Shanti having problems and high numbers.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shantismom

Member Since 2014
For quite a while Shanti was getting 2.5 or slightly above twice a day. In August his mid day numbers were in the lower 200"s. I slowly increase until just at 3 units. The beginning of this 9/9 month he had a AMP of 118, no shot that morning now.
9/9 +8 291 gave 2.8 units
9/10 AMP 385 gave 2.8 +6 324 gave 2.8 evening shot
9/11 AMP 263 gave 2.8 +4.5 221 stayed at 2.8
9/12 AMP 319 gave close to 3 +6 450 PMP 326 gave close to 3
9/13 AMP 267 gave 2.8 no other tests that day gave 2.8 that night
9/14 AMP 130 lower dose to 2 units +4 222 +8 342 PMP 330 2 units
9/15 AMP 303 not eating well had 2 units. Went to vets got fluids, Baytril and appetite stimulant. Ate like a little pig when we got home. Didn't test until evening PMP 324 but again not eating gave 2 units and began to try everything to get him to eat. +1.5 hours 321 +3 275 +5.5 354
Today AMP 309 taken at 11 hours so I could see if he would eat, he ate as normal and seems normal. Gave him just under 3 because of such high numbers. +5 349 Between the 309 and 349 he had his breakfast normal food, normal amount, he eats Natural Balance Venison with green pea because it helps his IBD. He had a snack of some food around noon but not that much. Can't figure out these high numbers.. I am in Eastern time so his am test was around 7:10 shot at 8:15 +5 shot about 1:15.

I don't know what to do, when I have risen his insulin to 3 he has a drop and his morning number are in the lower 100's. The end of August he had a AMP of 191, I had worked up to over 3units gave him that and by +4 he was down to 52. At the end of the day he came up to 281. Next morning AMP was 201, i reduced his insulin since it was near what he had the morning before to 1.5 but by +4 he was 295.
Really don't know what to dose anymore.
 
Hi Marlene,

Just to clarify...the Natural Balance Venison and Pea that he's eating is the canned and not the dry, correct?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Correct, got on this because of his terrible bowel problems. I know it is not the best for carb levels but he has been doing well on it.
 
Part of the problem might be because you're jumping around in dose. Lantus craves consistency so you need to pick one dose and stick with it for a few days. I would suggest perhaps going with 2u for now and holding it steady for at least 3 days/6 cycles. If Shanti's numbers still run high over the next 3 days, then it will be time to consider an increase, but only by .25u to .5u to start with. You'll again want to hold that for another 3 days/6 cycles before increasing (if need be). How does that sound?
 
Your suggestion sounded good. I first posted on Relaxed protocol because it seemed like it would suit me better but after a little while I posted on tight protocol and they are suggesting 3 units for 6 cycles. I am going to try what they say but I have to say it makes me a little nervous. Also testing 4 times a day including nights might be a challenge for me. I am going to try to do it but I may end up on relaxed if I just can't keep up that strict of a regiment. I do appreciate your input.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top