she is bouncing - please advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alix

Member
Scamp is bouncing - I get that - but what I don't understand is how to deal with the bounce. Is her insulin too high? But she gets lots of reds on her sheet so is her insulin too low? How do I go about doing a sliding scale dosage? What do I do next?

please advise me as I am a wee bit frustrated with these bounces and not knowing what to do.
 
ProZinc is dosed based on the preshot, but the nadir needs to be taken into consideration. Without mid cycle numbers, we don't know just how low Scamp is going. You've had a couple lower preshots that you didn't shoot, and that's understandable, but if Scamp were mine, I'd reduce the dose to see if you can consistently get 2 shootable numbers. Maybe 1.5 units? Are you using U40 syringes? And grab some numbers between +5 and +7 if you can.
 
I agree with Stacy. Getting some mid-cycle tests will let us know if the dose is really too high or too low. If she drops a lot mid-cycle, the dose is likely too high and causing her to bounce way back up. If the middle numbers are staying high, you may have to increase the dose. Does that make sense? Hope this helps.

Joan
 
Cats bounce until they don't. Which is to say, after you've ruled out too high of a dose, the reason for the bounces is that the body is unfamiliar with the lower glucose levels.

A way to possibly reduce bouncing is to back off the dose and aim for nadirs in the 150s, rather than nadirs in the 50s, to slowly allow the body to become more accustomed to lower numbers. This, of course, requires testing in the nadir period whenever you can. Some folks will do this on days off, or weekends. Some folks will even set an alarm for the middle of the cycle at night and get up to test around the nadir (which can and does vary).
 
Thank you for your responses - I have been home today (a rarity) and I got the nadir - which was quite low - so I am happy to drop the dosage down to 1.5. I am using the U40 syringes but I do have U100's if I need to change (she gets a shot of B12 once a week) . I get really nervous about her as she has gone DKA three times with numbers in the teens so I am quite cautious. I have seen her go down as far as low as 40 (once) with no reaction at all - I just fed her and she started playing!! But when she goes DKA it is super scary and super quick!! The last time the doctor argued with me about her state because they checked her urine (which showed trace) but when I described the symptoms they did the blood work and admitted her for a week!!

I had done a curve in February but her vet didn't like the fact that she didn't get under 200 so we upped the insulin to 2 units from 1.5 but Scamp has always come up with weird numbers!!

I will start with the lower dose tonight and see how she does.
Thanks again
 
You may want to try dosing with the U-100s. If they have half unit marks, each tick equals 0.2 units of ProZinc. You could take the dose down to 1.8 or 1.6 units to back of just a hair.
 
Wow! That is a low number! I think scaling back on the dose is a good idea. You're doing great!
 
My little one still is confusing - her PMPS number is 25.4 just because!! I went with a smaller dose but tomorrow could be interesting (hopefully fine though!!) thanks for the responses - she is my little girl and I worry!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top