SHANGA STARTED TO PUKE...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pallid

Member Since 2011
Hello Guys,

I am so tired mentally. I think I've tried to treat Stomatitis for too long. But It seems nothing works.
I am so sad and down. I feel like I failed. I couldnt find any cure for my baby boy.
I never thought It would come to this point. But now I have to decide the surgery.
I checked his mouth tonight carefully. It was terrible. Big wounds hind the teeth and infection and ulcers...
I am reading for months and Its the best treatment of stomatitis is full mouth extractions...
So I wont let him to be in pain more.
I can not stop my tears... I have no power anymore...
He is getting surgery tomorrow and He needs your prayers...
Wish us luck...

Love You Guys,
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

Dear Hande ~

You and Shanga will both be in my thoughts and heart tomorrow. You love Shanga so very much and are taking such wonderful care of him. You have not failed him, Hande...please don't ever think that way. You've gone way, way beyond what many cat guardians would do to find the best dental treatment for their cats. I admire you deeply for your determination, strength, and devotion in looking out for Shanga's health...thank you, Hande!

Sometimes the best decisions for our kitties' health are the really tough ones, Hande. I've been reading quite a bit about Stomatitis, too, since meeting you and Shanga here, and it does sound as though full mouth tooth extraction is the best hope for a pain-free life for your sweet Shanga. I believe you're making a good decision in going ahead with the surgery for Shanga.

Butters is having his dental surgery tomorrow, too, Hande. I'm wishing us both successful procedures for our kitties, Shanga and Butters.

Sending healing vibes across the miles to you for Shanga, Hande, and a big hug to help get you through the day.

Eva
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

Hi Eva,

Thank You my friend, Thank You for supporting me... I feel so much better.
It was really hard to decide that, Eva. It took too long... I wanted to try every cure but Shanga is so tired and so am i.
I didnt know Butters would have surgery tomorrow.My heart and thoughts will be with you tomorrow...
And Hope Our kitties will feel so much better after Surgery...

Please give Butters a big kiss from me... :)

And A Big Hug for You my dear Eva...
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

Sending lots of loving and healing energy to Shanga and bean for tomorrow. :YMHUG:
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

Thank You :) Thank You being there for Shanga :)
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

This is not a problem that you have caused either by something you've done or something you have not done. Some cats, like some humans, are more prone to dental disease. The next several days will be difficult and we will be here to support you in whatever way we can.

I would encourage you to be very careful with insulin after Shanga's procedure. Anesthesia can lower BG levels. Given that Shanga may have trouble eating, please be very careful about testing and how much insulin you're giving. You may want to test Shanga as soon as you get home and then again at the usual shot time so you have an idea where numbers are heading.

Please make sure that you get pain medication.

You may also want to get baby food for Shanga. If there is a variety of baby food that is just meat and broth (no onions or other vegetables) that would be fine. Alternatively, you can put cat food in a blender with a bit of water or broth and blend it until it is very smooth. This will be easier for Shanga to eat.
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

You and Shanga will be in my thoughts and prayers tomorrow. I think you have done as much as you could for Shanga, and as Sienne said, some kitties are just prone to dental disease. As difficult as this may be I think Shanga will feel better after the surgery. Please note that Sienne wrote - the next few days will be tough, but doable. All of us will be here to help if needed. Please do not hesitate to ask. And as Sienne said, be careful with Shanga's dose - dental procedures can lower BG's. Just ask if there is a question.

Good luck. Mannie and I will be thinking of you.
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

((((Hande)))) We will be thinking of you and ((((Shanga)))) tomorrow as he has his dental surgery. You have done all that you can do and it appears that the surgery will make him much more comfortable. Please don't feel that you have failed your kitty. Some kitties, as Sienne says, just have bad teeth and gums. Our kitty, Rusty, has 6 teeth left: all of the rest have been extracted. He does fine with 6, and I'm sure that Shanga will do fine without any. It may take a while for him to get used to eating, but he's a cat, and cats are very strong and he will be OK.
Lots and lots of healing vines, good-dental vines, positive thoughts and prayers are heading your way this evening (I know that in Turkey it is already "tomorrow"). Be strong and brave and Shanga will, too. Please be sure to post if you have any questions, or just want to talk. We are all here for you.

Many :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: s

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

Prayers for Shanga's surgery to go well tomorrow-Moonie had 9 extractions in 2 yrs..She was fine each time..
I will be thinking of you both..Healing vines tomorrow sent to Shanga..Hugs from us!
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

Adding my prayers and vines for a good surgery and outcome tomorrow for Shanga and for strength for you. Lots of hugs.
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

You and Shanga are in my prayers. May the surgery go well and his recovery be fast and complete.
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

Merhaba Hande,

You are doing a great job with Shanga.
we will all be thinking of you and Shanga tomorrow.

Please let us know how it goes.

:YMHUG:
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

Sending you and Shanga big hugs. I know how worried you must be but Shanga will feel much better when he heals.

There are a number of members that have joined the Yahoo Feline Assisted Feeding forum after the same procedure. I bet you are getting lots of good advice on keeping him eating after the mouth trauma - blending the food, pure meat baby food, assist feeding.... The assisted feeding group can help if you run into any troubles.

Hang in there.
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

Hande-
you have received some very good advice...especially the post by Sienne...
so I just want to let you know that we will hold you and Shanga in our hearts and thoughts.

celi & binks
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

hi joy!

we'll be thinking & praying for you both tomorrow. do you know that willie doesn't have any teeth? christie jokes about how he catches mice but can't do anything to them. shanga will do ok - hugs hugs and more hugs from me and punkin!
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

Hellooo,

It's morning here. Was a long night for me...
Shanga will have his surgery in the afternoon like 1.30 pm.
I am nervous but I read all of yours lovely messages and feel so much better.
Can not stop my tears and I feel so lucky to have friends like you...
I have no words to tell howmuch it means to me.
I've learnt a lot from you and I will keep listening your advices.
I know it will be hard for couple of days but I'll be there for my baby boy...

Thank You Guys,

Love and Big Hug...
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

Hande, good luck! iyi Ĺźanslar! Wishing a smooth recovery for Shanga and more peaceful times ahead for you, Hande.

Thinking of you and Shanga.

Eva

P.S. Sienne, thanks for all the info you've provided on dental surgery for Shanga and Butters. I really appreciate your help.
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

(((Hande and Shanga)))) Sending many prayers for a very successful surgery and a happier, healthier Shanga.

Stomatitis can also have a genetic component which lets you know there is nothing you could do. You are a great mom and you have taken such wonderful care of Shanga. Please do not
ever think there is anything you did wrong.

I hope the vet will give you some meds for pain and that your sweet boy will be so much better within a few days. Please keep us posted. We care very much.
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

We are keeping you and Shanga in our thoughts as are the others. I think by now it is evening in 'istanbul, i hope all went well and you will both rest peacefully tonight.
 
Re: SHANGA IS GOING TO HAVE HIS SURGERY TOMORROW...

Wishing you a very successful surgery.

Stomatitis is such are hard thing. We found it in our Mittens just after we adopted him while he was less than a year old. All you can do is help them be as comfortable as possible, as long as possible, then get the teeth out so they can be comfortable again. I do not look forward to the day we need to do it and I hold you and dear Shanga in my heart today hoping for comfort for you and less pain for him.
 
Re: SHANGA IS HOME...

Helllooo Guys,

We are finally at home... Shanga's surgery went well. He is sleeping now.
I just wanted to tell you that Thank You Very Much for everything, for your support, for being there for Shanga and me...
I feel so lucky to have you as my friends...


Love and Hugz...
 
Re: SHANGA IS HOME...

So glad he's home! Wishing for a quick and uneventful recovery. It's hard because we can't tell them why they are hurting or took them to the vets. The stories they would tell their friends.... they stole all my teef! Sending you big hugs.
 
Re: SHANGA IS HOME...

Great news!!

Don't worry if you need to skip a shot tonight if Shanga's BG is low. I would try to see if he'll eat before you even attempt to give any insulin. If he won't eat, don't worry about shooting.

Gabby had 5 extractions a couple of weeks ago. She was not eating well the evening of the procedure and still wasn't eating all that well the next morning. I reduced her dose for both of those shots. She was eating just fine by the next evening.
 
Re: SHANGA IS HOME...

BIG HUGS Hande! Extra pets for Mr. Shanga!

Hande, you're such a wonderful MamaBean! I'm so glad he's done with this and home. He'll do wonderfully - you will be sure he does!

More hugs,
 
Re: SHANGA IS HOME...

So Glad Shanga Is HOME!!! We all know the feeling you felt while he was there--BUT he will feel so much better now-maybe tomorrow... Yes Sienne is right with tonite's shot--Also the anesthesia can lower the BGs In Some cats..See where he is at PMPS--& post his number , so someone here can guide you OK? And start a new condo. Hugs from us!
Moonie would like to see Shanga's pix..Us too :mrgreen:
 
Re: SHANGA IS HOME...

Hi Hande,
We are so happy that Shanga is home and that the extractions went well. He'll certainly be sore for a few days, but the pain medicine will help a lot. Wishing Shanga a swift recovery and sending him super-healing vines. Wishing you a good evening and a restful night.

Many hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: SHANGA IS HOME...

YAY!!!! Shanga is home! I am so happy that things went well. If you need help tonight be sure and post - someone should be here to help. and yes - it is OK if you need to skip the shot tonight... Sienne is right. Best wishes, and good luck!
 
Re: SHANGA IS HOME...

Helllooo :)

Thank you all the advices guys :)
His BG was 110 ... He tried to eat but it was not enough... So, Yes I skipped the shot tonight...
He is still sleeping and hope he will feel better...
Vet gave a syrup for pain relief but I checked that it has glycerole ,Sucrose and caramel . So Im gonna check a syrup without sugar...
Do you have any suggestion?

Big Hugzzz
 
Re: SHANGA IS HOME...

Many vets here will prescribe buprenorphine. It's an opiate in liquid form. It can be administered either orally in the cheek pocket or as a subcutaneous injection (like insulin).
 
Re: SHANGA IS HOME...

Hi - A wise move to skip I think. I hope he feels better soon. I am sure that in a day or too Shanga will.

I have no suggestions on the pain meds - as it is something I have not had to deal with. I just don't know.... At least my post will bump you up in cue, and maybe someone who does know will post. Good luck!
 
Re: SHANGA IS HOME...

Hello Everyone,

First I really feel your powerful energies here with me and Shanga. Otherwise I couldn't stand this... Thank You My Friends...
Shanga is doing ok... He is in bed and mostly sleeping. He still can not eat. Just tonight he ate a bit...
So I skipped the insulin. His BG was between 125-135 today.
I do antibiotics injections every 12 hours... ( I didnt know I could do it though ) and I injected his first pain killer today.
Dear Sienne ,
I looked for that buprenorphine today... But we didnt have it here. There is no any safe painkiller for cats here. So that bothers me a lot.
I use melox and i will use it for just 3 days for my baby boys safety.
I dont know why it has been that hard to reach medicines here.I am so tired of it... As you all know.
I hope he will feel better tomorrow and so i can breathe a bit...

Wish us luck pls :)

Thank You,
Big Hug from me and Shanga...
 
Re: SHANGA IS HOME...

Just catching up here. Sending many healing thoughts to you and Shange. I believe the worst is over, and I hope each day brings more light and an easier heart to you!
 
Re: SHANGA STILL CAN NOT EAT...

Hello Guys,

Shanga is doing ok. Its the second day after surgery and he still can not eat. He just licks a bit then stop.
So I skip the Lantus Shots. His BG is between 100-135 today.
I hope he is gonna start to eat tonight... I am a bit nervous about it...

Hugz
 
Re: SHANGA STILL CAN NOT EAT...

Hi guys .. I didn't catch this thread before shanga's surgery but I am happy to hear all went well .. I am sure his appy will come back soon .. But I know if I was you, I'd be worrying to .. we love our furbabies so much, don't we?
 
Re: SHANGA STILL CAN NOT EAT...

Do you have the food warmed up and watered down so its a soup/more runny that a milk shake? Mix tuna juice in with it.

Do you think you can syringe feed him? You can get an oral syringe with a curved tip. He needs to eat.

A cat can't go without food without risking getting feline hepatic lipidosis.
 
Re: SHANGA STILL CAN NOT EAT...

I would do what you can to make the food easier to eat. Often, here, we use baby food -- it's just a pureed meat and broth. You could do the same at home. Alternatively, putting Shanga's regular food in a blender or food processor with some water or broth and then straining it so there are no lumps or bigger pieces. Once his mouth feels better you won't need to do this. I would also make sure that his food is not too cold or too hot. Room temperature is probably best.

Given that Shanga's BG numbers are still very good, I'm not overly concerned. You may want to see if he'll just lap up some broth. It contains protein and he shouldn't have trouble swallowing. If you can't get out to buy broth, can you make chicken soup at home?
 
Re: SHANGA STILL CAN NOT EAT...

Hi Hande,
A feeding syringe would be the best thing to get. Your vet should be able to give you one. You can also try finger-feeding Shanga. Mixing up his food in a little water to make it soupy and seeing if he will lick it off your finger. Karrie gives good advice when she says to feed him anything that he will eat. It doesn't have to be low carb. When his mouth heals, he can go back on his regular diet. The important thing is that he has to eat. Have you tried chicken or beef baby food? The kind that is just meat and meat broth is what folks here recommend. (no onions, since they are not good for cats).

Wishing you success today in getting Shanga to eat. Sending lots of hugs and healing vines,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: SHANGA STILL CAN NOT EAT...

Merhaba, Hande! Ve Shanga en iyi dileklerimle!

I believe you have a brand of baby food there called milupa, that comes in jars. You want to look for a pure turkey or chicken puree with no additives.

Randa and Mookie
 
Re: SHANGA STILL CAN NOT EAT...

Hello,

Syringe is not something that i can use right now. Vet told me that dont open his mouth for a week , so thats why i do injections to him and not give pills.
And I make soups, wet food, use blenders but he just licks and leaves it...
Vet told me that if he didnt eat for 2 days then he will put something form his nose so i can feed him.
I think Im going crazy... I need to make him eat before that thing happens...
I see his face is bloated more today. Such a hard thing to deal with guys...
Stomatitis is terrible disease...
 
Re: SHANGA STILL CAN NOT EAT...

The vet may place a naso gastric feeding tube used for liquid calories. You might want to consider this. Naso gastric tubes are uncomfortable but may help prevent liver disease which again can hit very fast with very little calories. They are stitched to the cheek and kept in place for no more than one to three weeks. No anesthesia is required and removal is very quick and easy. You would feed a liquid diet like Clinicare. No food or baby food - it is an extremely tiny tube.
 
Re: SHANGA STILL CAN NOT EAT...

I am wishing you the best of luck with getting Shanga to eat, or getting a feeding tube placed today, so that he can get some calories, and I am sending some hugs to you.
 
Re: SHANGA STILL CAN NOT EAT...

Hande,
First, BIG HUG!

Second - you can do this! I have NO doubt at all. Just look what you have already done for Sir Shanga. It's something new to learn but so was testing, injections, all of this. You did it then, you can do it now.

BIG HUG AGAIN!
 
Re: SHANGA STILL CAN NOT EAT...

Oh, Hande, you and your sweet Shanga will get through this. Poor bunny...that's what my husband always calls our kitties when they're not feeling well. Poor bunny, Shanga, will get better. I know you'll get him to start eating somehow. You've been given some great advice already, Hande.

I think this has been mentioned before, Hande, but adding tuna juice to Shanga's food might help if you haven't tried that already. Adding tuna juice to blended and watered down seafood-flavored canned cat food has worked for some of our cats in the past. We make the food liquidy and as stinky (in a good way for cats) as possible. Sometimes smelling the food helps get their appetites stimulated again.

Hande, I know how hard it must be for you to see Shanga the way he is now. So hard for a Mama Bean. {{{Hande and Shanga}}} But this tough time will pass, and your dear Shanga will heal and recover fully.

Sending lots of hugs to you and Shanga,

Eva
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top