Shall I decrease dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

josette

Member Since 2022
We are going away for a week and I have someone coming in to give him his shot . He will leave his canned food out for him morning and evening. Since he will not be testing, should I lower his dose to 1 unit ? I lowered it to 1-1/2 this morning since his AMPS was lower than before.

To be on the safe side?
 
Is the SS (starts 7/12) all the BG data you have?
Your signature says you started the PorZinc on May 16. How long on 2 units? What was initial dose? If not 2 units on what basis was it raised to 2 units?
My first take is that 1 unit would be OK unless Oscar had DKA before.

Will the caretaker observe that Oscar ate most of his food before giving shot?
 
Yes just started testing . Vet started on 2, then 2-1/2 then 3. Then he wanted 3-1/2 but I went back to 2 cause I didn’t like him on 3. I never went to 3-1/2. Only stayed on 3 for a week and his BG went up 68 points so nope. Vet only wanted to do testing . Now I am starting to test at home. And going to an internal medicine vet in august.

since this group says the initial dose was started too high and suggested I go back to one.

No ketones

I did a 1-1/2 this morning and he seemed great. I am worried about the 2U and no testing for 7 days.

I usually wait till he has eaten before shot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top