diet? There is a company in Canada that sells it. One of our Canadian members recommends it....

http://www.buddiesnaturalpetfood.ca/

I am sorry. I know you are very frustrated. :(
 
Re: Sheba BG levels Attn: Pam

Hi, here is the link to setup a spreadsheet, but I belive you will need the world one, I am going to PM Randi & Max.. she is excellent at that.
 
Re: Sheba BG levels Attn: Pam

A couple of things are standing out to me both from this post and your previous description of what's going on with Sheba. I think Nicole meant to provide you with this link to the Tech Support Center for the World template of the spreadsheet we use.

A "fruity" smell could be indicative of ketones. With numbers this high and the staggering you were describing, you MUST test for ketones. Not to be overly dramatic, diabetic ketoacidosis can kill your cat. Many of us have cats who survived DKA and we know how lucky we are. Testing for ketones is an inexpensive method of catching what could be a huge problem when you can still manage it at home. In that vein, add as much water as Sheba will tolerate to her food.

I agree with Pam/Tigger, Sheba needs more insulin. The initial dose of Lantus is typically held for 5 - 7 days and then doses are increased every 3 days if BG levels are not coming down into more normal ranges.

As others have noted, there is a great deal of information at the top of the Lantus board.
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal versions -- the Tilly Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in Germany and the Queensland/Rand protocol developed by Jacqui Rand, DVM and published in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about the Lantus forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot/shed: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Becoming Data Ready: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation.
 
Re: Sheba BG levels Attn: Pam

Hi,

I do think I am getting both of you Pam's mixed up and have forgotten which one said which. I think it was Pam and Layla that wanted to see some numbers. I just don't know how to do much on here yet, but have been trying to figure it out, I thought I was doing good by converting the numbers for you, lol!

Anyway I don't want to jinx things, but I have taken out all the extras for tonights shot and have given her lactulose and insulin and her new food mixture only and she is so far doing better...I really don't want to jinx this or get my hopes up too soon, so I will let you know tomorrow how things go tonight.

I did just pick up some keto stix, but haven't had the oppotunity yet to use them, but will be soon.

Today she had the softest poop I have seen yet - not too soft - just perfect, lol! I don't know where to fill these things out in the profile - I have been looking, I haven't had too much extra time or sleep.

She was having nausea that is why she is taking cerenia, I think it may be helping make her poop a little softer, finally a side effect that benefits me! We will be getting results back on Monday for her pancreatitis test.

Feeling much more positive now...what a relief. Will keep you posted, and try to figure out the profile.

Thanks,

Susan & Sheba
 
Re: Sheba BG levels Attn: Pam

Susan & Sheba said:
Hi,I do think I am getting both of you Pam's mixed up and have forgotten which one said which. I think it was Pam and Layla that wanted to see some numbers. I just don't know how to do much on here yet, but have been trying to figure it out, I thought I was doing good by converting the numbers for you, lol!

Yes, that helped a lot! I am sorry I didn't give you the conversion chart before....so much info, but probably you already have this handy anyway. You don't really have to give the mmol/L numbers since most here are used to the mg/dl US numbers. Here is an easy conversion chart that helps at a glance:

http://felinediabetes.com/bg-convert.htm

Susan & Sheba said:
Anyway I don't want to jinx things, but I have taken out all the extras for tonights shot and have given her lactulose and insulin and her new food mixture only and she is so far doing better...I really don't want to jinx this or get my hopes up too soon, so I will let you know tomorrow how things go tonight.

Good, you know sometimes less is better. :) That way you can start back with the basics and she is not stressed over all the meds, food changes, etc. You are doing well. :)

Susan & Sheba said:
I did just pick up some keto stix, but haven't had the oppotunity yet to use them, but will be soon.

Today she had the softest poop I have seen yet - not too soft - just perfect, lol! I don't know where to fill these things out in the profile - I have been looking, I haven't had too much extra time or sleep.

I know things have been so stressful for you. This is the link on how to do the profile here. If you can't figure it out people will help you. All you have to do is ask. Just like with the spreadsheet. Lots of people here have been through it and got the help they needed. Put the question in the title of your post on the Tech forum so people will see you need help.

Susan & Sheba said:
She was having nausea that is why she is taking cerenia, I think it may be helping make her poop a little softer, finally a side effect that benefits me! We will be getting results back on Monday for her pancreatitis test.

Feeling much more positive now...what a relief. Will keep you posted, and try to figure out the profile.

I am glad you are feeling more optimistic. It helps when they just feel better for sure! I hope you can get some sleep tonight and tomorrow things will continue to look up.

Thank you too Sienne and Nicole for looking in and helping out.
 
Re: Sheba BG levels Attn: Pam

Susan,

How is Sheba tonight?

I was thinking about the higher numbers you are seeing...when Layla's been ill, her BG's go up a lot...so that might be something you are seeing with Sheba.

How old is your insulin?

Are you using a vial or the penfill/cartridges?

Lantus does lose efficacy over time (short period of time), so, if you are using the same vial or cartridge for a few months then it is likely a contributing factor.

Do take the time to read all the links, etc., that everyone posted for you. This info will give you more information and help you work with your vet on a treatment plan.

Chances are that if Sheba has an infection, or does come back positive for pancreatitis, then the numbers you are seeing are probably related to those events.


I'm copying an older post written by Jojo regarding Chronic Pancreatitis. If Sheba comes back positive for it you will want to know what you are looking at in helping her through this flare.

I will note - that when looking at pain meds for Sheba - do not let your vet give you Metacam for her. Buprenex is a better choice and there are warnings about Metacam being dangerous for cats. I know it's been discussed on the health board so can find the links for you if that becomes an issue.

Anyway, the post is below, along with a link to the post on the old board (can't make the reference links work copying here).

Best,
Pam & Layla

http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... 722,876722

chronic pancreatitis (or does my cat have a pepcid deficiency?)
Posted by: jojo and bunny(GA) and Y (IP Logged)
Date: December 13, 2007 10:26PM

things are going great. diabetic fluffy is nicely regulated. and then one day...just seems "off". BG numbers are higher. not eating much. maybe vomits later that night. hunched up in the 'meatloaf' position. lethargic. what is going on? you listen to the freely dispensed pepcid advice off board and after a couple of days fluffy seems to snap out of it. pepcid rocks! and recommend it to the next person on board that posts about their diabetic cat being "off".
however a few weeks/months later fluffy goes through the same episode. and again. and again. some of the episodes are worse than others. that last attack was bad and you got scared and fluffy was hauled off to vet for some basic blood work. yet nothing really abnormal on the results. is this just a normal part of being a diabetic cat? does your cat have a basic pepcid deficiency??? no.

it is estimated that AT LEAST 30% of all diabetic cats have what is known as Chronic Pancreatitis (CP). makes sense, the pancreas is the weak link with diabetics, in fact CP could be the causative factor on why fluffy became diabetic in the first place. simply put the pancreas has 2 types of basic functions the production of metabolic hormones (like the one everyone knows about, insulin) and the production of digestive enzymes. with pancreatitis it is the production of those digestive enzymes that is out of whack. when the pancreas 'misfires' and activates those digestive enzymes too early, the pancreas actually starts to digest itself and then the surrounding tissue and nearby organs, and systemic inflammation and toxin production ensues. there is a close link between CP with IBD and Cholangiohepatitis, (all three together collectively known as Triaditis).
so what now?

the best diagnostic test available is the fPLI (feline pancreatic lipase immunoreactivity ) [www.vetmed.wsu.edu] not perfect but far better than the options we had in the recent past.
it is far better to have a diagnosis (always) because then you and your vet can form a plan better than just pepcid. SQ fluids and pain management top the list. CP flare ups ARE painful...look carefully at how your cat is acting, it is not easy to tell when a cat is in pain, they hide it well. it is not just nausea that is keeping fluffy hunkered down under the chair, it is pain.
possible tools your vet might have you use:
~SQ fluids
~ pain meds
~ anti-nausea meds (hey look pepcid falls in this category)
~ antioxidants (vitamin E ~water-dispersible form preferred and vitamin C ~non-acidic Ester-C form preferred)
~ liver support (milk thistle, denosyl, or marin)
~ vit b-12 injections(especially if bowel involved)
~ +/- pancreatic digestive enzymes (to 'predigest' food, however some controversy in vet med on whether or not to use these)
~ +/- antibiotics if indicated
~ +/- steroids if needed
~ +/- appetite stimulants if needed (and if liver not involved, some of these are contraindicated with liver issues)
can all be used to help the cat through the flare up. your vet can work up a treatment plan for managing your cat's CP flare up attacks.

the veterinary community is still undecided on the issue of fat content of food and whether or not it is something to be considered in feline CP. it is very much an issue in human or canine CP, however felines are very unique in how they utilize the fats (and protein) in their diets. anecdotally, some owners find that lowering the fat content (to about 35% or less) of their CP diabetic cat's diet even though it means they have to raise the carbs helps. ECID, you would have to experiment on that yourself. just a reminder on the topic of food..as a CP flare up begins cats will eat less in the days leading up to it and often not eat at all when the attack is in full force, know that it does not take many days of reduced calorie intake to make hepatic lipadosis possibly rear its ugly head, especially in a liver already compromised.

cats that are simply diabetic with no other condition going on should not need pepcid ever...if you are reaching for the pepcid again, maybe reach for the phone and call your vet instead and discuss the possibility that your diabetic cat might be one in that 30%.

links for those that wish to read about CP further:

[books.google.com]

[72.14.205.104]




--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
~jojo and bunny(GA) and Y(GA) and SettleDown (formerly known as wilson)
 
Re: Sheba BG levels Attn: Pam

Hi Pam,

Today hasn't been a good one. Numbers have been high all day and all night. The insulin is not very old but I am getting a new bottle tomorrow just in case. I feel like my brain isn't working any longer. The vet did prescribe metacam and I gave it to her twice, but then was warned about it and have stopped giving it and will ask them about the Buprenex tomorrow. She has been laying down all day and is very weak. However she is still eating - THANK GOD!

Thanks for the info. Thanks for taking the time to write, and for thinking of us. Thanks to everyone who has helped and responded throughout this. Hopefully she will do better tomorrow, and hopefully we can get a handle on whatever it is that is going on and get her better.

Maybe I should have tried pepcid this weekend?

I used the ketone stix in the litter twice and it showed negative, but I was thinking of catching some pee tonight and trying it just to make sure. I think I'm afraid to go to sleep. If it is pancreatitis how long would it likely last after diagnosis? If it isn't, I wonder what my next step would be?

Susan & Sheba
 
Re: Sheba BG levels Attn: Pam

Susan & Sheba said:
Hi Pam,

Today hasn't been a good one. Numbers have been high all day and all night. The insulin is not very old but I am getting a new bottle tomorrow just in case. I feel like my brain isn't working any longer. The vet did prescribe metacam and I gave it to her twice, but then was warned about it and have stopped giving it and will ask them about the Buprenex tomorrow. She has been laying down all day and is very weak. However she is still eating - THANK GOD!

Thanks for the info. Thanks for taking the time to write, and for thinking of us. Thanks to everyone who has helped and responded throughout this. Hopefully she will do better tomorrow, and hopefully we can get a handle on whatever it is that is going on and get her better.

Maybe I should have tried pepcid this weekend?

I used the ketone stix in the litter twice and it showed negative, but I was thinking of catching some pee tonight and trying it just to make sure. I think I'm afraid to go to sleep. If it is pancreatitis how long would it likely last after diagnosis? If it isn't, I wonder what my next step would be?

Susan, you said last night that she had the softest poop you had seen yet and that she seemed to be better. So she was much worse today? Maybe it is because her numbers are still high.

Did you raise her insulin dose like was suggested to .75 units twice a day (BID)? Were you able to test her and get some spot checks in?

Is she still eating okay? If so, you probably just need to let her be then until you talk to the vet.

Please don't stress out if she has pancreatitis or not right now. That fact that she is eating is a very good sign. :)

Regarding the Pepcid you saw in jojo's pancreatitis post. I wasn't sure to suggest anything further before besides what the vet had already prescribed for you. But if you want you can ask him about giving Pepcid AC (10 mg tablets - give 1/4 tablet for upset stomach - but do ask him first). Do not use Pepcid Complete or Extra Strength.

But then again maybe you just need to let her be for now?

Again, please edit out your subject line so you will get more responses in addition to Pam and I.

And also, the profile thingy....and SS. I am so sorry. I just want you to get all the help you can.....it seems really daunting but it isn't. Some people here can even set it up for you. Just ask, okay? Anyone?
 
Why she seems worse is because she is laying down all the time and looks weaker, and because her levels are so high. I didn't increase the insulin as we just changed her food again Friday night and Saturday she was doing really well, and I asked the vet and he said not to. We will have the results for the pancreatitis tomorrow and if need be I will be taking her in.

When I look at the instructions for the profile I just don't get it, and probably should have got help today, but just really broke down when her levels didn't go down tonight. And even worse I think that tonights shot may have been a fur shot, due to the way she was standing (I should have asked Jay to help, but didn't) and there was insulin on the fur, then her levels didn't go down - so it may be due to that for this evening anyway - then of couse that was so hard to take as that never happens to me, then it happens when she needs her insulin the most. Meanwhile she is just laying here and needs help using the litter box (she can get in but stands on the edge and the pee goes out - so I make sure I put her in far enough).

Anyway when I try the profile, it doesn't take me to the right place? What am I doing wrong? I don't really get the instructions either.

Maybe it is just because she is so high. I am hoping for a great day tomorrow.

Susan
 
Susan

I've sent Jess and Jojo a pm asking that they look at this if they have time; their spare time is in very limited time but I felt it necessary as what you've described in your posts is more than 'simple' diabetes and I'm hoping that one of them can help. I'd also offer my vet, even though it would be a bit of a drive to my end of the city.

Let us know how things go, test urine for ketones, watch those BGs and don't be afraid to try and bring them down a bit more.

Jen
 
Susan, I'm just reading your post and want to send a little encouragement. It gets easier. People here will help you get the hang of the diabetes stuff. i hope Sheba is doing better today.

hugs!
 
Hi,

Sorry, I thought I posted already about the pancreatitis results (I`ve been so tired), now I realise that I didn`t. Her pancreatitis test results were normal.

ANTI-JINX - not sure how much I should say right now, I`m getting a little superstitious at this point, but there has been some improvement.

Her regular vet is now on board and we will be making appointments with him from now on.

I will give an update in a few days.

Hope you are all well, and thanks so much for thinking of us. I`d love to get a pic up so you can all see what she looks like.

Susan & Sheba :-)
 
Susan & Sheba said:
Hi,

Sorry, I thought I posted already about the pancreatitis results (I`ve been so tired), now I realise that I didn`t. Her pancreatitis test results were normal.

ANTI-JINX - not sure how much I should say right now, I`m getting a little superstitious at this point, but there has been some improvement.

Her regular vet is now on board and we will be making appointments with him from now on.

I will give an update in a few days.

Hope you are all well, and thanks so much for thinking of us. I`d love to get a pic up so you can all see what she looks like.

Susan & Sheba :-)

We would love a picture too. :) So glad to hear back from you. Hang in there okay?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top