Shaikha 7/9 - new BID schedule

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
I started her on BID yesterday evening, but actually yesterday and the day before she only got one shot per day because her levels were so wacky (see her SS for details). She's on a lower initial dose and shots will be at 12 hour intervals. I plan to do a curve today to see if I can nail down her nadir.

7/8 numbers:
+8 after PM shot night before = 49 (no insulin, obviously -- she had been on TID then and got 0.8U the night before)
+12 after PM shot the night before = 121 (no insulin again)
PMPS = 258, gave 0.5U (this started her BID schedule - shot was at +18 after her PM shot the day before!)
+4 = 211

7/9 numbers:
AMPS = 222, gave 0.5U (at +12.5 after PM shot -- not a bad start!)
+3 = 140
+5.5 = 97
+7 = 66
+11 = 325 (yikes!)
PMPS = 327, gave 0.4U
+4 =
 
Good luck today!!! I would guess her nadir may move around some as she adjusts to BID, but hopefully you'll get a nice pretty curve today! Nice she is not zooming, yay!
 
So far it is looking good! Whether she can hold this over a longer period of time, I don't know, but she's almost acting normal, which scares me. :shock: Then again, up until late January I really didn't have huge problems with her glucose levels. They would go higher at times she had a flareup of pancreatitis, but they would go back down again. This has been the only extended period of wackiness, so maybe it really has been an infection all along that has been the problem, or maybe her pancreas has just decided to calm down finally for a little while. I'll take the break, whatever the cause. Hope she can keep it going!
 
Wendy, nice numbers! Let's hope this works and you can stay at b.i.d.!!! I had a long talk with Payne, said if Shaikha can do it, so can she! She responded by throwing me a 300, whereas we have been in the 200's :lol:
Apparently peer pressure doesn't work with cats!

Good job, seriously .... you are a great bean!
 
Nancy and Payne said:
Wendy, nice numbers! Let's hope this works and you can stay at b.i.d.!!! I had a long talk with Payne, said if Shaikha can do it, so can she! She responded by throwing me a 300, whereas we have been in the 200's :lol:
Apparently peer pressure doesn't work with cats!

Good job, seriously .... you are a great bean!

LOL! Remember that Shaikha wasn't diabetic before steroids, though I do think it was only a matter of time before she developed a problem given how bad her pancreatitis has been. If we stop or reduce the steroids her numbers improve, but I'm afraid that she'll never be non-diabetic since she doesn't go back to 100% normal either (and of course she could not really go without them because then her pancreatitis kicks up, which does make her glucose go haywire).

How long was Payne diabetic before steroids? Or is she also a steroid-induced diabetic?
 
Payne was Dx. 10/11/10 and immediately went into DKA, with either pancreatitis or IBD suspected but she tested negative and didn't have any of the symptoms.

In ER for 10 days sent home on 1u b.i.d. went into DKA again, in ER for 7days sent home same dose but because CP and IBD suspected and the thought was that it was causing the DKA, she was put on a very low dose pred. Went into DKA for third time but it took longer to happen and she bounced back sooner.

I then insisted her dose be raised and the pred. also and FINALLY I was able to keep her out of DKA. I have tried lowering/stopping the pred. but then she starts to throw off more than usual ketones and not feel as well.

When we switched to Lantus 17 weeks ago we stopped the pred. and lowered her insulin to 3u b.i.d. she crashed in 10 days and went into DKA once again.

What I have learned .... and this is about Payne (ECID) but this is the only thing that works. She needs at least 12u a day, she has no sweet spot. Somehow the pred. is stopping the spasms in the pancreas and last DKA she leaked fluid .... if I go down on her insulin, she throws off ketones.

Payne is a very complex kitty but it's been 15 weeks since her last DKA and she is doing GREAT!! I have even got her back in the yellows and her quality of life is back. But she is only four years, I do worry about the pred. but she can't live in ER and she is really enjoying life right now.

Sorry this got so long but I am hiding from family ..... :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
And I thought that Shaikha was a complex kitty! I've had the same problems with reducing steroids, so I understand. We did try budesonide earlier this year, but that was a disaster. I also think it contributed to her GI bleeding, in part because we could not use it alone and we could never taper off the pred entirely. I know I won't go back there again. So glad that Payne is doing so well! Is she still on Lantus then? You post here so much I thought she was using PZI? Not that I want you to go away if you don't use it, mind you... :)
 
No, I came back to pzi which I like very much and of course Lantus is not done t.i.d. but I think there are a couple of people trying it with levemir ....
 
Well, one hour later and she was only up two points, so that's not too bad. I gave her 0.4U just to see how she does and to hopefully prevent a bounce overnight in case she dips lower than planned. Given what happened today I'll do a curve tomorrow as well. Will retest her one more time before bed, but hopefully she'll calm down!

Oh, I forgot to add that I did switch back to anzemet and her appetite is much improved. So there is still some nausea there than ondansetron isn't controlling sufficiently. She had lost almost half a pound compared with where she was prior to my trip, so we need to try to get her back up to her usual 8lb. Some of that may also be fluid since I'd tried going to every other day on subQ. We are changing that tonight as well. She's absorbing it all overnight, so I don't think it will hurt her to have it every day. I was running low on fluid and lines, but picked some up yesterday so we should be set for a little while.
 
Nancy and Payne said:
No, I came back to pzi which I like very much and of course Lantus is not done t.i.d. but I think there are a couple of people trying it with levemir ....

I like PZI too. Vetsulin seemed to be a bit easier on Shaikha, but we have to work with what we've got. If it stops working I may try one of the L's, but the only one my vet has experience with is Lantus. Don't know if he'd feel comfortable trying Levimir or not. He seems to prefer PZI if he can get it to work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top