Shantis numbers high

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shantismom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday I tested Shanti at +3 and he had a lower number 93, I called the vet, didn't get my normal one, but was told to wait until today and do a blood curve. He said lower the insulin from 3 units to 2. Shanti was 124 at +6, and 166 +12 just before his shot. I gave him 2 units and fed him. He always eats well during the night so I didn't retest. I did give him food and he ate at 10:30, left him food and then at 1:00 gave him more food in his dish. Again at 3:30 I put food in his dish and a small amount at 5:30 because of wanting two hours before his preshot test this morning.
Preshot he was 305, I gave him 2 units, +3 he was still 305, +6 he was 308. I have a call into my vet but I can't speak to her until 5:00. I will give him another test at 5, then preshot. I am so confused, whether this is rebound, or just a reaction to lowering his dose and his eating. He has had a good amount today, after his shot this morning and some at around noon.
On Sunday I will have my son set up a new shreadsheet for me, but prior to this I was testing at +6 a few times a week and he was between 113-160. Wednesday was 356 at +6 and that is when I thought rebound and all this came about.
What are your thoughts. I am determined to be more diligent testing as I have no idea how many times he might have been up and down and I didn't know.
Stressed out to say the least!
 
Without the spreadsheet, it's hard to say for certain, but this sounds more like a bounce from lows either yesterday or last night than because of the dose decrease. Hold it steady for a couple of days (I believe it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear out). It might even have been that you unknowingly gave him a fur shot last night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top